WWW Wednesday | The Nineteenth

Happy Wednesday friends ๐Ÿ™‚

As ever, today is a chance to share the love of reading and discover new books across the blogosphere thanks to WWW Wednesday, hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

Care to join in sharing your weekly reads, all you have to do is answer these 3 questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think youโ€™ll read next?

It’s actually been a hard last few days to fit in reading, what with visiting Vieux-Quรฉbec on Monday and then yesterday going to see Star Trek Beyond (not my favourite movie I’ll say that much). But I still managed to get through all my to read nexts from last week, so that’s a plus!

Note: All covers/blurbs are from Goodreads.


WHAT I AM CURRENTLY READING

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

9118135Blurb:

In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, State of Wonder presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity.

As Dr. Marina Singh embarks upon an uncertain odyssey into the insect-infested Amazon, she will be forced to surrender herself to the lush but forbidding world that awaits within the jungle. Charged with finding her former mentor Dr. Annick Swenson, a researcher who has disappeared while working on a valuable new drug, she will have to confront her own memories of tragedy and sacrifice as she journeys into the unforgiving heart of darkness. Stirring and luminous, State of Wonder is a world unto itself, where unlikely beauty stands beside unimaginable loss beneath the rain forest’s jeweled canopy.

This is one of those books that’s been sitting on my shelves for 5+ years and I thought it was about time I give it a shot. It’s not a typical read for me, but I’m in the mood to be adventurous, so away we go ๐Ÿ™‚

WHAT I RECENTLY FINISHED READING

Witch Infernal (Infernal Hunt #3) by Holly Evans

Witch Infernal (Infernal Hunt Book 3) by [Evans, Holly]Blurb:

Evelyn Hawke wasnโ€™t made for the quiet life. Sheโ€™s bored.

Luckily for her, things start going wrong, and sheโ€™s expected to fix everyone elseโ€™s problems. A trio of celestials task Evie and her friends with the job of tracking down the witch who opened the hellmouth and putting an end to her. Little do they know that the witch has big plans and a far-reaching influence.

Oh! I had missed Evie! I bought the third installment in the brilliant Infernal Hunt series the day it was released and devoured it as I had the previous two. Holly does such an amazing job of bringing Prague to life as Evie leads us through the hectic life of a hunter. Plus the supporting cast of characters are such fun to be around. What’s most impressive is how the books have matured with Evie. There’s so much character development blended in with action sequences. A delightful urban fantasy series you should definitely check out!

The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant

Blurb:

142939Birth of Venus, draws readers into a turbulent 15th-century Florence, a time when the lavish city, steeped in years of Medici family luxury, is suddenly besieged by plague, threat of invasion, and the righteous wrath of a fundamentalist monk. Dunant masterfully blends fact and fiction, seamlessly interweaving Florentine history with the coming-of-age story of a spirited 14-year-old girl. As Florence struggles in Savonarolaโ€™s grip, a serial killer stalks the streets, the French invaders creep closer, and young Alessandra Cecchi must surrender her โ€œchildishโ€ dreams and navigate her way into womanhood.

I was looking forward to a historical fiction and I had heard good things about this book but, while I did enjoy the beginning well enough, I felt that the story didn’t have as much direction as I had hoped it would. Maybe it was the mindset I was in reading it, but I couldn’t get into the story at all, though the writing was beautiful. I just wish that some elements had been better developed. I did enjoy parts of it, though, and still intend to read more of Dunant’s works in the future.

On a more positive note, this marked by 80th read this year ๐Ÿ˜„

A Swiftly Twisting Planet (Time Quintet #3) by Madeleine Lโ€™Engle

195816

Blurb (edited to avoid spoilers):

He and Gaudior must travel into the past on the winds of time to try to find a Might-Have-Been โ€“ a moment in the past when the entire course of events leading to the present can be changed, and the future of Earth โ€“ this small, swiftly tilting planet โ€“ saved.

So, I finished this book last night and I am still in awe of how powerful Madeleine L’Engle’s stories are. This third installment is just as magical as the first two, but there is a new level of maturity in it too that the first two did not have, the story developing and growing with the characters. It made for a rather profound and thoughtful read. I can’t believe it took me so long to discover these childhood classics, but I am inspired โค

WHAT I KNOW I’LL BE READING NEXT

A lot of sequels ๐Ÿ˜‰

Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet #3): by Orson Scott Card

7967

 

I’m skipping the blurb on this one because I don’t want to spoil the original story for anyone.

