This Week in Review | The Twenty-Second

Happy Monday.

I’ve fallen far behind on my posts. Over the past few days, I’ve been struggling with major productivity issues.

It started well. But life got me side-tracked. That being said, I did manage to clean up Act 2 of my screenplay and being work on the 3rd. I’ve also gotten a bit of outlining done for my new project. Despite these minor accomplishments, I’ve really come to expect more from myself.

I’m the first to usually say that we shouldn’t put unnecessary pressure on ourselves and that we should never be disappointed in or be too hard on ourselves if we fail to accomplish our goals as long as we aren’t also putting obstacles in our own way. And that’s the real problem. I’ve been challenging myself unduly the past few days. There are real issues that I’m contending with — nothing I want to drown you in, and nothing that I know I can’t overcome — but I can also make those matters worse for myself. It’s a cycle I fell into a few years back. I’m aware now of what I’m doing. Which is good, because I can put a stop to it before it gets too far.

I realize that the above paragraph probably reads more as rambling than logical reasoning, so let me try to explain it a different way.

Life happens. Whether we’re writers or lawyers. Artists or scientists.. Soldiers or teachers. Life happens and it will interfere in what we hope to accomplish. Sometimes, these happenings are family related, sometimes they are friends. Sometimes it’s issues that are wholly our own. Sometimes it’s larger than life matters like the kind we’re facing now in the world. Whatever they are, the ultimate truth is that we cannot prevent these situations from arising and affecting our day to day plans without completely withdrawing from the world.

I’ve always accepted that life will get in the way every now and then. I can choose to  get stressed when they interfere with deadlines I’ve set for myself or I can make the decision to admit defeat and not try to steal what time I can and work around those moments I have no control over. I can accept that some events are out of my control and make an effort to grasp those that are and do my best to make them count.

I need to remind myself to not be my own antagonist, to not seek to foil my plans. Fear and anxiety are part of the motivations for this self-destruction. But I can be stronger than that. I can be better than that.

I have to find the motivation to write, to do well by myself, to not create more obstacles when life is already doing a fine job of throwing curveballs my way.

If you’ll take anything from the above rambling, I hope it’s that you realize life is full of unexpected challenges that will prevent us from pursuing our absolute happiness. We can’t avoid them, but we can be strong enough to accept that distractions will happen, deal with them with strength and confidence, and then find a deeper motivation to grab hold of the time we can and be our most productive selves.

Don’t create barriers for yourself. Believe in yourself and find the courage to succeed.


What are your thoughts on the distractions in life? How do you deal with those unexpected moments that interfere with your pursuits? Leave a comment and let’s share encouragement.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

10 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Twenty-Second

  1. How do I deal with distractions? I own them. I don’t struggle against them, but instead take them as reasons to not write when I think I should. I know that what I think isn’t always correct (and this may just be one of those times), so when I think I should be writing, perhaps I shouldn’t be, and maybe that’s where those distractions come in; they keep me from writing when I shouldn’t.

    And that’s not only for positive distractions, but negative ones as well. And both positive and negative distractions are experiences that can be used in my writing in some way. When I write a scene following a negative distraction, for instance, that scene will turn out different from if I had written it without said negative distraction getting in the way, because my mind is in a different place from where it was before the distraction. There have been a number of times in which I wrote something and then thought to myself, “Wow, I could not have written that if this other thing hadn’t happened first.”

    But that’s just me, and you may take a different approach or have a different view, and that’s okay. There’s no one way to look at life. From my perspective, there’s currently over 7 billion ways to do that.

    Anyway, I hope whatever you’re going through turns out okay, I hope you end up doing very well, and if you ever need a friendly ear to listen to whatever you want to talk about, you’re welcome to contact me. What’s totally cool is that I actually have two friendly ears, and they both can listen.

    Actually, if you’re contacting me through email or something text-based, then it would be my eyes that are listening. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment. You make a lot of great points that I’ll definitely keep in mind.
      Sorry for taking so long to get back to you. And thanks for your offer to listen. I appreciate it 🙂
      Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to have blog posts scheduled like clock work, and it was getting harder and harder to roll out writing exercises and musings on time. It actually became a bit of a chore and that’s not what I wanted of my blog experience. Now, I post as and when. Even my writing exercises are not regular because other commitments always pop up when I least expect them. That’s not to say I won’t start weekly writing exercises again, but at the moment, it’s more fun this way, and my followers list is continuing to grow. 🙂

    I hope you find a balance that suits you. No matter what you decide, we’ll all still be here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 😦 I’m sorry to hear this, Faith. It’s easy to get wrapped up in stress and fear when things start to snowball. I know the feeling, because I’ve done the same to myself sometimes. (I can get really stuck on imagining worst-case scenarios, for example – which never improves or calms a situation!)

    But like you said, you’ve gotten better at recognizing when you fall into this pattern, and now you need to spend time recovering and getting back on track. And I fully believe that you can. Taking things as they come can be difficult – but know that you can get through it. Even if you have to take a day off from writing or blogging to get it done, that’s OK.

    I was at a point last week when I began to realize that, because of things outside of my control, it’s possible that my next Character Evolution File might not be ready to post next Tuesday. I freaked out about it at first (because I hate missing deadlines, either self-imposed or directed by others). But then I realized, it’s OK. Just focus on finishing it; and if you need to reschedule it, it’s not the end of the world. Readers will understand.

    If people enjoy your blog, they’ll come whenever you post something new. No one is going to look down on you because life got in the way and you’ve fallen behind on things. (And if they do, then they’re not human, so :p to them. *lol*) Focus on yourself and getting back on track first, Faith. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Life comes at us fast paced and more often than not, at inconvenient times. I have realised over the last year of solidly striving to write or read everyday, that it is a near impossible achievement. I now try to stick to a plan, and if something comes up, I look forward to the next opportunity to make things right. Sometimes, it just isn’t meant to be. It can be disheartening but will lead to more opportunities.

    You are an amazingly gifted writer that is achieving so much with the projects that you have on. Don’t feel bad if you don’t blog, we will be hear waiting 🙂

    I hope that you are well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you’re all right, Faith. I know I’m quite late mcatching up since life got in the way for me as well, but if you need to talk about anything or just ramble while I throw cats at you, let me know ❤ No one should struggle alone, no matter what it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

