WWW Wednesday | The Eighth

Happy Wednesday one and all!

As is customary, here’s my WWW Wednesday post for the week. Hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Wordsthese posts are a wonderful way to discover new books and new friends.

Why not join in? All you have to do is answer these three questions…

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll be reading next?

This is what my week looked like in bookish terms…


WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING

The Wisdomfold Path(The Song of Forgotten Stars, Book 2): by Kelly Sedinger

27971338 BLURB:

Continuing the story begun in STARDANCER, THE WISDOMFOLD PATH is a tale of sisters and brothers, of children and parents, of secrets and history, of lies and truths, of loss and love, of despair and hope…and of a ten-year-old girl rising above herself in ways she never thought possible.

Finally started the sequel to the wonderful Stardancer ( you can see my review for Stardancer here!) I’m getting a hang on this ereading 😉 I’m only a chapter in, but I’m glad to be able to catch up with the amazing characters that breathe life into this narrative 🙂

The Thirteen Hallows by Michael Scott and Collette Freedman

10740844Blurb:

The Hallows. Ancient artifacts imbued with a primal and deadly power. But are they protectors of this world, or the keys to its destruction?
For decades, the Keepers guarded these Hallows, keeping them safe and hidden and apart from each other. But now the Keepers are being brutally murdered, their prizes stolen, the ancient objects bathed in their blood.
With her dying breath, one of the Keepers convinces Sarah Miller, a practical stranger, to deliver her Hallow—a broken sword with devastating powers—to her American nephew, Owen.
The duo quickly become suspects in a series of murders as they are chased by both the police and the sadistic Dark Man and his nubile mistress.
The mystery leads Sarah and Owen on a cat-and-mouse chase through England and Wales, and history itself, as they discover that the sword may be the only thing standing between the world… and a horror beyond imagining.

Well that’s a long enough blurb 😛 I have to say that I went into this book really wanting to enjoy it, but 100 pages from the end, I find myself disappointed with the way the narrative has been told. Not that it’s a terrible read. It’s just not what I expected…

WHAT I RECENTLY FINISHED READING

O Jerusalem (Mary Russell #5) by Laurie R. King

6491121BLURB:

At the close of the year 1918, forced to flee England, Sherlock Holmes and his nineteen-year-old apprentice Mary Russell enter British-occupied Palestine under the auspices of Holmes’s enigmatic brother, Mycroft. Their arrival coincides with a rash of unsolved murders that has baffled the authorities and seems unrelated to the growing tensions in the area among Jew, Moslem, and Christian. Still, no one is too pleased at Holmes’s insistence on reconstructing the most recent homicide in the desert gully where it occurred.
What they unexpectedly uncover will lead Russell and Holmes through an exotic gauntlet of labyrinthine bazaars, verminous hovels, cliff-hung monasteries—and into mortal danger. In the jewel-like city of Jerusalem, they will at last meet their adversary, whose lust for power could reduce the city’s most ancient and sacred place to rubble and ignite a tinderbox of hostilities just waiting for a spark.…

My review for this one should be up at some point later today. I enjoyed it far more than I did The Moor, but there was still something lacking from the magic that I experienced in the first two novels. I can’t fault the writing, and the descriptions drawn of Jerusalem and Palestine were so vivid and just captivated me entirely. Part of the problem was probably the sluggish pace of the first 100 pages and the fact that Russell felt less like the protagonist of the story until the end. I’ll still be buying the next book and I know I’ll enjoy it regardless. As I said, King’s writing is an art.

Eric (Discworld #9): by Terry Pratchett

61642BLURB:

Eric is the Discworld’s only demonology hacker. The trouble is, he’s not very good at it. All he wants is the usual three wishes: to be immortal, rule the world and have the most beautiful woman fall madly in love with him. The usual stuff. But what he gets is Rincewind, and Rincewind’s Luggage into the bargain. Terry Pratchett’s hilarious take on the Faust legend stars many of the Discworld’s’most popular characters in an outrageous adventure that will leave Eric wishing once more – this time, quite fervently, that he’d never been born .

I’ll be posting a review for this one by tomorrow (hopefully). For now, I’ll say that it definitely wasn’t my favourite for a few reasons I’ll save for the full review. But it’s hard to deny the humour that still exceeds expectations and the sheer delight of reading a Pratchett novel 🙂

WHAT I KNOW I’LL BE READING NEXT

So I thought I knew last week, but things change 🙂

Visions of Zarua by Suzanne Rogerson

27392687Blurb:

Two wizards, 350 years apart. Together they must save the realm of Paltria from Zarua’s dark past.
An ancient darkness haunts the realm of Paltria.  Apprentice wizard Paddren is plagued by visions of a city on the brink of annihilation. When his master Kalesh dies in mysterious circumstances, the Royal Order of Wizards refuses to investigate.  Helped by his childhood friend, the skilled tracker Varnia, and her lover Leyoch, Paddren vows to find the killer.
The investigation leads Paddren down a sinister path of assassins, secret sects and creatures conjured by blood magic. But he is guided by a connection with a wizard from centuries ago – a wizard whose history holds the key to the horror at the heart of the abandoned city of Zarua. Can Paddren decipher his visions in time to save the Paltrian people from the dark menace of Zarua’s past?

This is a new development as of yesterday. Suzanne was putting out feelers for readers to delight in her novel and review honestly in return. I was only too glad to volunteer. I received the ebook just this morning (did I mention I’m getting into the ereading thing 😉  and I’ll be starting it once I’m done The Wisdomfold Path. Can’t wait!

High Rise by J.G. Ballard

25394500Blurb:

When a class war erupts inside a luxurious apartment block, modern elevators become violent battlegrounds and cocktail parties degenerate into marauding attacks on “enemy” floors. In this visionary tale, human society slips into violent reverse as once-peaceful residents, driven by primal urges, re-create a world ruled by the laws of the jungle.

Another new development. I bought the book last week at Chapters and I’m eager to dive into it. The only cover they had was the movie one, not that I’m complaining….


Well that’s it for me today!

ICYMI: I’m hosting a giveaway at the moment with a chance to win one of FIVE copies of Sarina Langer’s newly released fantasy epic: Rise of the Sparrows! Why not enter?

What are you reading? What have you read? What will you be reading?

Let me know in the comments or post a link to your WWW so I can see for myself!

Happy Reading 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | The Eighth

  1. I agree about Eric – it certainly is one of the more “forgettable” installments in the Discworld series. But then, as you say, anything by TP is amusing and contains such humour and wisdom.

    I have High Rise on my to read list – it sounds dark and odd and I’m pretty sure I’ll love it! Doesn’t hurt to have Mr Hiddleston on the cover of any book as far as I’m concerned 😉

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/05/25/www-wednesday-25th-may-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been reading them in publication order so far and it works well for me. Of course, you don’t have to read every single one. Some of the stories are somewhat sequels of those that came before (they have recurring characters). The first books might not be the best, but they’re still enjoyable enough. Hope that doesn’t confuse you more 🙂 Happy Reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never heard of High Rise and didn’t know it was a movie. I have mixed feelings on movie covers. I wonder how the earlier cover was on this one. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The earlier cover is really nice and I usually have a hate relationship with movie covers as well, but it was on sale at Chapters when I went and I can’t really hate the fact that Tom Hiddleston is on the cover… I’m weak in some ways ;P
      Happy Reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your books sound interesting,not a genre that I have ever read though.I always see interesting blurbs for fantasy novels but never actually read one.Someday though 🙂 Happy reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

