At the Halfway Mark | August 2017

Hi friends,

Here’s a new feature I’m hoping to keep up with on my blog moving forward to keep you all updated on how my monthly goals are going and to find out how yours are as well 🙂

So, let’s get to it…


WRITING:

Right now I’m sitting on news for Pirate Eyes. Pitch Wars results come out on the 24th. I haven’t gotten any requests for extra material yet, so I’m not keeping my hopes too high, but this isn’t a down point for me. If something comes of it, great! But if not, I’ll start querying agents again starting on the 25th.

I’m almost done a strong edit of the second draft of Heralding. A lot of things have changed through this edit, which is both exciting and frightening… But it’s all for the best 🙂

I’m planning a fuller post on my editing process, but I’ll just say now that I’ve taken a new approach this time around that’s really helped me nail down my issues.

I’ve also been working on a Christmas musical to put on at my church. I’ve outlined in and made a brief skeleton of songs and I hope to start writing it this week 😉

READING:

As always, I’ve set a monthly goal of five-six books. So far, I’ve read four.

A steampunk from Dana Fraedrich, called Out of the Shadows which was a highly entertaining read. (4/5)

An arc of KJ Chapman’s upcoming novella called Zombie Playlist which was a riotous, hilarious read that I got through in one sitting. Absolutely fantastic! (5/5)

I also binge-read This Savage Song & Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. This duology was absolutely wonderful. The worldbuilding, the characters, the thematic grappling of survival! So wonderful! Reminds me again why Schwab is one of my top five favourite authors. (5/5 for the duology!)

WATCHING:

I also have a monthly goal of watching four-five movies. So far I’ve watched three.

I watched Pride (2014) on Netflix. I have a fondness for films set in Britain and period pieces. The acting in this movie was wonderful and the directing was brilliant. A very touching and affecting film. (8.5/10)

I also watched Hunt for the Wilderpeople on Netflix. It’s my first Taika Waititi film and I adored it! The balance of humour and drama was fantastic. Sam Neill has been a favourite actor of mine since I saw him in Jurassic Park. He blew me away in this role! And Julian! I really do recommend this offbeat comedy! (10/10)

Last night, my mom, my sister, and I went to the movies to watch North by Northwest as part of our cinema’s classic event series (different one every month). It’s my third Hitchcock and I loved it! Cary Grant is such a suave actor. The storyline was solid too and the scene with the corn duster! Amazing that Hitchcock never won an Oscar for his directing! (9/10)


Alright, that’s all from me. Back to the edits!

Where are you with your goals, friends? How is August treating you?

Take care.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “At the Halfway Mark | August 2017

  1. I had grand intentions of seeing Hunt for the Wilderpeople at the cinema when it first came out, but never made it. You’ve just reminded me of it. I’m so glad you liked it, I remember the trailer looked hilarious!

    Like

  2. Good luck with the edits. I’m still procrastinating with my EVO Ghost edits. Again, thank you for taking the time to read and review Zombie Playlist. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it.

    Like

  3. Good luck with the edits and the Pitch War results! And like you, I also finished Schwab’s Monsters of Verity duology. I love how she uses the monsters to explore humanity (or, rather, what it means to be human) in the first book and the concept of fighting one’s inner demons in the second.

    I’m still in NYC at the moment, so I’ll keep this short. Hope everything else is going well. *hugs*

    Like

  4. How long have you been querying? I’ve only been querying seriously for a few months and I’ve been putting off some revisions since. It helps me feel less alone to hear other people are pitching their work, but I naturally hope you have success soon!

    I also dropped by to say that I nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award! You can learn more from my post today: http://witandtravesty.com/mystery-blogger-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

