Camp NaNoWriMo | Day One

Good Evening Everyone,

Today marks day 1 of Camp NaNoWriMo. I haven’t been able to devote as much time to my edits as I wanted to today, because this weekend my family is hosting a big party that requires a lot of preparation. It’ll make it difficult to set aside the time I want to until Monday, but I’ll steal whatever time I can get. I managed to reach the end of my Prologue at least. All 1,883 words of it!

My big focus this time around is on finding the bothersome sections and marking down my reasons for them: plot holes, repetitious, not enough conflict, unnecessary scenes, even lines that just seem off in terms of language.

I’m also making general notes on character and plot development from scene to scene to be sure that there are no plot holes, enough development, enough foreshadowing, etc.

There’s a lot to do, but I want to do it well.

Here are just a few pictures of my writing station pre-edits which also provide a few small snippets from my prologue if you take a close enough look. It also gives a glimpse of my series title 🙂

DSC_0481.JPG

DSC_0484.JPG

DSC_0482.JPG

I’ll post more tomorrow before the party!

Best of luck with your writing pursuits this weekend.

If you’re participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this April, then I wish you all the luck in achieving your goals 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

16 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo | Day One

  1. wow Faith you’re so organized. I’ve been needing & wanting to write but just can’t seem to discipline myself to do so without some kind of Nano challenge so I figured I’d shoot for 30K this time – maybe some short stories or something, who knows. But I got at least 971 out, taking a break maybe do a bit more a little later if I feel so moved. But I got started 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m using Camp Nano to revise a book I’ve been working on for over a year.

    Good luck!

    I’ve used so many methods to fix this book that it’s not funny. So I’m transfixed by your highlighters and organization. 😜

    You got this!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. For Camp Nano, I made a list of goals. If I don’t make goals I’m super unorgainized and end up doing everything and subsequently getting nothing done lol. My biggest goal is to create a timeline for my 3rd book b/c it happens so much later on in the series that it’s in the future (technically) by a couple of years, Probably it will not be future when it comes out. Second, I am more editing than writing. I’ve gone through 1/3 of the book already making comments (lots of comments…..ahh!) on what I need to fix/revise/rewrite. I’m hoping to complete 2 passes through the MS this month, but we’ll see if that happens. The 2nd pass will be much more difficult as it will be rewriting/reworking based on the comments I am making right now. I already know I have at least 2 or 3 chapters that need to be rewritten based on the weather alone. Here in CA there was a drought for so long, and now that it’s ended, it’s totally different weatherwise up in the mountains and now I have to work that into the story ugh lol. Good luck friend with your goals! Are you using the website at all? or just doing it on your own?

    Like

  4. I love your organization, I’ve got slight stationery envy with those black pens!
    I hope you manage to catch up nicely once you’re able, but in the meantime enjoy the family time! People like us can get too caught up in work and not make enough time for other important things, so enjoy your uncle being over!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

