Camp NaNoWriMo Update 3

Happy Monday everyone!

Hope you’re all well and that you had a relaxing weekend!

This weekend was a little busy for me, but I still managed to get some things done. One of those things being…

I finished going through the hard copy of my Pirate Eyes manuscript and now all that’s left for me to do is type up the necessary changes! And then it’s ready. And I’ll be on the lookout for beta-readers by the end of this week *fingers crossed*.

I’m really happy with how this story has progressed since I first started writing it back in December 2006. The characters are more pronounced, the plot flows better, the conflict is more present. At least, I hope that’s how it reads.

On another note, I have decided to submit to #FicFest. I debated it for a while, but it makes sense that I should give it a try. A big thank you to Sara Beth at Life, Love, Writing for convincing me to take the leap. Better to try and get rejected then never try at all, because then it’s like rejecting myself. And I never want to do that!

We’ll see where that goes, but in the meantime I’ll be shifting gears to polishing two screenplays and starting the large revisions needed for the second book in the series. Which means taking the second half of the original manuscript and making it flow like a sequel. I expect hard work. I also expect lots of fun!

Question: What’s the most daunting edit/revision you’ve ever had to do on a story?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith     quill-ink

8 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update 3

  1. Exciting times ahead!! I volunteer as beta/Advanced Reader!! 😀 Good luck polishing the second novel – it sounds like a lot of work but I know you’ll get through it!
    I haven’t heard of FicFest, but good luck for that, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Sarina!
      FicFest is a contest that involves getting your MS into the hands of literary agents. There’s a round where it goes through editors who choose about forty-five stories to edit before submitting to agents in July. I’ll know by the beginning of May if I’ll move to the next round.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on finishing the edit! It’s fantastic news!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’ll be more than happy to beta/advance read for you. I love reading your stories and simply cannot get enough 🙂
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you with FicFest! Such big things are happening for you 😀 Good Luck with it all. I’m here if you need me ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

