NaNoWriMo2016 in Review | The First

Hello friends!

On this Monday, the first of NaNoWriMo 2016, I’m changing up the usual Week in Review post to match 🙂

At the moment my total is at 8,951 words. It’s lower than it should be, but that’s got a lot to do with life and editing Eléonore! The latter is going extremely well, by the way. I should be done the edits today and I’ll be reading it once more through for any mistakes before sending it to my proofreader. Drawing closer to publication and it’s hard to believe that this is actually happening!

But back to The Desert Knight — my NaNoWriMo novel. I’m loving writing it right now and discovering my characters. Parvana is still developing as a main character and sometimes I find that I’m writing her with too much of Eléonore’s edge. When I find that happening, I make notes to go back and clean up her dialogue and inner musings. It’s happening less and less as I’m becoming more familiar with her personality. So that’s good at least.

It’s a first draft, so I’m attacking it as such, writing what comes without much filter, but I’m keeping notes as I go for problems in plot that I’m already noticing and scenes where I overstay my visit. I think one of my biggest issues right now is bringing the setting to life. The desert is such a gorgeous space to use, but I don’t think I’m doing it justice. To help, I have two books on my November TBR that are set in the desert: The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley and Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed. Does anyone have any other suggestions for fantasy novels with a desert setting?

With edits finishing up on Eléonore this week, I’m hoping to turn more of my attention to The Desert Knight and hitting 20k before the week’s end. That’s the dream, in any case 🙂

For now, how about a small excerpt:

They knew me as Rikalasar. I was proud to be Rika’s serve, but I was also afraid of the reverence I garnered for it. 

Rikalasar was the mask of duty that I wore at night, to serve the god that had saved my life. My true name was Parvana. At one time I had been called Shara (daughter), Sestrys (sister), Nevalyn (niece). At one time I had been called Kivashik (kin killer).

– The Desert Knight. Faith Rivens. 2016.


How are your NaNoWriMo endeavours proving? Are you on goal? Falling behind? Share your experience! I’d love to hear about it.

And remember to believe in your stories, friends, and in your selves! You can do amazing things if you do ❤

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo2016 in Review | The First

  1. Nice excerpt! And I wouldn’t pressure yourself too much with NaNoWriMo now that you’re also preparing to self-publish Eleonore. Don’t spread yourself too thin; just pace yourself and take some “me” time now and then. 😉

    Fantasy novels in a desert setting… Have you read Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath & The Dawn? Or Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen? The latter isn’t exclusively set in a desert, but it would still fit the aesthetics you described in your Beautiful Books post last week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sara! I’ve been trying to keep that in mind these past few days 🙂 Not easily ;P
      I still need to read both Ahdieh and Chokshi! Especially STQ! That holds highest priority on my TBR 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Empress by Karen Miller is the first in a trilogy and takes place in a desert setting 🙂 The other two books in the series are set in a different country but I think you’d enjoy the first one! 🙂

    I wish I was getting more editing done. I’m doing it the other way around, I’m doing all of the writing and nowhere near enough editing! :/

    The excerpt is amazing, it’s given me goose bumps!! More!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

