This Week in Review | The Twenty-Forth

Happy Monday Friends!

It’s time for another This Week in Review. And, hey! Look at that! It’s August 1st! How in the world did that happen? With July done, I can officially look at my goals and how I succeeded or failed with them. I’m ashamed to say that I’m leaning more towards the latter…


ON MY BLOG:

Book Reviews: Reviewing the Sequel

WWW Wednesday

Pirate Eyes: #PimpMyBio & Beautiful People July 2016

In Writing:

Most of this past week has been devoted to me working on Pirate Eyes. I’ve managed to write a whole new chapter which reads so much better than anything I’ve come up with before. The second chapter is in the process of being altered as well. It’s the only other one that will need to be rewritten. Then everything is done and ready for submissions to #PitchWars. Well, except for the synopsis. But that will be done by tomorrow, just in time for submitting August 3rd! Then it’s a long wait until August 25th to find out if I was picked. I’ll be looking for a way to fill up that time while waiting….

Otherwise, I’ve been working on a new project, one that I’m keeping under wraps until I have a better idea of what I’m going to do with it. My goals for July were not exactly met as I hoped, but I do have a good sturdy draft of Heritage and my screenplay that I plan to finalize by August’s end. What I’ll do with them after that remains to be seen.

In Entertainment:

I watched two movies this past week. One was a rewatch, the other was completely new.

The rewatch was Corpse Bride. My sister and I were in the mood for something along the lines of a dark comedy, and decided upon the Tim Burton animated feature. It’s been a while since we last watched it, and did we ever enjoy rediscovering the true beauty of the cinematography and animation. The last scene honestly is stunning. And Danny Elfman is a brilliant composer.

The new film was Tracks starring Mia Wasikowska and Adam Driver. It is based on the true story of a woman (Robyn Davidson) who crossed through the Australian outback with three camels and a dog. I should have known better than to watch it. I’m usually good to avoid movies where animals outmatch humans in starring roles because the odds are never good for survival. But I decided to overlook my normal doubts. It was a beautiful film. Slow paced. Thoughtful. Mia and Adam were on top form. But the ending was heartbreaking. If you love animals and can’t stand to see bad things happen to such innocent creatures, please avoid this film. It will save you a lot of pain.

In Life:

Things have been happening….

On Thursday, I left a cryptic message on Facebook hinting of an announcement to come on Saturday. Well Saturday came and went and there was no announcement. I have to apologize for creating intrigue and then not coming through. I never meant to deceive. I really thought I would be able to announce something, but then things didn’t quite land the way they should have. Consequently, what I had planned to announce no longer existed.

All that to say, I’m never going to promise an impending announcement, unless I’m certain that it’s 100% cemented in stone.

On a happier note, I gifted myself with a little something this weekend…

29056083
Image from Goodreads

Oh Harry. I have missed thee 🙂


Any other Harry fans excited to dive into the latest adventure of the boy-now man- wizard?  No spoilers in the comments, please 😉 Let me know how your week’s been. Has anything exciting happened? Anything inspiring? 

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

10 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Twenty-Forth

  1. Ahhhhhh, Harry Potter!!! 😀 I’m still waiting for my pre-ordered copy to be shipped, so I hope to read it next week. It’ll be interesting to read it in screenplay format, too. In fact… I don’t think I’ve read a screenplay since my last Shakespeare class in college. O_O

    Too bad you couldn’t make that announcement after all. But I agree with your new philosophy: wait until you can formally announcement, and then surprise everyone. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. my daughter is visiting grandparents for 5 days so we’ve already watched 2 movies lol in the last 3 days and we’re hopefully going to see another one tonight or tomorrow. We watched The Replacements, and Creed. (Part of Creed. Need to finish the rest of it though). We can never watch movies with our almost-5 yr old b/c she ‘hears everything’ at night and won’t go to sleep if we do

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your progress with Pirate Eyes—although I’m still not sure what this Pitch Wars is, despite seeing it all over Twitter!—and it’s good to see you’ve bought the new HP book. I’m not too fussed about it, having seen spoilers, but hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Sorry it was spoiled for you. I wanted to enjoy it more than I did. I was nostalgic, but the plot could have been so much stronger…
      PitchWars is essentially a competition where writers get chosen by mentors to prepare their MS to be submitted to literary agents in November.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with PitchWars! I have been watching everyone’s excitement build the past couple of weeks. I hope I’ll be able to participate next year. I’m sure you’ll do great 😀
    I haven’t checked out The Cursed Child yet, because to be honest, I’ve had some mixed emotions about it. But as the Harry Potter nut I am, I’m sure I’ll own it soon enough-reguardless of my doubts :p
    I hope you’re having an amazing week!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those were my thoughts exactly on Monday! 😀 How is it August already? (MInd you, a part of me still thinks that 2008 has only just gone)

    Good luck for PitchWars!!! I keep seeing all the posts for it, I might have to look more into it myself 🙂 You’ll do great, Faith! I have faith in you! (see what I did there?? :P)

    Looking forward to hearing more about your new project!

    I used to be obsessed with Harry Potter, but I haven’t felt even mildly temtped to check out The Cursed Child. Might be that my constant mantra of ‘no more new books until you finish your tbr pile!’ is finally sinking in. I’ve heard some mixed things, though. I look forward to seeing what you thought 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your wishes and encouragement! You’re such an amazing friend ❤ I do see what you did there 😉
      Cursed Child was a nostalgic read but definitely didn't meet the magic of the original series. I wouldn't rush if you don't have the temptation to dive into it. Going in with low expectations might increase its enjoyment value.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I suppose it’s hard to match the original magic, even for a book with the same people and the same world. Perhaps it’s been too long? I did think when it was first announced that it might be better to let the series rest.
        Oh thank god for that, I’m so glad my puns aren’t completely wasted 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

