This Month in Review | April 2017

Hi friends,

April hasn’t been an easy month as you all know, but I’ve been managing to get some things done.

Here’s a quick look at what I’ve accomplished (or not) and what my plans are for May.


GOALS OF APRIL

  1. Final Edit of Pirate Eyes
  2. Finish Edit of Heritage
  3. Submit Walking Blind (a thriller script) to competitions
  4. Read 4-5 books:
  5. Watch 4 movies
  6. Outline a few stories – I have five new ones that I’m especially inspired by and want to use this relatively quiet month to tackle them.
  7. Post 2 entries of Crafting the Series
  8. Participate in #WIPjoy on Twitter and #danaf7wordstory & #shayverlee6wordstory on Instagram
  9. Create a month of prompts for May.

ACHIEVED IN APRIL

  1. When it comes to Pirate Eyes, I managed to finish editing a hard copy but I’m still in the middle of typing up those changes. That should be done this week and I’ll be opening a call for beta readers soon.
  2. I did manage to finish editing Heritage and it’s in the hands of my sister. I decided I really want her opinion before I send it out to betas. And I’m not rushing to get her out, either. I have other priorities first.
  3. I did a readthrough of my Walking Blind and while it’s pretty good, I need to add a few scenes to allow for some stronger character development. So I’m putting her on hold for the moment.
  4. I read EIGHT BOOKS this month: Stolen Ink (Holly Evans), Everything Everything (Nicola Yoon), The Drowned Tomb (James Fahy), On Writing (Stephen King), A Shining in the Shadows (Beverley Lee), Shadowy Horses (Susanna Kearsley), The Dark Tower (Stephen King) & The Hate U Give (Angie Thomas). And they were all excellent!
  5. I watched FIVE MOVIES: Managed to watch the remake of The Jungle Book twice and I cannot begin to tell you how amazing the animation was! Also watched the new Beauty and the Beast two more times, and though I enjoyed it more the second time, the third viewing was definitely overkill. It’s okay, though because I made up for it by watching the 1991 version again to remind myself of how beautiful and perfect that version was. Watched Jurassic World just last night and was thoroughly underwhelmed. Too much violence. Too little character development. Annie Hall was my favourite watch this month. Diane and Woody were absolutely brilliant! I also went to see The Book of Mormons with my sister and loved it. Definitely not for the faint of heart, but if you’re willing to accept its satirical nature and crass language it’s brilliant!
  6. I started well with this one, but I got so hooked on one of the new stories – a fairy tale adaptation – and I started to write it by hand. It’s been liberating.
  7. Didn’t have the mindfulness or the passion to pull it off this month, but I’m hoping May will prove more fortuitous.
  8. I started off well with this, but I couldn’t keep it up this month.
  9. It is well done 🙂 More on that below…

MAY GOALS

  1. Edit Heralding to second draft.
  2. Finish writing my fairy tale adaptation
  3. Outline Hollow Vows (sequel to Pirate Eyes) – I had most of this done, but after edits of Pirate Eyes, I have a new idea for the rest of the series.
  4. Host #FictMAYhem on Twitter/Instagram.I’m really excited to be hosting this again and helping people develop their characters! You’re more than welcome to join us 🙂
  5. Read 5-6 books. This includes Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman, which I didn’t get to last month, Nevernight by Jay Kristoff because Sarina convinced me to, and Eon by Alison Goodman.
  6. Watch 4-5 movies. There are so many great ones coming out this month: Guardians of the Galaxy, Volume 2, Pirates of the Caribbean (Dead Men Tell no Tales), Everything Everything and King Arthur (Legend of the Sword).
  7. Post 2 entries for Crafting the Series.
  8. Special project – I would say more, but it’s a secret for the moment. Just know that something exciting is coming in June and I’m excited to share it with you 🙂
  9. Outline a novella idea. I had started to write out an outline in April and I’m hoping to get more of it worked out this month.

How was your April, friends? What are your plans for May? Let me know about in the comments. Wishing you all the best, always!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith   quill-ink

6 thoughts on “This Month in Review | April 2017

  1. That’s pretty good progress overall. It’s hard to be creative in general when your heart is hurting, but making the effort to do something can help you pull through. I hope you found that was the case for you, and that things brighten for you soon. *hugs*

    Reading-wise, have fun with Norse Mythology! I read that back in February / March and loved every minute of it. In fact, I think it’s my second-favorite Gaiman book after American Gods. Eon was also very good. And I’m guessing you enjoyed The Hate U Give? I’d like to read that at some point myself. It’s too important and socially relevant to miss right now.

    My plans for May… mainly, to keep researching and moving forward with the new story idea. I’ll talk a little more about it at the blog at some point… though maybe not to the same extent that I discussed TKC.

    Like

  2. You are a trooper. I’m impressed. I think when something difficult hits us head on people react in different ways. I’m going through some rough family crap (extended family) and it’s basically killed my entire motivation to do anything writing wise for the last week and a half. Which sucks because I need to get the last edits done on this book for people who want to beta read.
    I don’t always react by retracting from writing. Sometimes it makes me dive in deeper when I’m stressed or whatever. It’s kind of hard to explain in this box why I withdrew…

    Anyway, beta reading is still open whenever you have time because there is no time limit at this point.

    Also, thank you as always for being such an encouraging person. ttyl

    Like

  3. I think you’ve had a very productive month! I take my hat off to you and how many books you managed to read alongside it all. My April consisted of CampNaNo, and I think I only succeeded because my internet went down. No procrastination worked wonders. 🙂

    Like

  4. Cool post and it sounds like you are pretty freakin productive. I am a huge fan of Stephen King and “On Writing” was the first craft book I read when I started getting serious about writing. Good luck and I hope you are having an awesome day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

