Half a Report | 2016 So Far

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Hope you’re all well and enjoying this, the first day of June!

I still can’t believe that half the year has already flown by. It seems like so much has already happened, but in truth nothing has really come to pass at all!

And yet, as we stand upon the precipice of the second half of 2016, enough has transpired (and changed) to inspire me to present for your observation, a report not only of the year so far, but of the way the rest of it is shaping up as well!

2016 So Far:

According to my original goal layout

  1. Blogging Habits: FAIL! – not the nicest way to put it, but the honest truth ๐Ÿ˜› In my quest to fulfill other necessary successes, I’ve let my blog slip out of control. I’m disappointed in myself. I really wanted this blog to be somewhere special where I could draw people in and share stories and ideas. I’ll have to apologize to my faithful readers for the slack.
  2. Reading Aspirations: PASS!Something I feel rather proud of. Coming into June, I find myself ahead of schedule, with a grand total of 54 books read and the chance of having two more completed by the end of the week! So yay!
  3. Travel Dreams: N/A – My original goal was to fly for the first time. This hasn’t happened yet, but I wasn’t expecting that it would. The planned flight is for October. So there’s still hope for this one.
  4. Film Fantasies: N/AI’m not going to be harsh on myself or present a pessimistic view on this goal that I set out with the knowledge that it would be the least likely accomplished. Since January, my goals have changed drastically (more on that below). But I won’t discount it anyway.
  5. Publication Pursuit: N/A FAIL! – N/AErgh! What to do with this one! By all accounts, I haven’t published yet, so I should mark it as a fail. But by the same token, I hadn’t really expected to be published by June. The problem is that I’m starting to think I might not get it done by the end of the year. I can feel the doubt creeping in, that emotion that tells me Pirate Eyes isn’t ready. That I should hold on another year. And I don’t know if that’s me lacking confidence, or me being honest with myself….

2016 Present:

What I’m Up to Now

  1. Surviving the heat of a non-A/C house in 32ยบC weather – and the weather is cooling, so the worst should be over now. And June 8th is just a week away ๐Ÿ˜€
  2. Pirate Eyes Progress: Out of my hands. My sister’s going to get back to me by the end of June. And then we’ll see where my baby will go!
  3. Primary Focus:ย At the moment, I’m editing through my first draft of a dark screenplay adaptation of a beloved fairy tale. I’ll leave it at that for now — I like my secretiveness too much — but I’ll expand more once I have a decent draft going.

2016 to Come

What are my amended goals:

  1. Publish my first book:ย I’m going to leave it open like that! My plans withย Pirate Eyes are not to necessarily self-publish. I’m going to try the query route to start and see if that leads to anything. I do have my 2015 NaNoWriMo novelย Heritage which I’m planning to do an edit of this June and hopefully have a final draft of by September. If I can accomplish this, I might just self-publish it.
  2. Sell my first screenplay:ย That dark screenplay adaptation I was telling you about, well, my ultimate goal for it is to option it to a production company. The final draft should be done by the end of June. I’m also hoping to submit it to a fewย contests before the end of the year and see where that goes.
  3. Offer editing services:ย Okay, so this is a big one I’ve been holding close to my chest, but I’m looking to break into freelance editing and I’m hoping to have a site set up for it by the end of the year. I’m anticipating a lot of work, but I want to devote my life to the written word.
  4. Blog Habits:ย I’m hoping to reinstateย This Week in Review posts on Monday, recapping the week before.ย WWW Wednesdayย posts are working well so far, so that should be a continued certainty. I’m also hoping to try to post at least one short story every two weeks. And in July, I have plans for a new post series. I won’t say more about it until I set logistics, but look for more info coming later in the month.
  5. Travel Abroad: I’m going to keep this goal as is. October. My sister and I. England and Scotland! And maybe Ireland. Oh, why not Wales as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well, that’s my report for this halfway mark of 2016. Thanks for stopping by and for your continued support.

In the past half year I’ve also passed 100 followers on my blog. I hope to keep growing and reach 200 by the end. But that’s not a goal. It’s only a wish ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you all for your continued support and encouragement. You are true gems and I am blessed to know you โค

How has your year been so far? Have you met your goals yet? Do you have any aspirations for the rest of the year? I’d love to hear about it ๐Ÿ™‚

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith ย quill-ink

 

6 thoughts on “Half a Report | 2016 So Far

  1. *realizes she isn’t officially following Faith yet*

    *blushes, then clicks “Follow”*

    Anyways… you’ve had a good start to 2016, IMO. You might not have achieved everything you wanted to achieve at this point, but you’re making progress, and that counts just as much. I look forward to seeing what the rest of this year holds for you, Faith!

    Don’t be too hard on yourself re: blogging habits, btw. You know the decision I recently came to about my blog, so the subject has been on my mind, too. And honestly, if people like your blog, they’ll come back whenever you post something new. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    As for my goals… I finished Draft #2 of my WIP (yay!) and am now on Draft #3. If I finish it before the end of the year, that’ll be great. If it spills over into January, that’s fine – because I’ll finish it either way. I’m also going to Writer’s Digest Conference in NYC again in August. I was hoping to pitch TKC to agents then, but it won’t be ready in time. Maybe that’s a goal for next year?

    Like

  2. Nonsense, Faith, your blog *is* special! It’s full of inspiration, even if you don’t post all the time! โค
    Don't worry about when you'll publish, your book takes as long as it takes ๐Ÿ™‚ It'll be very worth waiting for.
    This is such an exciting year for you! All the best for all outstanding plans ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I know exactly what you mean, I can't believe the first half of this year is already nearly over. The hell happened?? :O

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so kind to me ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m not in any rush. I have to be convinced that she’s ready before I publish anything ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope everything’s going well for you!

      Like

  3. I too find it hard to believe its June. You’ve accomplished a lot already this year and should be extremely proud! Your post has reminded me to take a look at my 2016 goals *yikes*. Keep being your wonderful self and you’ll achieve all you desire and more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