While this is considered to be the third in the series, it’s the second published so I’m going to read it as such. I read Ender’s Game a long, long, long time ago and it really affected me. Deeply. Such a profound novel. I don’t tend to read Sci-Fi, but wow! That book just hooked me in and wouldn’t let go. I’ve had the sequel on my shelf for a while, but haven’t been in the mood for it until now. I hear wonderful things.

In the meantime, I highly recommend you discover Ender’s Game for yourself because it’s brilliant!

The Mad Ship (Liveship Traders #2) by Robin Hobb

771713

BLURB:

Robin Hobb returns to the sea with Mad Ship, the second book in a projected trilogy set in the same world as her famed Farseer series. Many unresolved questions from Ship of Magic are answered in this tale of sea serpents and dragons; living ships made of wizardwood; the Bingtown Trader families who sail the ships; and their disfigured cousins, the Rain Wild Traders, who build them.

I was supposed to read this a few weeks ago, but by the time I got to it, I found I wasn’t ready, so I placed it aside. Now, I’m going to try again and hope for better motivation ๐Ÿ™‚

AND

Justice Hall (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes #6) by Laurie R. King

6494790Blurb:

Only hours after Holmes and Russell return from solving one riddle on the moor, another knocks on their front doorโ€ฆliterally.

Itโ€™s a mystery that begins during the Great War, when Gabriel Hughenfort died amidst scandalous rumors that have haunted the family ever since. But itโ€™s not until Holmes and Russell arrive at Justice Hall, a home of unearthly perfection set in a garden modeled on Paradise, that they fully understand the irony echoed in the family motto, Justicia fortitudo mea est: โ€œRighteousness is my strength.โ€

A trail of ominous clues leads Holmes and Russell from an English hamlet to fashionable Paris to the wild prairie of the New World. But as the moment of reckoning approaches, will justice be doneโ€ฆor have they been lured straight into an elusive killerโ€™s perfectly baited trap?

It’s been a while since I last read one of these so I’m looking forward to it. Mary is such a wonderful protagonist and the last story set her too far in the background for my liking. Here’s hoping she shines more in this one!


Well, that’s it for me friends! Please share your own reading adventures or WWW link in the comments. Let’s keep the love of books ever growing!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith ย ย  quill-ink

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | The Nineteenth

    1. Farseer was written first but at the moment there isn’t much overlap. I would still recommend starting with Farseer because it is a brilliant start to her stories set in the Realms of the Elderlings! I hope you do enjoy them once you get the chance ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    1. I just finished it and it was a very thought-provoking read. If you enjoy more literary fiction, it is well written and really brings you into the heart of the Amazon!
      Happy Reading to you ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  1. I would like to give some room to historical fiction but I have no idea where to start! I should probably focus on the UK, as it will be a big part of my history lessons next semester.
    I love the diversity of your books ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!
      There are so many amazing historical ficts out there. If you’re starting in the UK, you should definitely check out Hilary Mantel, Sharon Kay Penman, Edward Rutherford and Philippa Gregory and Ken Follett and…. oh I should stop now ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Happy Reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t read any of the sequels to Ender’s Game either. Ender’s Game left me rather exhausted and I didn’t have the mental strength to carry straight on.
    I liked the sounds of The Birth of Venus (I’ve been to Florence twice and would quite happily spend some fictional time there too). Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it as much as you’d hoped, but at least that’s 80 books down this year (which is brilliant!).

    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesday-17th-august-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Clare! I would Birth of Venus a try. As I said, I think it’s where my head was at reading it that threw me off.
      I just started reading Speaker for the Dead last night and it’s already exhausting mentally and emotionally! But it’s so good, so full speed ahead ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading to you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. If you do get to Robin Hobb, try the Farseer trilogy first. It’s her debut fantasy series and marks the start of her Realm of Elderlings overarching series. And it’s really good ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope you enjoy Witch Infernal!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy Birth of Venus more. That looks like the kind of book I would love. I hope you enjoy the next Ender book! I get so confused on what order to read in when they were released in a different order than they are placed in the series. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

