A Pirate Eyes Update | Camp NaNo & Beyond!

Hi everyone,

I’ve been steadily catching up this past week after an amazing but exhausting ten days spent with my Australian cousin. I’m actually really proud of what I’ve accomplished and I thought I’d just post a little update to let you know how it’s going.

I had edited up to chapter 7 in Pirate Eyes before the 2nd of April. After a needed day of rest on the 13th, I leapt back into my edits and yesterday I finished editing chapter 23 of 40! Of course, this is all just on a hard copy. I still need to type all of it up once I’m done, but I have no doubt that I’ll be able to reach that goal by the end of Camp NanoWriMo on April 3oth.

This success means that I’ll be able to pass my manuscript to my sister on May 1st for her final approval. It also means that I’ll be looking for some beta readers in May.

I’ve been thinking a lot about having people beta read Pirate Eyes. I know that many of you have reached out in the past with an interest in helping me for which I can only express the sincerest gratitude! It means so much to me to have your support in this way. I hate to turn anyone away, but I really want to keep my number of beta readers to a minimum, maybe 2 or 3 at most. I’ll be posting more about this next week, but I just want to give people a head’s up. If you think you’ll have time in May to read a rather hefty novel (probably around 120k words) & have a liking for stories in the fantasy genre, keep your eyes peeled.

Since I’ll be settingΒ Pirate EyesΒ aside in May, I’m hoping to use that month to turn to some old stories & screenplays and clean them up. I’m also hoping to be able to get control of this blog which I often find myself pushing to end of my priority list. I have so many wonderful followers and I never mean to come across as abandoning you. My apologies if you’ve felt my neglect. I already have two more blog posts ready for this week so here’s to more consistent blogging πŸ™‚

That’s it for now really. Just a check in to say I’m alive and working hard at my passion. I hope you’re pursuing yours the same!

Before I say farewell for now, here’s a tiny excerpt from yesterday’s edits.

Beyond the city, the land was leveled and open. The mountains rose to their left, the waves of the sea rolling against the shore to their right. There was no protection on this path, nowhere to hide as they strode, bathed in the luminous moonlight. Trepidation twisted at Keira’s heart and she glanced back every few seconds, fretting that they would be discovered.

James reached for her hand and squeezed it. β€œWe’ll be just fine.”

Keira tore her gaze away from the city disappearing behind her to glance at the ocean. The sound of the water lapping against the land proved more comforting than any voice, or promise of safety. It brought back memories of security that helped to relax her nerves. She breathed in deep, trying to catch a scent of the salty breeze.

There it was.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

FaithΒ Β Β  quill-ink

Β Β© Faith Rivens 2016.

3 thoughts on “A Pirate Eyes Update | Camp NaNo & Beyond!

  1. Awesome! Good for you, Faith. πŸ™‚ I’m guessing you must be a few chapters closer to done since this post went live?

    I’d definitely be interested in beta-reading Pirate Eyes. The only thing is, I’m kind of a slow beta-reader… partly because I’m a slow reader to begin with, and partly because I tend to give thorough comments / constructive feedback. If it’s 120K… I might be able to get it back to you sometime in June, if that’s OK? But if it might not work for you, then I totally understand. Let me know either way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

