The Sweet Sorrow of Fond Farewells

Good Morning Everyone,

After ten beautiful days, my family has bid farewell to our cousin from Australia.

My life in the past few days has been irrevocably altered. This is the second time that we have met, but the first time he had only come for four days. Though we were able to form an instant bond in that short period, this longer sojourn brought us even closer together. And so today, I face a bittersweet reality.

For the past 10 days I’ve been busy entertaining, traveling, shopping, eating out, just talking. Doing little things together and strengthening our family relationship. In that time, I’ve had no time to do writing or reading or any of the usual things I do. Up at 7:00 AM and on the go until 12:ooPM (sometimes even 1:00AM), it’s been a week of little sleep but lots of fun. And though I haven’t had time to myself, I would not trade the last ten days for anything.

I was granted such new perspective on life these last few days & I have come to realize that I’ve spent most of my living years only existing. Our cousin has brought such joy into our lives & he has helped to renew my spirit and open my eyes to what it truly means to live life fully, never taking a moment for granted, never letting an opportunity slip by. To be fearless, but not reckless.

Being able to come back to my normal routine has its benefits, and I’m excited to jump back into editing Pirate Eyes but it comes with a heavy price. The tears shed as we said our goodbyes this morning were true. It’s hard to see our cousin return home, especially when that home is such a long way off.

I hope to be able to make it to Australia one day and visit his family. The unconditional love that I have been blessed with is something I will carry in my heart always. I have never met a more beautiful soul, a more kind spirit. He is the best of people and I will cherish the time spent with him. I thank God for these 10 days.

Over the next few days, I’ll be reorienting my life, catching up on the blogs I follow and trying to catch up on Camp NaNoWriMo, trying to catch up on sleep ;P

Thank you everyone for your patience and understanding these last few days. We all have priorities in life and while this blog and my writing is near the top, there is nothing that matters more to me than family.

I wish you all many blessings & love & that you too might be fortunate enough to meet someone in your life who can help you see life in a different light, to help you embrace what it truly means to live and love. ❀

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

 

4 thoughts on “The Sweet Sorrow of Fond Farewells

  1. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time with your cousin. Family is extremely important and the time you spent with him with be something you cherish for the rest of your life. Good luck catching up on everything, I’m sure you’ll be back on top of things in no time. It will be nice to have you back around. You’ve been missed πŸ˜€ Take care of yourself, my dear! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s wonderful when someone like that enters your life, your cousin sounds like an amazing person. I’m glad you got that chance to catch up, I’ve got my fingers crossed that you’ll visit his family in Australia one day!
    Knowing you I’m sure it won’t take you long to catch up πŸ™‚ Don’t rush back into things, take your time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

