This Week in Review | The Fourteenth

Hi all,

This is coming later than my intention, but earlier today my mom got her fingers stuck in our garage door. One especially had a deep gash in it from where the door cut into her skin and we rushed to the hospital. We were turned away at two because there were too many people and ended up going to a pharmacist who could tell they weren’t broken and said that we just had to make sure there wasn’t any infection. So we’ll have to keep an eye for the next few days. Can you imagine, though? Being turned away from hospital care because there isn’t enough room? What if someone was having a heart attack? Or was about to lose a hand?

Anyway, I just thank God that my mom’s injury wasn’t worse than that.

Now, let’s talk about what happened last week. It was a tough one, I’ve already mentioned in an earlier post how I was kept busy with a Lenten Mission which was truly an inspiration. I fell even further behind in my edits, but I’m not getting down on myself. I know I’ll catch up! Eventually…

Here are things I actually accomplished 😉


WHAT I READ:

It took a while, but I finished The Cuckoo’s Calling by JK Rowling…er… Robert Galbraith! i enjoyed it well enough. A little slow at the beginning and perhaps not the most thrilling mystery/crime novel I’ve ever read — not that I’m a big reader of the genre — honestly, I read it because it’s JK — but there was potential and the characters of Strike & Robin were interesting enough to keep my engaged. I’ll read the sequel for sure!

Last night, I was feeling a little tired so I turned to another Abby Hayes novel: Reach for the Stars. I have a feeling that I’ll be doing this often…turning to books of my childhood that are light and good breaks between heftier reads. I finished it in less than an hour. It might be cheating, but it’s still a novel. I actually really love this one because *SPOILERS*  it sees Abby pining to be part of a play, but instead is given the task of modernizing the script (she loves writing you see & journalling. A storyteller… she was an inspiration for me growing up). At the end, she gets a special call-out for it. I love that the writer gets recognition as well as the actors. A lot of time, that’s not the case. Anyway, I hope to get a chance to share these stories with daughters of my own one day…

I also started reading The Moor the fourth in the Mary Russell series by Laurie R. King. I’ve heard that it’s the weakest, so I’ve gone in with low expectations. About 100 pages in, I think i understand why it has a lower rating. It’s a little slow paced, and there isn’t much urgency in the case yet, nothing at stake. I’m hoping it picks up soon. I’ll finish it either way.

I also finished beta-reading Rise of the Sparrows by the dazzling Sarina Langer. Honestly, this girl has so much talent and potential and her future promises to be brilliant. Keep your eyes open. She’ll take the world by storm. In the meantime, look her up here at Cookie Break.

One final book to mention. I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced Reader’s copy of KJ Chapman’s sequel: EVO Shift (2nd in the EVO Nation series). A really exciting & emotional read full of beautiful characters with so much depth. Please check out KJ HERE!

Okay onto the next…

WHAT I WATCHED:

As always, Friday night provided my movie of the week, which was… TANGLED. Gosh darn, I love that Disney movie too much. We almost watched Beauty and the Beast but my sister & I figured we watch it so much already. It’s good to change things up a bit. It worked perfectly to unwind after a hard and long week. I just love the comedy adventure feel that it has. The humour is spot on. The colours are so vibrant. The music is infectious. And Flynn is well…

giphy (4).gif

Hm-hm! Yes. Tangled is definitely one of my favourite Disney movies. Makes me go through all the feels, if you know what I mean 🙂

That’s all. I almost watched Crimson Peak but that didn’t pan out. Hopefully this week it will because…

Seriously, though, Guillermo Del Toro is a brilliant director and the fact that the production design in this film is stunning, that he built a house from the ground up, is something to marvel at. Hopefully, next week I’ll be able to share more insight 🙂

WHAT I LISTENED TO:

What’s Going On by 4NonBlondes. I don’t know if anyone has watched Sense8, but there was a great scene that used this song. I forgot all about it since watching it a few months ago but rediscovered it recently, and I love running to it. Makes me want to dance.

Til it Happens to You by Lady GaGa. I mentioned her performance at the Oscars last week as a powerful one that moved me to near tears and sent shivers through my body. A song attached to a documentary about sexual abuse on American campuses, the song is an appeal for change and for true compassion. Can you truly walk in someone’s shoes if you haven’t experienced it? Sympathy is a gift itself, arms that know how to comfort without mouths needing to talk. Don’t find solutions when the problem is beyond your knowledge.  Just be there. And love.

WHAT INSPIRED ME:

The Lenten Diocesan Mission was a three-night foray into the inspirational! Mercy is a difficult thing to provide. It is difficult to forgive, to give it without conditions, without even needing to be apologized to. We all struggle with it. The parable of the Prodigal Son is such a beautiful story about a father welcoming his son home. I’ll share it here for you in case you haven’t read it before.

11 Jesus continued: “There was a man who had two sons. 12 The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.

13 “Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living.14 After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. 15 So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. 16 He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.

17 “When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinnedagainst heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father.

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.

25 “Meanwhile, the older son was in the field. When he came near the house, he heard music and dancing. 26 So he called one of the servants and asked him what was going on. 27 ‘Your brother has come,’ he replied, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’

28 “The older brother became angry and refused to go in. So his father went out and pleaded with him. 29 But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. 30 But when this son of yours who has squandered your propertywith prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’

31 “‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. 32 But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’”

– Luke 15:11-32


That’s all for me today, friends.

Have a beautiful week. Pursue your dreams, chase them into the horizon and beyond. You have such unique voices. Please don’t be afraid to have them be heard. Believe in yourselves & find the courage to shine 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

 

2 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Fourteenth

  1. Glad you Mum is okay. Terrible to hear that hospitals are having to tunr people away! I have The Cuckoo’s Calling in my TBR pile, and I’m hearing mixed opinions on it. I hope I enjoy it :/

    I second your comment about Sarina’s novel. The Rise of the Sparrows was a thrilling, fantasy read 🙂

    Lastly, thank you for the shout out. It’s much appreciated, and your support is a great motivator. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your Mum, and that the hospital turned you away! I’m glad she’s fine and it wasn’t more serious than that.

    You do me too much credit, Faith! Thank you! ❤ You've been an amazing beta reader and have contributed so much, and I love you for it!

    I loev Tangled, it's such a good film!

    The Cuckoo's Calling hasn't interested me. I love J.K of course, but I don't normally read this genre which is why I haven't felt like I should read it. Would you recommend it to someone who doesn't normall read crime?

    Like

Leave a Reply

