This Week in Review | The Twenty-Eighth

Another Tuesday edition because I sort of got carried away yesterday writing Eléonore (a very good thing)!

It’s been a good week for writing, but I’m still grappling with some life choices as I try to find a way to break out of my rut of routine and make writing my career. That’s the dream, right? 😉


IN WRITING…

As I’ve already mentioned, I’ve been focusing most of my energy on Eléonore lately, trying to hit my goal of 45k for the first draft. I’ve set myself weekly goals and right now I’m trying to hit 10k by tomorrow (Sept. 7th). As it stands, I’m sitting in middle of 7k after yesterday’s 2,374 word count 🙂 Couldn’t be happier with the progress I’m making and the way the story is going. If it continues this way, well… let’s not catch chickens when eggs are still whole.

Here’s a little snippet, just to give you a taste.

The small condo that I called home was on the third floor of a complex. It wasn’t the cheapest thing in Montreal, but it wasn’t exactly the cream of the crop either. It made do for the purposes it had to serve—not that there were many.

Provide shelter: Check.

Close to work: Check for day. Check for night.

Remain outside the radar of possible demonic enemies…

#WIPJOY

I’m also partaking in the monthly hashtag created by Bethany that offers authors a chance to share their works in progress. It’s such an amazing community and I love to discover all the talent and stories that my fellow writers possess. I’m sharing both Pirate Eyes and Eléonore this month. Here are just some of them…

What I’ve Been Watching

This… Unapologetically…

March 2017 cannot come soon enough!

One of my childhood favourites–if not the top–I’ve been worried about the live-action not doing the animated feature justice. But Dan and Emma seem to have good chemistry already and my hopes are lifting 🙂

Also, for people like me who still delight in animated movies and watch them for the joy of it, there’s this little tidbit of news that might excite you…

Image result for anastasia broadway

Yep! Anastasia‘s coming to broadway! It showed on a smaller level already in Connecticut, but previews in New York begin March 23rd 2017 with an opening marked for April 24th! Tickets please 🙂


How has your week been? Anything exciting to share? Let me know 🙂

Take care friends!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

11 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Twenty-Eighth

  1. Great progress so far with Eleonore! Is it a fantasy like Pirate Eyes (not a pirate-ship / marine fantasy, just genre-wise in general)?

    Intriguing questions so far for this month’s #WIPjoy. I would’ve liked to participate this month, but I’m easing back into a normal routine now that the summer busyness has ended. So it didn’t feel like the right time to jump in again. Maybe next time, though?

    I want to see Beauty & The Beast too! I’ve heard that Disney might be working on a live-action version of The Little Mermaid, too, which… I’m not really sure how they’d manage that, since much of the story takes place underwater…?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sara! It’s more of an urban fantasy, but still fantasy, yes!
      I hope you do get the chance to do #WIPjoy next time. It’s always great to see your answers too! I’ve been busy the last two days so I’m a bit behind. I’ll be playing catch-up today ;P
      I heard about the Little Mermaid adaptation as well. Not sure how they plan to bring that about, either? I think I remember hearing that Disney has about 12-15 live action adaptations lined up for the next few years. It can be fun to see these stories reimagined again, but it would be nice to see some new and original material too ;P

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d definitely like to do #WIPjoy during my novella project next year (planning to start in January). So I’ll keep an eye out for it, for sure!

        “It can be fun to see these stories reimagined again, but it would be nice to see some new and original material too.”

        My thoughts exactly. As neat as it is that Disney is revisiting their classics and giving them new life, I’d like to see more original film ideas from them, too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep forgetting to join in the #WIPjoy hashtag 😦 I might try again next month and make a note ahead of time of what I’ll need to post every day, so I can prepare ahead of time. I’ll never get far otherwise!

    I’m intrigued by your new WIP! The snippet’s got my interest, I’ll look forward to hearing more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow great job on the word count! Most impressive! I can’t wait for Beauty and the Beast either. Its killing me :p Ooh I hadn’t heard about Anastasia going to Broadway. It should translate well. I loved the music from the movie and actually watched it not too long ago ;p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

