WWW Wednesday | 12.10.16

Wednesday is here friends! Which means it’s time for WWW Wednesday!

Hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words, it really is a great opportunity to share your reading habits with the great community of fellow bibliophiles.

All you have to do is answer THREE questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

CURRENTLY READING

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

13449693Blurb:

“‘There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,’ Neeve said. ‘Either you’re his true love…or you killed him.'”

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them — not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all — family money, good looks, devoted friends — but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

I’m currently buddy reading this with a dear friend of mine: Sarina! That is the most exciting part of the reading thus far! I kept hearing such great things about this book, but right now I’m struggling a bit to connect with it! I do like Stiefvater’s prose and style, but I’m worried about potential love triangles.

UPDATE: I’m definitely falling more into pace with it now than at the start. Ronan is kind of my favourite character at the moment. There’s so much possible depth to his character which I love! At the same time, I adore the interactions between the boys. Blue’s just entering their fold, but I think she’s a little too preoccupied with the love thing…

RECENTLY FINISHED READING

The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon

17199504Blurb:

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

This was the only book I managed to finish this week. I’ve been busy with so much I’m amazed I even accomplished this! I enjoyed it, but there were a few things that bothered me. I felt like a lot of the elements were an amalgamation of ones from other dystopian YA novels. It read more like Hunger Games and Divergent than Harry Potter as it was publicized.

That being said, the worldbuilding was impressive and I did sympathize with Paige (the main character). The promise of what will happen next is most enticing as there’s a lot up in the air. Also, I was glad to find that romance wasn’t paramount to the story’s narrative. A decent read that I’ll definitely pick up the sequel to.

READING NEXT

All plans for my next week were thrown off course when I received an ARC of KJ Chapman’s new book!

I have been excited to read this one ever since KJ sent me the first chapter back in April! I was hooked then! The book releases November 11th, but it’s available for preorder if you’re interested here!

Thrown to the Blue (An Indigo Flame Novel Book 1) by KJ Chapman

32273178Blurb:

Foretellings have no place for goodness, only greatness. Princess Ezrahli is far from good, but she is a great woman in a conventional Kingdom, followed by whispers and scorn. However, across the waters is un-convention, magic, and fable. Her existence has been foretold in the battle against dark magic, and destiny shall weave itself into her life because darkness cannot be fought with goodness, only greatness.

Smuggling and sorcery leads to adventure, and adventure leads to destiny. Reed is a prince of the streets, but what he lacks in title, he makes up for in skill; a skill that sets him on a path already written in fate. Can he be more than what is expected? Can he enable greatness in another and survive the process?

Vengeance is a motivator, but it can never be your friend. In the end, it will ask for sacrifice, and only the great will pay the fare.


That’s it for me for now! Please share your WWW Wednesday links in the comments and I’ll do my utmost to make my way there soon! Let me know what books are on your mind!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

33 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 12.10.16

    1. Definitely not a book worthy of hate. Not one to laud either. I think the potential is there, and I believe it’s worth giving a shot when you’re ready. Just go in with low expectations and you should be fine 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You know my thoughts on The Raven Boys, so I’ll just second everything you’ve said 🙂
    I might fit Thrown to the Blue around The Raven Boys because I’m too excited to let it rest. I’ve read two books at the same time before, I know I can do it 😛 Then again, I’m getting through The Raven Boys quite quickly, so maybe waiting would be best? *sigh* Definitely a first-world problem that 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I know what you mean – I’ve hardly gotten anywhere with my reading in the past few weeks because I had so much other stuff to do and therefore put myself on a kind of reading ban, so I also hardly finished anything 😦 I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying your current read by now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I won a giveaway recently and decided to get The Raven Boys and I can’t wait for it to get here! I also love Ronan and I haven’t even started the book. I know the gist to his personality and honestly I really do like those kinds in books.. The Bone Season sounds so interesting that I need to look into it.. and Omg! That cover for Thrown to the Blue is so gorgeous! I hope you enjoy it.

    Happy Reading

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m much further it in now and I can say that it is actually quite a fun and wonderful read! Hope you get the chance to get to it soon.
      The Bone Season had its problems, but overall it promises an intriguing series.
      It’s stunning, isn’t it? KJ is a great writer too. She has another series – a dystopian one – also worth checking out!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Have a great week 🙂

      Like

  4. Glad you’re getting into the Raven Boys. I couldn’t really decide whether or not I liked it, but it left enough of a mark on me that I wanted to read the second one, and I am glad I did.

    Happy reading – thanks for visiting my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can understand that! I love certain elements of the story, but there’s something about it that still bothers me – I think it might be Blue’s character – but I know I’ll still pick up the next one when I’m done 🙂

      Like

  5. I have heard of these books though I haven’t read any of them. I do like the cover and sound of Thrown to the Blue. So cool that you got to check out the first chapter way before the complete ARC. Enjoy your books this week.Happy reading:-)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I have only read one dystopian which was great. I don;t mind trying out a second one though the Sci-Fi aspect is a bit scary for me because its not a genre that I have ever read.I’ll check it out though.Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve only read the Scorpio Races but I liked that. I’ve been meaning to read more of her stuff so maybe this is the time to do that! Enjoy your ARC!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m reading The Raven Boys right now, too! I had a hard time getting into the story for the first several chapters. I’m close to halfway through now and it’s becoming more interesting, and as you mentioned, I enjoy the way the three boys interact with one another. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thrown to the Blue is proving to be a very compelling read at the moment 🙂 Raven Boys was okay, but I had expected a lot more. Low expectations might be for the best 😉

      Like

Leave a comment