This Week in Review | Divided Draft Edition

Good Morning Everyone,

I was really hoping that the next time I came here to post I would be able to say:

I FINISHED THIS REVISION OF THE DIVIDED DRAFT!

happy doctor who matt smith excited happy dance

As it were, I’m still wading through the waters and growing ever more aware that the next edit is going to be a rough one… alas!

So the truth is:

I STILL HAVEN’T FINISHED THIS REVISION OF THE DIVIDED DRAFT!

princess bride

But all hope is not lost. And my spirits are still extremely high.

I’ve really neglected my blog these last few weeks, only sporadically posting for which I really should apologize. I’ve meant to post more than I have but with work & trying to finish these edits, I’ve been struggling to stay on top of everything. Oh well, I’m only human.

That said, I know that this draft will be done before the end of March. I’ve gotten to a place where I know for sure where my new ending has to go and most of it is already written. I’m hoping another 10k will cover it because right now I’m at 113k …oh how the knife is going to fall in the next editing round (that’s my Camp NaNoWriMo goal so this revision needs to be done before April 1st). I might need to invest in a solid axe…

Anyway, I’m just itching to be done this draft so I can start my last editing before passing on to beta readers. Yes, you read that right. Beta Readers πŸ™‚

On a good note, I pitched my story recently and was asked to send a query, so I’m kind of excited — nay! jumping up and down — over that. I’ve been thinking of indie publishing, but if I can pursue a traditional course, I might just try.

Here’s a question for you : would you consider indie publishing or are you more for the traditional publishing route?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith Β  quill-ink

13 thoughts on “This Week in Review | Divided Draft Edition

  1. That’s fantastic news, congratulations! I’ll be self-publishing as you know, but if a chance like that came my way I wouldn’t turn it down! Or would I? I haven’t really thought about it because I was always going to self-publish this trilogy. Anyways, go for it!!! Enjoy yourself and celebrate, you’ve earned it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hooray! Fingers crossed that more comes out of the query request πŸ™‚ And good luck if you have to write a synopsis (harder than writing the book… weirdly).
    I think it’s always worth trying traditional. If, for no other reason, than it would be lovely to have the marketing and legal support a traditional publisher would bring. If not though, indie is the way forward πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a tough question that I’ve been trying to figure out the answer to for many months now. My husband says why is it taking so long, why not send it out? I say…I DON’T KNOW lol. If you indie-publish, you have to do all the marketing yourself ugh I don’t know if I’m ready for that tough road. Congratulations on the request for a query that’s exciting! Lots of exciting steps you’re embarking on, congrats! I have been thinking, if I ever get around to editing my YA action adventure, I’ll look for you to beta (if you want) because it’s story is something I think you’d be interested in and have knowledge about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

