WWW Wednesday | 07.12.16

Happy Wednesday friends,

I’ve been a bit quiet since Eléonore’s release on Sunday. I think part of me is still in shock that she’s out in the world!

Of course, I hate missing this lovely blog hop so I had to make time for it. Hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words, it’s such a great opportunity to interact with a community of readers.

All you have to do is answer three questions!

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

CURRENTLY READING

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

31700873Blurb

In 1837, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria – sheltered, small in stature, and female – became Queen of Great Britain and Ireland. Many thought it was preposterous: Alexandrina — Drina to her family — had always been tightly controlled by her mother and her household, and was surely too unprepossessing to hold the throne. Yet from the moment William IV died, the young Queen startled everyone: abandoning her hated first name in favor of Victoria; insisting, for the first time in her life, on sleeping in a room apart from her mother; resolute about meeting with her ministers alone.

One of those ministers, Lord Melbourne, became Victoria’s private secretary. Perhaps he might have become more than that, except everyone argued she was destined to marry her cousin, Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. But Victoria had met Albert as a child and found him stiff and critical: surely the last man she would want for a husband….

This is a historical fiction that I am terribly excited to start reading because I love everything about Victoria and I have been anxious to watch the TV series as well. I’ve heard very good things from Claire! It’s already been released, but the copy I have is from NetGalley so it’s also part of my December goal to finish all outstanding NetGalley reads.

RECENTLY READ

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by JK Rowling

93124

Blurb

It is the middle of the summer, but there is an unseasonal mist pressing against the windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in his bedroom at the Dursleys’ house in Privet Drive for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can’t quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the Dursleys’ of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few weeks’ time? Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine…

Gosh, this book managed to break my heart again even though it’s my 17th… er, 18th time reading it! Lost track now! I remember now why it’s my favourite book. There are so many subtleties that you miss on the first read, but each reread keeps lending new insight! I can’t believe I have only one book left in this reread! Until next year that is 🙂

The Girl from the Sea by Shalini Boland

30657197Blurb:

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks.

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don’t even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

I ended up really enjoying this book. It was a great psychological thriller. I much prefer it to The Girl on the Train. I had some small problems with it, but overall it held my interest. A full review will be up in time…

Infernal Alliance (Infernal Hunt #4) by Holly Evans

32868656Blurb: (heavily edited to avoid spoilers)

A rebellion is brewing, threatening to tear down all that the hunters have worked for.

A stunning conclusion to what has been an exhilarating and impressive urban fantasy series. Holly has certainly  become one of my favourite authors of 2016 and I cannot wait to see what she delivers next year with her new series!

If you’re looking for a great urban fantasy series with a formidable protagonist and an eclectic cast of memorable characters, treat yourself to this one!

 

The Making of Gabriel Davenport by Beverley Lee

29010526Blurb:

In a house built on truth something lays hidden.

Beth and Stu Davenport moved to the English hillside town of Meadowford Bridge to give their young son, Gabriel, an idyllic, rural childhood. But in a single evening, the Davenports’ dream is shattered by a hidden, ancient darkness– and their lives are forever changed.

Years later, Gabriel Davenport, now a capable, curious young man, makes the ill-fated decision to go looking for answers about his mysterious past. As soon as he begins his quest, his life becomes a place of shadows. The people he loves and trusts are acting abnormally. The strange woman who lives upstairs is even more haunted than usual. Even his most trusted friend seems to be hiding something.

As one fateful night deepens, and the line blurs between darkness and light, Gabriel must confront the terrible events that destroyed his family all those years ago. He is faced with a choice: continue living the life that was never his to begin with, or give himself over to a terrifying new reality more sinister than anything he’s ever known.

The darkness is watching.

Friends, I don’t think I can properly tell you how amazing this book is. A beautiful and twisted piece of dark fiction that reminds me of one of my favourite authors: Stephen King! The prose is stunning, the characters engaging, the plot gripping. A unique read that deserves to be discovered by a wide populace! A full review for this will come shortly…

Side note… really didn’t realize how books I’d finished reading this week until just now 😜

READING NEXT

I have too many options!! This is my December TBR (physical copies only!)

I think my sister and I might do a buddy reread of The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin next. But I’m also hoping to get to The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley.

I’ll see how the week forms…


Hope you’ve all been having a beautiful week. Let me know in the comments what your reading habits have been like or leave a link to your post so I can check it out!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 07.12.16

  1. Yay! I so hope you enjoy Victoria 🙂 I have chatted to a blogger who didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, because they found Victoria annoying. I think having seen Jenna Coleman play her first may have helped because she did a great job showing the character’s vulnerability as well as bossiness!

    From your December TBR, I’d recommend Vicious very very highly 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my WWW earlier (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/12/07/www-wednesday-7th-november-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am enjoying Victoria right now. I actually keep picturing her as Emily Blunt 🙂 The Young Victoria is such a beautiful film!
      I need to get on Vicious! I’m really hoping I’ll make it but it might become my first read of 2017…
      Thanks for visiting Claire!
      Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to read Victoria! Or watch the series, but I think I have to wait until January for that. Girl from the Sea looks interesting and glad it’s better than Girl on the Train! Congrats on the book and I love the playlist!! Here’s my list http://hollykerr.ca/my-blog/
    I think your next read should be Little Women or the final Harry Potter book – both favourites of mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m nearly 100 pages into Victoria and I think it’s wonderful thus far! I might be somewhat biased though 😉
      Thank you so much!
      My reread of both Little Women & Harry Potter are probably my most anticipated reads this month, but I’m saving both for closer to Christmas. 🙂 Glad to hear they’re favourites of yours as well!
      Stay well & thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

      Like

  3. I hope your release is going well. I already saw it on two WWW lists. My husband’s students read The Westing Game a few years ago and he enjoyed teaching it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad to hear you enjoye The Girl From The Sea! Shalini Boland is one of my favorite 2016 author discoveries. And I really want to reread Harry Potter now… I’ve done so not a year ago, but I already miss the characters. Vicious is a great read by the way. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was an interesting read and I loved the way the story unfolded.
      It’s such a great reread. I hope you get the chance sometime soon 🙂
      I keep hearing great things about Vicious. If I don’t get to it this month, it’s going to be a January 2017 read for sure!
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week, my dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The only books in your December TBR pile that I’ve read are Little Women and Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows, so I can’t really recommend the others. Though I’d love to know what you think of Vicious once you read it… 😉

    Still making my way through Tokien’s Unfinished Tales right now. I’ve been taking it slowly, one story / entry per sit-down so that it’s not too much information at one time. But I’m enjoying it quite a bit – and developing a real respect for the amount of work Christopher Tolkien’s had to go through to sort through his father’s writings. After that will probably be UKLG’s The Dispossessed.

    Like

  6. I watched Victoria and I loved it so I can’t wait to get the book and see what’s going on in more detail. Claire’s review convinced me I needed it! 🙂 The Girl From The Sea is on my TBR. I had no time this year but it’s definitely on my 2017 reading list. I’m looking forward to your reviews of it and The Making of Gabriel Davenport. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a comment