WWW Wednesday | 05.10.16

Wednesday already!

Wow!

Hello friends. I woke up this morning, certain it was Tuesday. I missed WWW Wednesday last week and I really can’t afford to miss it again, so I’m throwing this quickly together. Please forgive me for that.

Hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words, it really is a great opportunity to share your reading habits with the great community of fellow bibliophiles.

All you have to do is answer THREE questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

CURRENTLY READING

The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon

17199504Blurb:

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

I’ve heard good things about this one, and I’m actually reading this as part of a community read hosted on Instagram and Twitter under the #TBSReadAlong hosted by @acouplereads & @the_bandar_blog! If you’re interested, there’ still time to join. The goal at the moment is to read the first nine chapters for a discussion on Twitter at 6pm EST on October 9th!

So far, I’m only two chapters in, but Paige is definitely a compelling character. My own issue is the info dumping is overwhelming. I’m sure things will even out, but my head was spinning last night, trying to latch onto everything!

RECENTLY FINISHED READING

After A Wizard’s Forge proved to be my least favourite read of 2016, I was in dire need of a pick me-up, so I turned to…

Harry Potter and the…

15881543509

Yep, I’ve been on a rereading high of Harry Potter books, and I won’t lie to you friends. The twentieth time is just as wonderful as the nineteen that preceded! What’s even better is that I feel the freedom to really analyze everything this time around and I’ve been inspired for some posts in the future!

On a less positive note, I also read…

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

A Beauty and the Beast retelling, I was rather disappointed with this one. There was such promise, but it fell short. I was underwhelmed by the ‘love triangle’ and the twist was predictable. All in all, not one of my favourite reads. Still, there were shining moments where Hodge’s talent came through.

READING NEXT

My October TBR is as follows…

Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop

Definitely one of my most anticipated! Written in Red is one of my favourite reads of 2016! Bishop really surprised me with the first book in this series. I loved it more than I anticipated! So hopes high!

Siege and Storm AND Ruin & Rising (Grisha Trilogy #2 & 3) by Leigh Bardugo

I had a mixed reaction to the first book in this series, but there was such promise in it that I’m planning a back to back read of the next two. Also, people speak so highly of her Six of Crows duology and I’ll only let myself read that once I’m done this trilogy.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

With the movie coming out, I figured I push it up in my TBR. Plus, it will be a change from all my fantasy reads ;P

The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

Really excited for this as well! It’s going to be my first Stiefvater novel (that seems like a terrible thing to say!). Hoping to be buddy reading it this month 🙂 My first time too! New experiences all around!


That’s it from me. What have you finished reading recently? What are you current reading? What are you planning to read this week? Let me know in the comments!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

 

25 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 05.10.16

    1. I think we might have posted on each other’s WWW Wednesday at the same time 😉 I thought I was just going to read Chamber of Secrets as a pick me up, but I couldn’t stop once I’d started ;P It’s just that kind of series!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t read fantasy and I’m yet to try out any book in that genre but everytime I see someone who’s really into HP book,I feel like trying out the series.Atleast the first book 🙂

    I loved The Girl on the Train.I hope you will too.Happy reading and enjoy your Wednesday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would love to re-re-read HP at some point! 🙂 They always make me happy.

    It is worth reading the Grisha trilogy before reading the Six of Crows duology. The duology is much much better, but you get more out of it by investing the time in the trilogy first (even if there are many things I didn’t like about those books).

    The Raven Boys is great 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my WWW and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for HP binging! I’m planning on sneaking a read of Chamber in when my illustrated copy comes this weekend. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Bone Season sounds good! I sometimes struggle a little when the world building unloads too many information at the beginning of a book, but most of the time it was worth it. I can’t wait to read your thoughts about The Raven Boys, I hope you enjoy it 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve heard about The Bone Season, but I don’t know much about it. Is it fantasy? Dystopian? Science fiction? How you would you describe it?

    Hope you enjoy the remaining Grisha books. And yay for Harry Potter! I don’t re-read books mostly because I have so many I still haven’t read, but that series would be high on my list if I had the time.

    Right now I’m in the middle of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows, and AHHHHHHHH I can’t coherently discuss what happened in it last night. XD But so far, it’s really, really good. After that, I’ll probably read Morgan Rhodes’ Falling Kingdoms and Rae Carson’s Like a River Glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, it’s reading like Alternate History Dystopian Fantasy…. Yep, that’s the vibe I’m getting off it!
      Harry Potter and Jane Eyre are the only exceptions I make for annual rereads. I’m cutting it fairly close with HP, though. But otherwise I don’t have the time to really indulge either, not without risking the discovery of new amazing books that I’ll also be enticed to reread ;P
      Hope Six of Crows continues to delight!
      It’s funny you mention Falling Kingdoms! I just bought a copy on Monday (because I don’t have enough books waiting at home for me)… it’ll probably become a 2017 read. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rereading HP is always so much fun! Also, it seems like you have some interesting books to look forward to in the future. I really enjoyed The Grisha trilogy, although Six Of Crows would be my absolute Leigh Bardugo favorite. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment