This Week in Review | The Thirty-First

Hello Friends! And Happy Monday!

I hope you’ve had a lovely week, whether it was restful or exciting.

Mine ended up being busier than I expected, but I managed to get some things done….


In Books:

As this is also the first, week of October, I thought it would be a good opportunity to share my September Haul, my September Wrap-Up and October TBR with you (I also shared them on Instagram)

These are all the books I bought in September. Oh, and the Funkos too…

Well after the last package came in the mail yesterday, this is my official September Haul (#books and #funko)! I got a lot of these at really reduced prices. Ridiculously so!! I just couldn't resist. Here's a quick glance at the 31 books that emptied my wallet this month… (left to right, top to bottom) Angel's Blood by Nalini Singh • The Dragon Queen by Alice Borchadt • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë • Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett • League of Dragons by Naomi Novik • Uprooted by Naomi Novik • Rebellion by Peter Ackroyd • How to be a Victorian by Ruth Goodman • Life in Victorian Britain by Michael Paterson • Small Gods by Terry Pratchett • The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel • The Broken Kingdom by N. K. Jemisin • Lirael by Garth Nix • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas • Cinder by Marissa Meyer • The Game by Laurie R. King • Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop • Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop • Vision of Silver by Anne Bishop • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo • Siege and Storm Leigh Bardugo • Ruin and Rising Leigh Bardugo • Child of the Phoenix by Barbara Erskine • Scarlet by Alexandra Ripley • Mariana by Susana Kearsley • The Song of Achilles by Madeleine Miller • Vicious by VE Schwab • Chocolat by Joanne Harris • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins Soooo yes 😜 any books here that you've read and enjoyed? Any here that you plan to read? What was your favourite purchase of September? #bookaholic #bookaddict #bookworm #bookstagram #bookishdelight #septemberbookhaul #readingisknowledge #knowledgeispower

A post shared by Faith Rivens (@faith_therivens) on

My September Wrap-Up and October Haul made it into one post, but for some reason my description wouldn’t save. Basically the left-hand stack are the books I read in September and the right-hand my October TBR. Goblet of Fire and Cruel Beauty fell in-between because they’re books I started to read in September but will only finish this month.

A post shared by Faith Rivens (@faith_therivens) on

In Writing:

As many of you know, I completed the first draft of my novella, Eléonore last Sunday. I took the week off it, to allow for some time and distance. I just finished a full clean read of the manuscript a few hours ago and I’m rather pleased with the end result. There are two sections I need to rewrite entirely, but that’s about the biggest editing I’m going to have to do before I’m ready to send it to beta readers. The goal is to have it ready by Sunday, October 9th!

Meanwhile, I’m also working on outlining the sequel to Pirate Eyes as I hope to write it for NaNoWriMo. More on that in a separate post. Essentially this will be the second half of the original draft I wrote when I was 16, but considering how the first book took shape, I’ll have a LOT of new scenes to write. 😛


Let me know the highlights in your past week. Whether it’s an exciting experience or a quiet reflection!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith   quill-ink

9 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Thirty-First

  1. Congrats on nearly finishing the editing of Elenore!

    I was thinking about doing NaNoWriMo, but I just can’t commit to anything during November. My LO turns 6 and is having a big party. I will definitely be joining in for CampNaNo next year, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 November can be a tough month. What with holidays coming up too. Camp NaNo falls at a much better time. I’ll definitely join in too, especially if November doesn’t happen 😉

      Like

  2. Wow that’s fantastic about the edits 😀 I’m happy to know I’m not the only one who still buys ‘real’ books by the truck load. I love the convenience of ebooks but few things compare to a tangible book 😀 Love all of your Funkos too. Where did you get them? Amazon? I’m also trying to find good places to add to my rather meager collection. Hope your week is going well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂
      I can’t help myself when it comes to books! I can sometimes lose track… The best thing is there’s a book fair coming up where I’ll be able to buy another truckload with more sustainable financial consequences!
      I got most of my Funkos off Amazon. I’ve gone a little overboard with them, but I can’t help myself. Seems to be a problem I have lately. And some from EB Games.
      My week is going well enough. How are you doing?

      Like

  3. Holy… bookshelves, that’s a lot of books!! And quite a few I have as well, notably the Leigh Bardugo and N.K. Jemisin ones. Hope you enjoy them all!

    As for my new reads, here’s what I either bought or received as birthday gifts in September:

    – The Reader by Traci Chee (hands down one of my favorite YA fantasies this year)
    – Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (just started it last night!)
    – Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson
    – The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
    – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (finished it last weekend, working on my Goodreads review)
    – This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

