Tagged Tuesday | Pokemon GO Book Tag

Happy Tuesday everyone,

Most of you know that I’m terrible when it comes to tags, but Holly tagged me in this one and as today marks the release of the third book in her Infernal Hunt series, I figured it would be a good opportunity to fulfill this one ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have been avoiding PokemonGO because the last time I played Pokemon, my life passed before my eyes. I know better than to begin temptation. Still, I love the idea of this tag โค

So here we go!


pokemon-tag-01starters

How can I possible be expected to remember this? I distinctly remember reading The Monster at the End of this Book — I think it might have been the first one I read completely on my own, but then again, I was three or four so my memory probably isn’t the best ๐Ÿ˜›

44186

 

But my parents were always reading to me, and books surrounded me from the day I was born…

pokemon-tag02pikachu

How can you just pick one? Jane Eyre is definitely at the top of that list — I just finished my annual reread of it yesterday.ย Besides that, Harry Potter and The Westing Game are iconic classics for me because they compelled me to want to write.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Ooph! I remember when Pride and Prejudice and Zombies first came out and it was all over the place and people were loving it and I just kept thinking: why would anyone throw zombies into PRIDE AND PREJUDICE! And then write a prequel and a sequel! That might just be me being prejudiced, but I’m not a fan ๐Ÿ˜›

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

Pirate Eyes… oh that’s shameless, Faith…

In all seriousness,ย  I think I’d have to put Susanna Kearsley’s books on this list. She’s an author whose stories often center on women who have ties to a past life. They are always unique, but the premise is always based on the same trope. And I love it. Mariana and The Winter Sea are my favourite of hers!

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

Quite a few high fantasy series fall under this category. Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time, Terry Goodkind’s The Sword of Truth, Steven Erikson’s Malazan Book of the Fallen. I have the first book for each of these on my bookshelf at home, but I keep avoiding them because I don’t have the time to dive into another large series.

pokemon-tag06-gengar

So many books. I used to read under the covers as a child. Actually Dracula was one of those that I couldn’t put down. And then it actually did keep me up because at 10 I was pretty freaked out by the idea of a vampire ;P More recently, I stayed up to finish The Book Thief–I dare you to get to the last part and not read to the end!

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

Harry Potter spoilers follow! You’ve been warned!

Severus & Lily. Of course, this is all non-canon, but I can’t help myself. The foundation is there. And my heart breaks everytime I read Chapter 33 ofย HP & the Deathly Hallows. (The Prince’s Tale). ALWAYS!

But in the realm of reality, my OTPs include Jane & Rochester, Margaret & Thornton, and most of Jane Austen’s main pairings. When it comes to true love, I defer to the classics ๐Ÿ˜‰

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

The first two installments of Holly’s Infernal Hunt series fits well here ๐Ÿ™‚ Infernal Ties & Infernal Bonds were incredibly gripping reads. With a fierce protagonist, a vivid setting and an entertaining cast of characters, they were easy to get lost in!

pokemon-tag09-eevee

A week ago, I would have said Harry Potter, but then there was The Cursed Child…. Don’t get me wrong, the nostalgic sentiment hasn’t gone, but expectations have diminished. Still, I do love Harry and I do have hope that JK can pull off some magic yet.

https://chaosfoxwriting.files.wordpress.com/2016/07/pokemon-tag14-magikarp.png?w=663

Hmm… I’ll have to say KJ Chapman’s EVO Nation series and not because I expected it not to be awesome. I just went in with no real expectations at all and was completely blown away by it! It’s a dystopian sci-fi led by Teddie, a tough female protagonist with special powers who is hunted by the government and her own kind. A brilliant read I highly recommend you check out ๐Ÿ™‚

pokemon-tag12-legendary

Last week, I would have said V.E. Schawb’s Shades of Magic series, but now I’ve read the first book and I know it’s fantastic ๐Ÿ˜€ So, the next series that people keep extolling that I’m still excited to discover is Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle (though I have been warned to be skeptical of the last book).

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

Jane Eyre. My classical go-to, I already have about four copies of it. I need that to grow. Extensively. I’d love a first edition โค

pokemon-tag10-egg

My own! Shameless, Faith. Shameless ;P

In all honesty, I have so many friends on this blog who’s debuts I am excited for, especially Sara Letourneau’s The Keeper’s Curse. She’s posted so many amazing teasers on her blog, building character and setting. I can’t wait for it to be published one day ๐Ÿ˜€

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

I have a few. Despite The Cursed Child, J.K. Rowling remains high on that last. V.E. Schwab has earned her spot there. Neil Gaiman has always been on that list too. He is definitely one of my favourite authors, each story so unique and magical. A true genius!

pokemon-tag13-server-down

And will probably BE waiting on forever: The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin.

Coincidentally, one of my anticipated releases was finally delivered today. That is Holly’s Witch Infernal which you can buy HERE! But make sure to read Infernal Ties & Infernal Bonds first ๐Ÿ˜‰


So there we go! That was a rather long tag, but so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not sure who has been tagged and who hasn’t, so there’s an open invite to anyone who wants to!

If you do decide to participate, or if you already have, please leave a comment so I can check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

12 thoughts on “Tagged Tuesday | Pokemon GO Book Tag

  1. Thank you for your kind words!! I’ve heard such good things about Evo Nation, I really need to get a copy! Oh and The Raven Cycle is so, so, good!! I haven’t read the last book yet I’ve been holding off until I’m ready, but they’re so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes! EVO Nation is wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚
      I always hold off on last books too, because I’m never ready to say goodbye. Took me forever to finally read the last Odd Thomas ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you enjoy the last book when you finally decide it’s time ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this tag, and I want to do it but I don’t know when I would! It’s so perfect for me, Faith!
    Please start The Sword of Truth series! I know it’s a long, but I did it and I loved them so much โค Some of the later books weren't as good in my opinion, but perhaps it's unrealistic to expect all 17 of them to be equally amazing ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Severus & Lily, yes! I had to say it. Just had to…
    I’m curious about EVO Nation now! Isn’t it great when a book surprises you like that, going beyond your expectations? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wheel of Time is a huge series, but worth it overall. I take breaks and read other books in between so the series isn’t as overwhelming.
    How old were you when you read Dracula? I’ve never read the book, but my dad would tell me stories about it and the movies when I was young. We were in Italy at the time, with plenty of eerie castles and ruins in the landscape around us, so it really brought the creepy tale to life. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Severus & Lily โค
      Definitely check out EVO Nation. It's just fantastic. The sequel (EVO Shift) is just as wonderful!
      I really need to start on Wheel of Time. I'll get there one day.
      I think I was about nine or ten when I read it the first time. I think being in a creepy setting like that would have made it even scarier ;P

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this tag. Omg soo many memories of watching Pokemon. gah I might have to do this one, though I don’t like tags. If you liked Game of Thrones, you would like Wheel of Time. It’s quite long, yes, but if You can sift through Martin’s writing, you shouldn’t have much of a problem at least IMO. His series is much more magic oriented of course. I wish they had made a TV show out of Wheel of Time there was soo much potential but ‘shrugs’. My husband read the entire series (over time, as they were released).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s still time for them to make it into a tv series. I’ll try to get to the first book this year if I can and let you know once I do ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have you read A Series of Song & Ice as well then? Have you watched all the seasons?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have not read the books. I have watched 3 seasons. We will probably pick up HBO Now again later in the fall. My husband has read all 5. I want to start reading at book 3 or so. I like the story and the characters. Not a fan of all the sex lol. Turned me off it for a while but the book isn’t as bad as the show I guess

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

