Into Aether | L.M. Fry

Happy Tuesday Friends!

This review is going to be a short one because I’ve fallen behind on getting my opinions out and I don’t want to inundate you lovely people with my ramblings.

DISCLAIMER: I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Into Aether (The Trinity Key Trilogy Book 1)

29743178

Blurb:

Colorado teen Theodora (Theo) will do anything to find her missing mom, including travel into the hidden and mysterious Victorian subculture of Aether. She takes a ride with airship pirates to a floating island full of strange automatons and even stranger people.
After a century-old feud reignites, she uncovers the alarming truth about her family’s past. Finding her mother is more important than ever
.

Firstly, I hate writing less than positive reviews…

When I spotted this book on NetGalley, I had high hopes. The cover was gorgeous, the premise was intriguing, the steampunk aspect highly enticing. So I went in with high expectations. Maybe that was my first mistake.

Theo started as a promising protagonist, but by the time the action really got started, she started to sound whiny and a little pathetic. There were moments where she glimmered with possibility, a deep love for her mother pushing her to resist those who tried to hold her back from discovering the truth and her compassion for others proving her possession of endearing qualities.

I think the real issue was the relationship introduced between herself and another character (being vague here to avoid spoilers). Their chemistry was lacking, their bond coming too swiftly to feel realistic. The contrived nature of it really detracted from a plot that otherwise had a lot of strengths.

The mythology and world building was wonderful and completely engrossing. The steampunk/speculative elements were strong and had me rather intrigued. It’s really a shame that the parts that lacked really distracted from those parts that shone.

If you don’t mind a relationship that feels superficially introduced and built, then you’ll probably enjoy the stronger parts. But it wasn’t enough for me! 

RATING:

m2ysolay


May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith   quill-ink

3 thoughts on “Into Aether | L.M. Fry

  1. Ah, well, that’s a shame, I really liked the cover, too :/ I think I had a similar problem with ADSoM, though – I read it when the hype was everywhere, so my expectations were sky high! That’s not fair on any book I don’t think, no matter how amazing it is. It’s so hard to live up to something like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And yet it’s so hard to not go in with expectations, isn’t it? I keep trying to keep an open mind when I approach new books, but sometimes the story just doesn’t match my own interests. Oh well ;P

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

