WWW Wednesday | March 16th – The 1st

Hi everyone!

So somehow I completely lost track of myself this week and only realized today that I forgot to do a Week in Review. So, I figured that I would try my hand at something I’ve been meaning to do but haven’t: WWW Wednesday.

If you haven’t heard about it, you can find out more about it here at Taking on a World of Words. Hosted by Sam, WWW Wednesday is a great opportunity to share your reading experience. All you have to do is answer three questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What have you recently finished reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

If you want to take part, remember to link back to Sam’s original post and check out other people’s answers. It’s a great way to create an expansive TBR list — because I don’t have one already ;P


What I Am Currently Reading:

First, The Siblings ARC as written and provided to me by the very talented Al whom you should and must and promise me you will check out HERE!!

I have been anticipating this moment for some time, since he posted his first short only a few short months ago. And now the moment is here and I am dancing up and down!

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/514jcoHACjL._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman

These stories will dazzle your senses, haunt your imagination and move you to the very depths of your soul. This extraordinary compilation reveals one of the world’s most gifted storytellers at the height of his powers.

A collection of short stories, I’m working through it slowly in-between books. So far, I’m dazzled, but I have a big soft spot for Gaiman so don’t trust my word alone. Instead, trust the blurb 😉

That being said, if you’ve never read anything of Gaiman’s, you are missing out on something amazing…

 

https://i0.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1407772906l/21853645.jpgMightier than the Sword by Jeffrey Archer

A bomb goes off, but how many passengers on the MV Buckingham have lost their lives? You will find out only if you read the opening chapter of Mightier than the Sword.

I just started this fifth volume in the Clifton Chronicles last night just to find out what happened. All I can say is the blurb lies. Of course, that doesn’t take away from the fact that this it is still well written and engaging. Again, I’m only two chapters in, so I can’t say much, but I expect to enjoy it as well as I did its predecessors.

 

What I Have Recently Finished Reading:

2074939The Moor by Laurie R. King

In the eerie wasteland of Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes summons Mary Russell from her studies at Oxford to aid the investigation of a death and some disturbing phenomena of a decidedly supernatural origin. Through the mists of the moor there have been sightings of a spectral coach made of bones carrying a woman long-ago accused of murdering her husband–and of a hound with a single glowing eye. Returning to the scene of one of his most celebrated cases, The Hound of the Baskervilles, Holmes and Russell investigate a mystery darker and more unforgiving than the moors themselves.

I have loved the books in this series so far. Mary Russell is a well crafted protagonist and King’s writing style is so profound and graceful. I wanted to enjoy this installment as well, but found it to be rather lacking in an essential element of any story: stakes. It was an interesting story and I was captivated by King’s descriptions of the despairing moor. It was a solid mystery, but I never felt as though the characters were in any real peril or that it mattered if the mystery was solved or not until the very end.

Have Wheels Will Travel, Look Before You Leap & The Pen is Mightier than the Sword by Anne Mazer:

Phew! That’s books 4, 5 & 6 in the Amazing Days of Abby Hayes series. I’m having such fun24307 rereading these in-between my larger novels. I finish most of them in under an hour so their really pleasure reads that remind me of innocent days and small problems.

I’ll just pass on the blurb and title of the most recent one:

When Abby’s class starts a newspaper, Abby envisions herself as the star reporter. But she’s only given an advice column to write – and that is not good. (Dear Abby isn’t her first choice in nicknames!) Just as she suspects, the column gets Abby in some trouble with her classmates. But, surprisingly, it also gives her a chance to help a friend.

Pyramids by Terry Pratchett:

386373

It’s bad enough being new on the job, but Teppic hasn’t a clue as to what a pharaoh is supposed to do. After all, he’s been trained at Ankh-Morpork’s famed assassins’ school, across the sea from the Kingdom of the Sun. First, there’s the monumental task of building a suitable resting place for Dad — a pyramid to end all pyramids. Then there are the myriad administrative duties, such as dealing with mad priests, sacred crocodiles, and marching mummies. And to top it all off, the adolescent pharaoh discovers deceit, betrayal – not to mention a headstrong handmaiden – at the heart of his realm.

