WWW Wednesday | The Seventh

Hi everyone,

First, I can’t believe that it’s been a week since I posted anything! I think time slipped away from me. Thank goodness for WWW Wednesday!

As always, WWW Wednesday is a great chance to share and discover books. A big thank you to Sam at Taking on a World of Words for hosting each week! It’s a joy to delight in a mutual love of reading with other bloggers :)

Want to take part in WWW Wednesday yourself? All you have to do is answer three questions. And remember to post your link in the comments on Sam’s post!

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What have you recently finished reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

After a deplorable week last time, I’m pleased to say that I made a lot of progress, finishing two books and getting well into a third….


WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING

O Jerusalem (Mary Russell #5) by Laurie R. King

6491121BLURB:

At the close of the year 1918, forced to flee England, Sherlock Holmes and his nineteen-year-old apprentice Mary Russell enter British-occupied Palestine under the auspices of Holmes’s enigmatic brother, Mycroft. Their arrival coincides with a rash of unsolved murders that has baffled the authorities and seems unrelated to the growing tensions in the area among Jew, Moslem, and Christian. Still, no one is too pleased at Holmes’s insistence on reconstructing the most recent homicide in the desert gully where it occurred.
What they unexpectedly uncover will lead Russell and Holmes through an exotic gauntlet of labyrinthine bazaars, verminous hovels, cliff-hung monasteries—and into mortal danger. In the jewel-like city of Jerusalem, they will at last meet their adversary, whose lust for power could reduce the city’s most ancient and sacred place to rubble and ignite a tinderbox of hostilities just waiting for a spark.…

Finally started this on Monday and it’s enjoyable enough, but I feel as though it only really churned into gear after chapter 5. Russell is still a great character with a strong voice and the description of Palestine is vivid enough to draw you in, but the plot itself feels a little drawn out. I’m just about halfway through, so we’ll see how the rest holds up.

WHAT I RECENTLY FINISHED READING

Ship of Magic (Liveship Traders #1) by Robin Hobb

6991075BLURB:

Bingtown is a hub of exotic trade and home to a merchant nobility famed for its liveships—rare vessels carved from wizardwood, which ripens magically into sentient awareness. The fortunes of one of Bingtown’s oldest families rest on the newly awakened liveship Vivacia.
For Althea Vestrit, the ship is her rightful legacy unjustly denied her —a legacy she will risk anything to reclaim. For Althea’s young nephew Wintrow, wrenched from his religious studies and forced to serve aboard ship,
Vivacia is a life sentence.
But the fate of the Vestrit family—and the ship—may ultimately lie in the hands of an outsider. The ruthless pirate Kennit seeks a way to seize power over all the denizens of the Pirate Isles…and the first step of his plan requires him to capture his own liveship and bend it to his will….

Last week, I was only 200 pages in. I read through the last 600 and was done on Sunday, an achievement only reached because I spent most of Saturday reading it. I rather enjoyed this novel, but there were some things about it that left me wanting. And some characters that left me seething!

I’m drafting a review at the moment — one of my goals is to reinstate reviews of the books I read (more on that in a later post). For now, I’ll say that I picked up the sequel and look forward to seeing what happens next 🙂

Stardancer (The Song of Forgotten Stars, Book 1): by Kelly Sedinger

Stardancer (The Song of Forgotten Stars, Book 1)BLURB:

While on their first space voyage, two Princesses from a small backwater planet find themselves hurtled across the Galaxy to a world that sees them either as saviors, come to rescue their world from a ten-thousand-year confinement, or as the greatest threat their world has ever seen. As they search for a way home, Princesses Tariana and Margeth learn things about themselves, and their universe, that they never dreamed possible.

So this novel was just wonderful! I honestly devoured the last 200 pages yesterday when I got home from work! Extremely well written, with great characters and superb plotting! A review for this will be up soon and I’ll be able to gush more. For now, all I can say is, you should definitely read this 🙂

WHAT I KNOW I’LL READ NEXT

The Wisdomfold Path(The Song of Forgotten Stars, Book 2): by Kelly Sedinger

27971338 BLURB:

Continuing the story begun in STARDANCER, THE WISDOMFOLD PATH is a tale of sisters and brothers, of children and parents, of secrets and history, of lies and truths, of loss and love, of despair and hope…and of a ten-year-old girl rising above herself in ways she never thought possible.

Didn’t want to post the full blurb because of spoilers. I’ll definitely be getting to the sequel to Stardancer soon. We’ll see when, but I’m excited to continue the story and see where it all leads next 🙂

Eric (Discworld #9): by Terry Pratchett

61642BLURB:

Eric is the Discworld’s only demonology hacker. The trouble is, he’s not very good at it. All he wants is the usual three wishes: to be immortal, rule the world and have the most beautiful woman fall madly in love with him. The usual stuff. But what he gets is Rincewind, and Rincewind’s Luggage into the bargain. Terry Pratchett’s hilarious take on the Faust legend stars many of the Discworld’s’most popular characters in an outrageous adventure that will leave Eric wishing once more – this time, quite fervently, that he’d never been born .

After the suberp Guards! Guards! I’ve been anxious to sink my teeth into the next Discworld novel. I’ve seen lukewarm reviews to this book, but my edition is a short 155 pages, so I think it’ll make for a diverting read to break from 800 page fantasy books!

And…

The Orphanmaster by Jean Zimmerman

16171279BLURB:

A love story wrapped around a murder mystery, set in seventeenth-century Manhattan.
In 1663 in the hardscrabble colony of New Amsterdam—today’s lower Manhattan—orphan children are going missing and residents suspect a serial killer. The list of possible culprits is long and strange. Among those looking into the mystery are a shrewd young Dutch woman, Blandine van Couvering, and a dashing Englishman, Edward Drummond, whose newfound romance is threatened by horrible accusations.
In this spellbinding work of historical fiction, Jean Zimmerman relates the harsh realities of life in early Manhattan, re-creating the sights, smells, and textures of the rough settlement surrounded by wilderness and subject to political turmoil. Compulsively readable and filled with New York history, The Orphanmaster will delight fans of Caleb Carr, Hilary Mantel, and Geraldine Brooks.

Yep! This is still on my list 😛 I’ll get there soon


Okay, that’s it for me!

Have a lovely week of reading!

Please feel free to share your WWW link with me in the comments or just let me know what your week has looked like in books!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

 

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | The Seventh

  1. Enjoy the rest of the Liveship Traders books! Sometimes the first in a series leaves me reeling but then they get so much better! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. Oh man, I need to read some more Terry Pratchett! I keep saying I will, and I have a whole pile sitting right there on my shelf that I bought from a friend who was moving overseas, and yet I keep reading other things instead.

    Upon your recommendation, I have added Stardancer to my TBR.:) I also saw your rating for it there, and sent you a friend request – hope that’s all right!

    Like

  3. For what it’s worth, I’m quite grateful you haven’t posted often. It makes catching up much easier for me ^^ (and still I suck!)
    Ship of Magic was recommended to me before! I’m sure I’ve added it to Goodreads already, but I’ll check since you’ve enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m about to add Ship Magic to my TBR (although that is a huge list. psh). I have been looking for a good sea-voyage type book, even if it is fantasy. I haven’t read any of them in a long, long time. I tried reading the Classic Two Years before the mast, but it’s a classic, it’s slow and hard to get into. I’m looking for something more contemporary.
    Any other suggestions for sea-voyage-y pirate books? 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment