This Week in Review | The Thirteenth

Hi all,

This is a day later than it should be, but it’s been a pretty hectic weekend on my end. I’m so close to this revision of my WIP & I know that I can have it done by week’s end if I just become a hermit for the next few days.

I’ve fallen behind on responding and commenting and I apologize. I haven’t forgotten about my wonderful blogging friends. I promise to be caught up by next week. In the meantime, let me cheer each of you on !! Keep aspiring and persevering and shining your light bright!

In the meantime, here’s just a recap of this past week 🙂


WHAT I READ:

Not as much as last week…

The Key to Creation: the third (and last) book in the Terra Incognita series by Kevin J. Anderson. Honestly, this was somewhat of a disappointment. I enjoyed the series enough. There was a lot of worldbuilding, impressively well done, but I was somewhat underwhelmed by the pacing of this last book and the overwhelmed by the amount of characters. The last two hundred pages or so all took place within the same few days, but dragged on as it was told through the eyes of about ten different characters. No that’s not an exaggeration. Also, for a period of the book, it felt like every chapter ended on a low note and maybe it’s just where my mind was at, but it was all too depressing a read. At least, it ended on a high note.

Abby Hayes: Declaration of Independence by Anne Mazer. After Key to Creation I needed something light and fast so I picked up the 2nd book in the Abby Hayes series. I have a feeling this will be a recurring trend. Such a fun little read, I got through it under an hour. Abby is a great protagonist, endearing despite her flaws. A great read for young girls.

This week I’ve been beta-reading for Sarina at Cookie Break: Rise of the Sparrows, the 1st in the Relics of Ar’Zac series. I’m nearly done – actually, I’m quite frustrated with myself for not being done yet, but, well, life – and it has been such a joy so far. The characters are so well-drawn, the plot intriguing. Sarina is definitely an author to be on the lookout for. She’s crafted a great read here. I have a feeling that Rachael will be counted up there one day with the likes of Katniss & Hermione. You can find out more about the book here. I’ll be sure to post a review of it once I’m done.

I also just started reading The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling). I only started last night, so I’m not too far into it, but I’m enjoying it so far. A little slow maybe with introductions, but the way it’s written is engaging enough.

WHAT I WATCHED:

A film that I haven’t watched in a long time, and one I thing I loved more than I had the first time: Bend it Like Beckham (2002). Starring Parminder Nagra, Keira Knightly and Jonathan Rhys Meyers, it’s an empowering film for girls centered around an 18-year old Sikh girl who aspires to be a football (aka soccer) star despite the reservations of her family. If you haven’t seen this film, I highly recommend that you give it a try. A riot to watch and cemented by great performances all around.

The Oscars. I wasn’t expecting to, but am I sure I glad I did! Chris Rock was perfect! His opening monologue hit all the right notes and his continued appearances were always poignant. My cheeks hurt from laughing. Honestly, one of the best ceremonies in a long time. Lady Gaga’s performance of Til it Happens to You had me in shivers the entire time and left me misty-eyed. If you haven’t seen it, you should try to find it. A powerful number inspired by The Hunting Ground (a film about sexual abuse on college campuses in the States).

WHAT I LISTENED TO:

1. Bird Set Free by Sia: off her most recent album, this song always knows how to get me on my feet and be inspired to pursue my dreams.

2. Butterfly by Rajaton: a beautiful song that I have loved since high school. Rajaton is an a cappella group from Finland. The word “rajaton” means “boundless” and there is no better term to describe this song. It is a journey. Close your eyes and listen and let your soul travel. You will be inspired.

WHAT INSPIRED ME:

Each of you! You have all inspired me with your journeys as writers and storytellers and people. You are amazingly talented and you impressme every day with everything you accomplish. Never let anyone hold you back. You have a right to achieve your dreams. Pursue your bliss. All of your support and encouragement is helping me to achieve and pursue mine.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

4 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Thirteenth

  1. There you go again, doing me too much credit! How am I supposed to live up to praise like that? I’ll try my best, Faith ❤ Rachael and I both.
    Don't worry about it! I know the situation you're in, if you need to lock yourself away to get it done then I won't judge! Make sure you take some chocolate and some cookies. They help. And a cat, if you can, but don't steal one! (aren't you glad I clarified?)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve not heard of any of these books — besides The Cuckoos Calling which unfortunately I didn’t particularly like, thus why I put it down after 50%. I suppose it didn’t feel like a crime — or the ones I’m familiar with, like Jack Reacher — though this was when it was first released. So if I tried it again, I might have changed my tune.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