While far from my favourite in the Discworld series so far, it was still an enjoyable read, full of the usual charm & wit that marks Pratchett’s work. I think it was all the mathematical references that got my head spinning. Nevertheless, I was never bored while reading it and was impressed as always at how talented Pratchett reveals himself to be, able to shift between humourous tongue-and-cheek to profound musings on human existence. A master of literature, I hope you all find a moment in your lives to pick up at least one of his books. (Equal Rites, Mort & Wyrd Sisters are my favourites so far)!

AND FINALLY…

Brief Lives by Neil Gaiman:

11155134

Dream’s youngest sister, the loopy Delirium, convinces him to go on a quest for their missing brother, Destruction. But Dream may learn that the cost of finding his prodigal sibling is more than he can bear.

Honestly, I still don’t know how to put into words the emotions that this novel evoke for me. The ninth in the Sandman graphic novel series, it captivated me from the get go and held on tight until the last page, and even then refused to let me go. I’m fairly sure I dreamt of Morpheus last night, that’s how affected I was.

Gaiman is one of my favourite authors. He always creates these fantastical stories with characters that are so painfully human. This collection put him through so much pain that my heart broke for him. There aren’t many books that have captured me like this. A masterpiece. Truly.

What I KNOW I’ll Read Next:

I know the question is think, but I have no doubt as to the next book on my list.

Two Heads are Better than One by Anne Mazer (aka Abby Hayes #7):

236868Bet you didn’t see that coming 😉

When Abby is home sick with the flu, Ms. Kantor announces that the fifth grade will be participating in a science fair. It’s bad enough that Abby comes back to school with an unfortunate haircut, but it’s even worse that her science fair partner is… a boy!

I remember really enjoying this one when I was younger so I’m looking forward to it. Re-reading these books really makes me want to adapt them into a TV series….

After that, well…

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell:14800526

Elizabeth Gaskell’s compassionate, richly dramatic novel features one of the most original and fully-rounded female characters in Victorian fiction, Margaret Hale. It shows how, forced to move from the country to an industrial town, she develops a passionate sense of social justice, and a turbulent relationship with mill-owner John Thornton.

I have watched the miniseries adaptation (starring Daniela Denby‑Ashe & Richard Armitage) of this novel too many times to count and it’s high time I finally read the book. I know it’s going to be fantastic and I simply can’t wait for a good classic (it’ll be my first of the year – wow! That took long :P)


If you decide to post your own WWW Wednesday, link it in the comments so I can check it out.

Did I mention that you should check out the highly talented Al??

Happy Wednesday one & all! And Happy Reading 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

11 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | March 16th – The 1st

  1. I can’t for The Siblings to be out, and am excited to hear what you think of it!
    I guess that’s another two Gaiman novels I can add to my shelf ❤ I've only read Stardust and bought another three recently, but another two can't hurt ^^
    We have all the Discworld novels in my library (at least I think it's all of them) so I'm ashamed to say that I haven't read anywhere near half of them. I must get to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you enjoyed Gaiman’s graphic novel so much. I’ve only read one of his which I thought was okay, but I really liked ‘Good Omens’ that he did with Pratchett. That was a great read. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  3. I always enjoy reading Neil Gaiman, although I have never picked up his short stories before… I hope you’ll enjoy Mightier Than The Sword! I’ve only read one of his novels so far, but his writing is entertaining.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What is the Clifton Chronicles about? it sounds very intriguing. I’m currently looking for more fun stuff to read, even though I should really be focusing on writing/editing. But I do enjoy doing book reviews, it adds to my blog so ‘shrugs’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Clifton Chronicles is a series based on a family saga. It unfolds in the early 1900s following the life of Harry Clifton from boyhood. There are about seven books in the series. Really quick read with lots of twists and cruel cliffhangers.
      I think it’s good to find a balance between reading and writing. As long as it brings you joy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

