Favourite 2017 Reads (So Far) | Top Ten Tuesday

Hi friends,

Happy Tuesday. I’m sorta kinda back… πŸ˜‰

I’m playing catch up today and participating in Top Ten Tuesday after missing the past two weeks.

The topic for today is best books you’ve read in 2017 so far. Want to join, check out The Broke and the Bookish!

Only three of these were released this year. The rest have been long on my TBR.


10. The Blue Sword – Robin McKinley

407813

My second read from McKinley, this book was an absolute gem of high fantasy, with stunning worldbuilding. I love Harry. Such a short book too. Definitely one I’ll reread in the future.

9. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Saenz

21529297

This book holds a special place in my heart. Not only was it a moving story, but it was my first experience listening to an audiobook and Lin’s voice was perfectly suited to telling this contemporary epic.

8. Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

13600168

I read this entire series this year. The first book hooked me with its star crossed romance and mythology! The two that followed were still breathtakingly written, but they lacked the tight plot and compelling narrative of the first. Still a beautiful trilogy though.

7. The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

32075671

Can’t begin to express enough how amazing this story is. I don’t read many contemporaries (especially in the YA category — somehow two are on this list, so maybe I should reconsider πŸ€”). The social relevance of this book alone is enough to convince me that its a book everyone should read.

6. Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman

30809689

The universe must have heard my dreams when it inspired Neil Gaiman to write his own adaptation of Norse mythology. It was preordained that I would love this! And love it I did, with all of Loki’s snark 😍

5. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

25480342

I read this book early in the year and I nearly forgot that I had, it feels like a classic already, a book I’ve known for a long time. I read it in one sitting and it broke my heart.

— the next four are honestly impossible for me to order because they are all epic! —

1. Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo

35116827

This was the last book I finished reading and oh my gosh! My heart doesn’t know what to do with itself. I need more of these amazing characters. More, I tell you! MORE 😭

1. The Dark Tower – Stephen King

5091

I devoured the last three books in this series and I can’t recommend this twisted and complex story enough. The journey of this narrative left me breathless and the ending… Seriously, King is a mad genius!

1. Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

30969076

A perfectly dark fantasy! Reminded me of Game of Thrones – which is a very good thing in my books – with Mia even reading a bit like the epic Arya Stark. But believe me, Mia is her own unique character and one of my favourite protagonists. Godsgrave can’t come quick enough!

1. A Conjuring of Light – VE Schwab

29939230

So maybe I lied.Β πŸ˜…

There’s a reason this is the last one. Because it’s honestly the best book I’ve read this year. I don’t know what it is about the characters and the story but Schwab crafted such a strong world with the Shades of Magic series that I want to get lost in it over and over and over again! Not to mention, that this is one of the most brilliant finales to a series. Though, I wish it was not the end…


What are the best books you’ve read so far this year? Any of the ones I’ve mentioned on your list? Let me know in the comments friends! Hope you’ve all been keeping well!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

FaithΒ  quill-ink

9 thoughts on “Favourite 2017 Reads (So Far) | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. ACoL is one of my best too!! I’m still finishing The Hate U Give but I’m sure it’ll also be one of my best reads this year. And I’m excited to read Aristotle and Dante!!! I’ve read Crooked Kingdom last year and it was amazing!! Great list. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I love the Shades of Magic series! I read the first book, no … devoured it a couple of years ago, but never continued on for some reason. I just got the second book this week, and I’m so ready to finish it.

    Like

  3. Ahhhhhh, this is such an epic list, Faith! Because I either love or want to read most of the books that are on here. πŸ˜€ Crooked Kingdom, ACOL, Norse Mythology, Daughter of Smoke and Bone… I just want to eat this list up. XD

    I’m not doing a mid-year top 10, but if I did, Norse Mythology and ACOL would definitely be on it. Others that come off the top of my head… For brand new books, I’d say The Bear & the Nightingale by Katharine Arden and Winter of the Gods by Jordanna Max Brodsky… and for pre-2017 books, I’d go with American Gods by Neil Gaiman, Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton.

    Like

  4. Hey stranger, you are so lost on blogosphere. I hope you are well. I have only read A Monster Calls on this list though I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I really want to read Aristotle and Hate U Give. Definitely bumping them up my TBR after reading this list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

