Wordly Wise Wednesday | Plethora

Hello all,

After a week’s hiatus, WWW returns with a word inspired by Mollie at Mollie’s Musings. She mentioned that it was one of her favourite words and I agree! It’s such a fun word to say. If you haven’t already, I recommend that you go check her out at her blog HERE!

Now to our word of the week:


PLETHORA:

n. pleth·o·ra \ˈple-thə-rə\

  1. a very large amount or number : an amount that is much greater than what is necessary (i.e. excess, superfluity, profusion, abundance…)
  2. medical: a bodily condition characterized by an excess of blood and marked by turgescence and a reddish complexion

Etymology

1540s, a medical word for “excess of body fluid,” from Late Latin plethora, from Greek plethore “fullness,” from plethein “be full”.

Figurative meaning “too-muchness, overfullness in any respect” is first recorded 1700.


I followed him down the elongated staircase. It was a steep descent, but we were neither of us challenged by the arduous path to a most exquisite treasure.

He extended a hand as we reached the end. I did not take it. He smirked and strode on without a word.

It was a well-lit cove that we entered, the floor dry despite the river meandering along rocky ground.

He tread a well-known path, and I followed. The darkness did not encumber us. Our eyes were better suited to the obscurity. Light would hinder us.

A jade door impeded our journey. Without a knob or a keyhole, it presented no familiar means of opening.

Navarine stooped beside the water and extended a hand beneath the surface.

An audible click resounded and the jade door rose up, emitting a grinding sound that echoed harmoniously through my ears.

He rose again and our eyes met.

His orbs boasted a pale gold flecked with magenta, glittering in that moment with whimsical fancy. Giddy.

It was an infectious sentiment that billowed in the depths of my own soul. My craving was a potent poison, coursing through me, filling me with want.

The jade door slid once more into place in our wake, the note of its final closing resounding through the narrow chamber that we now trespassed through.

The space we traveled through grew ever tighter as we progressed, a chill settling around us.

For the first time, my hear fluttered with an anxious energy. I was not afraid, but my excitement was no longer pure. It was blemished by a doubt that the promise he had made would not be honoured. My hand crept beneath my cloak, to find the dagger resting against my hip. It brought little comfort to my agitated mind.

Navarine came to a halt then and turned to face me. Those eyes, so piercing, so captivating, met mine. 

“We are here.”

A passage opened in the wall and he led me into the vault. The sight that greeted us overwhelmed my senses.

The plethora of books filled every inch of the space available, leaving little room for maneuvering.

“And these are…?”

He nodded once and reached for the nearest tome. It fell open to reveal printed words, unblemished, untarnished.

I took it from him and ran a hand delicately over the page. It had been three years since last I had held a book in my hands.

My heart beat quicker, my breath catching in my throat. Emotions whelmed inside and I allowed the tears to descend, to reveal to him the extent of my gratitude.

“This is not the only one. There are others.”

“Libraries?”

He nodded once, his eyes conveying a solemn promise. “We will not let the bastards destroy them.” He gestured at the books. “We are their guardians. You may join us, if you wish.”

“Yes,” I declared without hesitation. This was my purpose. My destiny.

FIN

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

© 2016. Faith Rivens.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Wordly Wise Wednesday | Plethora

  1. Oh my goodness, this story was fantastic and I want, no, need to know more! I was drawn in from the very beginning and felt every emotion. It was as if I was walking through with your characters. I audible gasped when the books were revealed and was filled with excitement. But then filled with dread at the thought of them being destroyed. I’m willing to take up the sword and fight for the books as well! 🙂
    Thank you so much for using my favorite word. It’s only fitting that the word plethora would inspire a story about books. Because let’s face it, there should always be a plethora of books 😀
    You did a magnificent job with the creation of this story! Seriously, it’s one of my favorites you have done. Wonderful job! Bravo!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Mollie! You’re comment has made me the happiest person today 🙂 You are always so kind in lending me support and encouragement 🙂
      Books should always be in abundance! They are the greatest treasures on earth besides family and friends. I am lucky to be blessed with all three 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your descriptions and imagery always stick out to me. And the intrigue you often create with these short pieces leave me wanting more. This one is no exception. It’s pretty easy to imagine a gray, dreary world outside of where they are. It’s well done; thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

