NaNoWriMo 2016 in Review | The Second

Happy Monday, friends!

This is going to be a short one.

As most of you know, I have been busy working on my debut novella, Eléonore. I released the blurb yesterday and have gotten lots of positive reactions so far! I can’t express how excited I am!! Look at all those exclamation marks!!!!

With most of my energy having been devoted to finishing my last readthrough of Eléonore, I haven’t been able to dedicate as much time to my NaNoWriMo novel, The Desert Knight. I’ve gotten to 18k, which is decent, but not enough if I hope to be done by November 30th. But that’s okay because Eléonore is the focus right now and everything is going well so far. Still waiting for Murphy’s Law to kick in, though ;P

Here’s another excerpt from this week’s writing:

There was something beautiful about the sky that I never had taken the time to notice before. It was a magical sight to behold. I saw it in the divine creation I knew to be Rika and Kari’s doing. Worshipped as separate entities, they had also worked together at one time and so we were taught to be united as well. There were people who could look upon the stars and see more than distant lights shining. They saw in them the designs decided upon by the gods. They spoke to them of the past, other presents, and the future that still laid in wait for us. Despite the magic I possessed and my bond with Rika, I was not inclined to see those things. Sristi’s sight was not of the stars either.

-The Desert Knight. Faith Rivens. 2016


How is NaNoWriMo 2016 going for those of you who are participating? Let me know and we can cheer each other one! 

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 in Review | The Second

  1. Hey Faith. I’m working on a NaNo novel now. I’m having fun with it but got hit with some bugs so I’m still a little behind, but not by that much. I’ve got a little over 21K now. I’m only about 28-30 words off of the daily average now, so I’m creeping up there. But it’s actually getting easier somewhat to write. Knock wood, now that I say that it will go back again 🙂 but it helps that I’m writing about a real odd house that exists, & I have the plans a doc for it. Just since that’s all copyrighted I have to use synonyms and change it up some, but make it similar enough it still fits. It’s different than what I thought I would but in a good way. So, so far I’m happy with it. I had a bad Camp Nano because of writer’s block, so it’s nice that the itch is back & it’s fun again. It’s a bit of a challenge because my attention span, energy, & oxygen levels can vary too which sometimes makes that average a bit tougher to keep in check, but so far so good. With my transplant coming at any time, it could possibly throw a wrench in so I said to heck with it, what happens this year happens. 🙂 I’m just in it to have fun & keep up with my local writing buddies I met last year who are very supportive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nikki! I love your positive and optimistic attitude. 😊 Thanks for taking the time to comment and share your experience so far! I’m intrigued by what your writing.
      I’ll be keeping you in my prayers as you wait for your transplant. Keep looking up. I’m cheering for you and hoping that everything works out for you!
      Take care ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 18K is still a really good start, though. Even if you don’t finish get to 50K by the end of NaNoWriMo, you’re still thousands and thousands of words closer to The End. 😉

    Just make sure you don’t stress yourself out too much by switching back and forth between Eleonore and The Desert Knight. Take some time for yourself, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s actually not too stressful yet *knock on wood*! I make time every night to read and unwind. I’m starting to get a hand on the balancing act… I think 😛
      Thanks for always being supportive! You are amazing ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re 18k closer to having The Desert Knight done, and even though you’d hoped to get more words in, 18k is still an amazing achievement! Plus, your first book is about to be published! *hugs* I honestly don’t know how you’ve managed to do final edits on Eleonore while drafting up an entirely different book. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been a crazy month, but I’m learning to balance my time and it’s a good experience for me. If I want to write full time, I’m going to have to learn to balance projects. If not, I’ll never get all the stories I have out there 😉
      Thanks for the encouragement ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

