Tuesday Troubles | A Small Update

Hi everyone,

I’ve been far too silent on this blog lately. Sorry about that ๐Ÿ˜›

I haven’t been feeling extremely well lately and today my throat decided to flame up like the Human Torch. So it’s a sick day for me. Despite the grogginess, I figured it would be a good idea to let you all know that I’m still alive and what I’ve been up to.

After submitting to #FicFest, I was introduced to an amazing group of people and even though I didn’t get chosen as a mentee, I gained new insight on publication and attracting an agent that I know will be extremely helpful in the long run.

So I’ve been busy making some additional edits ofย Pirate Eyes. I have one final chapter to edit today and then I’m FINALLY passing it onto my sister for her approval. I haven’t forgotten about everyone who has offered to beta-read for me. I’ll be coming for you soon too ๐Ÿ˜‰

In the meantime, I’m considering entering #QueryKombat which is a similar contest to #FicFest. I figured I might as well keep putting myself out there and something will happen eventually!

There was a time when I refused to enter contests because I was always certain that it would be a waste of time. There was no way I could win.

Then, about three years back, I had an epiphany. I was always worried about why it couldn’t be me that I had never stopped to ask myself, Well whyย shouldn’tย it be me? Someone has to win. Why shouldn’t that someone be me. Ever since, I’ve decided to always try if I feel that a contest or any other opportunity might be beneficial in the long run. If I don’t believe in myself, than I fail myself. I can’t lose if I enter and don’t make it.

I hope that makes sense to you. If you’ll take away anything from this, it should be: believe in yourself and don’t doubt that you are amazing. Enough people can do that for you. It’s your story and it’s beautiful because it is yours. So take a chance on it and on yourself โค

That’s really it for me. I’ll be back tomorrow with my usual WWW Wednesday and hopefully a few short stories will follow in turn ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a very tinyย snippetย fromย Pirate Eyesย from something I was editing yesterday.

Keira rose and hurried to his side. She took the manโ€™s hand in hers. He glanced up and their eyes met. She sought not to see through his, only to show him that there was nothing but compassion for him in her own. โ€œI was worried you would see me as a monster for what I did.โ€

Lyn shook his head. โ€œNay, lass.โ€ He chuckled softly and squeezed the hand that held his own. โ€œYe are pure in me eyes.โ€

And here’s a question: have you ever entered or considered entering a writing contest? If you did, was it worth it? If you didn’t, what held you back?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith ย  ย quill-ink

ยฉ Faith Rivens. 2016.

11 thoughts on “Tuesday Troubles | A Small Update

  1. I usually don’t enter contests unless If eel like I actually have a chance. That said, I did research on the judges for FicFest and being that 1 in 9 of them actually would even remotely consider a Christina fiction piece kind of turned me off. UNTIL my husband said, “probably every other christian author thinks the same thing, so they won’t enter either. So your competition will be a lot less.” So there is that ๐Ÿ™‚
    I was just going to ask you about FicFest! I’m glad it was beneficial and fun for you!!
    Another thing I do look for in contests is if there will be any feedback BEFORE the winner is announced, such as are their multiple rounds that you go through. I rarely consider any contest that you have to pay to enter. (counterproductive??) But I did enter one a while back that cost $25 and it was fine I suppose, I got feedback on my first chapter, scored a bunch of 7, 8 and 9s. Several years back I entered my YA action adventure into a contest and received extensive feedback. I made the top 10 so that was fun! Did not win, rather disappointed, but overall, again, feedback is the most important thing to me.

    Like

  2. I’ve never entered a writing contest, but there’s nothing to say I won’t. We’ve got to believe in ourselves, otherwise who else is gonna, right? You can do whatever you set out to do, and have no regrets ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Sorry you’re not feeling well. Hope you feel better soon. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I entered in one, or two in my teens, but never won any. Been considering doing more, but I never even hear about them until they’ve started.
    I like your excerpt from Pirate Eyes. Good luck in #QueryKombat.

    Like

  4. I’ve never entered a writing contest but have entered other types of contests. If you don’t enter then you’re assured not to win. But if you do, then there’s always a chance. Nothing ventured nothing gained. As long as you’re learning and growing, then it’s worth the risk. I say go for it. I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed for you!! Hope your throat feels better!! HUGS!!!

    Like

  5. I’ve entered a couple of contests. In fact, I’m keeping everything crossed for one at the moment… the jury’s out until the end of June, but even coming runner up would be fantastic because it’s something to put on those submission letters to agents which must make your letter stand out from all the others.
    Besides, as you say, someone has to win these things!
    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Like

  6. I… couldn’t tell you the last time I entered a writing contest. :S It’s not because I don’t want to, or I think I don’t stand a chance. It’s just that I haven’t had the luck of having something ready to submit for the deadline. It’s a big reason why I haven’t pitched TKC or submitted draft query letters for it – the story’s not close enough to “done” yet, and I don’t want to give people the impression that it is.

    On a different note, I hope you feel better soon. Get lots of rest, and drink lots of tea!

    Awww, that’s a sweet excerpt from Pirate Eyes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Love the little snippet ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have entered in to contests before, never won but it I wouldn’t know if I hadn’t entered. It’s always worth giving 100 percent and then if you lose out, it propels you to better yourself.
    I rarely find a contest that offers feedback but they are the best type ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

