This Week in Review | The Twenty-First

Good Monday All,

It’s been a hectic last week for me, busy with my projects and the inconsistencies of life. Here’s just an overview for your consideration 🙂


ON MY BLOG

Reviews: Inferno & A Wrinkle in Time 

WWW Wednesday

Friday Farewell

IN WRITING

Yesterday evening, I finished writing the last of three new chapters for Heritage, all by hand. Not only was the feeling of writing liberating, but it was a pleasure to dive into Peggie’s head and write from her perspective for the first time, not editing third person to first.

I also managed a really in-depth edit of the first act of my screenplay. I’m really proud of some of it, but I’m worried I’m trying to cover too much in one script. I’ll see how the rest of the edits go and then decide.

Lastly, I’ve made some progress outlining a new project — I mentioned it last week. It’s going well so far. I love it so far and I’m excited for the day when it’s solidified and I can share it with you all!

IN ENTERTAINMENT

In the business of life, I managed to find time to watch Clue with my sister. I have watched this film a good four times already, but it’s been awhile since the last time.

A cult classic, a perfectly quirky black comedy. The ensemble is such a eclectic group of people led by the hilarious Tim Curry. If you haven’t delighted in this clever little film, I highly recommend you try. Here’s the trailer, in case you need a little more convincing:

 

I also managed to finally watch the finale of Game of Thrones. As someone who’s read the books, this season has been a rollercoaster of emotion. But nothing can possibly compare to this explosive finale! Not only was it a whirlwind of nasty plot twists and sudden deaths, but it was also a cinematographic spectacle. From the opening scene to the closing one. Just a masterpiece in storytelling and filmmaking. Next season please 🙂 Or next book. Whichever comes first…. Bets anyone?

IN MY LIFE

I’ve been rather engaged this week with two wakes and a wedding. All it was missing were Andy McDowell and Hugh Grant.

The two deaths were related to coworkers. One woman lost her mother, another her father. The mother was her nineties. The father had just been diagnosed with throat cancer less than a month ago.

Life is fragile. That’s what these moments remind me of. Anything can happen from day to day. We should never take the time we have been given for granted.

After going to one Monday afternoon and another Friday, it was a joy to be able to attend the wedding of two of my friends on Saturday. My sister and I attended the mass together in the afternoon. It was such a beautiful ceremony and attended by a good two hundred people. It really had me thinking about what my own wedding might look like one day…

We also attended the reception that night. There were close to three hundred people in attendance. It started out being such a great event, but then I ended up getting sick and had to leave early, which was a really big bummer, because we were having such a wonderful time and I wanted nothing more than to stay and dance the night away. Oh well… there will be other weddings.

We enjoyed the time we did have, though. And I will not regret what could have been, but remember most happily what was 🙂

Now, I’ll just leave you with a cute video that my sister just passed onto me 🙂


How was your last week? Anything exciting happen? What was the last wedding you attended like? Was it a big affair? Or small, intimate setting? I’d love to chat 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith   quill-ink

5 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Twenty-First

  1. I really want to see Clue! I love the board game and played it for the first time in ages yesterday. I could probably find a DVD version easily enough on Amazon, right?

    I’m actually going to be in a wedding in September. (*tries not to freak out about it*) It’s for my best friend from high school, and I’m one of the bridesmaids. The thing is, all of the planning has happened so quickly – they got engaged on New Years Eve, and are getting married during the first weekend of September. So I’m trying to stay on top of whatever things I need to do without stressing out too much. :S

    Sorry to hear you’ve had to go to a couple wakes lately. Those are always sad, no matter who they’re for. And good job with all of your writing projects this past week. Keep it up. 🙂

    Like

  2. Such an emotional week! :/ I hear about so many people dying recently, it really makes you worry. I don’t know if I just notice it more now than I used to or if there are simply more deaths this year, but it feels like there’s been a lot :/
    Well done on getting the editing done! It’s great that you enjoy writing Heritage again, too, I can’t wait to read it ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

