This Week in Review | The Eleventh

Hi everyone,

Being lax with blogging the past week has been hard. It’s been great to get ahead in writing, but I’ve felt a tad bit guilty for slacking off all the same. I might do the same this week, just because I’m so close to being done this draft, and I really need to hit the February 15th deadline that I’ve set for myself. We’ll see, I guess.

I’ve still managed to get a bit done this past week. Here are the highlights!


What I Read:

I finished Neil Gaiman’s Fables and Reflections, the seventh volume in the Sandman graphic novel series. It was a truly fantastical read, each short story an elegant and magical tale weaving familiar faces with new interpretations. Neil Gaiman is a true genius of storytelling and Morpheus is a fascinating character whose humanity shines through his divinity. Though he takes the background in most of these tales, allowing secondary characters to move into the spotlight, his brief appearances dazzle. My favourite stories were: Thermidor, The Song of Orpheus & Ramadan.

I also completed the fourth installment in the Clifton Chronicles by Jeffrey Archer: Be Careful What You Wish For. This novel also marks my tenth read of 2016! Only 90 to go… I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this series thus far, and am constantly amazed by Archer’s ability to write page-turning scenes. This book was not my favourite, however. The story is meant to center around the Clifton and Barrington families, but I found that this story spent too much time centered around other characters. A major tragedy affects the family around the halfway mark, but most of the perspectives that were brought up afterwards didn’t allow for any demonstration of the emotional consequences of the family’s loss. As always, Archer closes out this book with a great cliffhanger that has my fingers itching for the next one.

I have also started to read my ARC copy of EVO Shift, KJ Chapman’s follow-up to EVO Nation. So far, it is just as exhilarating as the first. I can’t wait to finish it and share my review with all of you. In the meantime, you should check out KJ HERE! 🙂

What I Watched:

Oh so very little once again. I only got one movie in this week: Chocolat. It’s a favourite of my family’s and it’s probably the fifth time we’ve watched it. Juliette Binoche is such a brilliant actress and she plays this small fable with all the charm that one can hope for. Johnny Depp, though in a small role, manages to steal his scenes and plays out at Binoche’s equal. The best part of the film, besides all the decadent chocolate imagery, is Rachel Portman’s score. Women are a rarity in the composition of big studio film scores, but Portman proves that she has a talent for creating vibrant pieces that evoke mystery and whimsy. Beautiful cinematography 🙂

I also have to point out a truly funny video that I watched on Youtube from James Corden’s show. I don’t know if any of you have ever seen his carpool videos. The one with Adele was just perfection. This week, he did one with Chris Martin. It had me in stitches. James Corden is just brilliant 🙂 I love him so much. You should really check out the video. Warning: it’s 15 minutes worth of procrastination!

What I Listened To:

As always, I’ve had an earful of music, so I’ll point out three songs/albums that I especially love this week 🙂

  1. Sail by Awolnation: This has been one of my favourite songs for some time, ever since I first heard it back in 2011. It has such a driving beat. It’s a great song to get pumped to and inspires me particularly when writing action sequences.
  2. This is Acting by Sia: I haven’t bought the album yet, but I’ve been listening to it constantly on Spotify. Sia has to be one of my favourite artists. She has a beautiful and unique voice and writes truly remarkable songs. Alive and Bird Set Free are especially empowering songs that speak to Keira.
  3. Fix You by Coldplay: I am a huge fan of Coldplay’s older albums. The more recent ones haven’t caught my ear as much. I’ve been listening to a few of their songs on repeat, but Fix You is definitely one of my favourite songs of theirs and of all time. It fits so weel for the Divided Draft as well!

What Inspired Me:

Someone shared this passage with me, and I wanted to share it in turn:

“Nothing is more practical than finding God, than falling in Love in a quite absolute, final way. What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything. It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning, what you do with your evenings, how you spend your weekends, what you read, whom you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude. Fall in Love, stay in love, and it will decide everything.”

– Pedro Arrupe, SJ (Nov 14, 1907 — Feb. 5, 1991)

Whether or not you believe in God and wish to apply its meaning here, I believe the important message is to define yourself by your love. I know my love is God. But my love is also writing and so I embrace that love and apply to my life everyday. I pursue my storytelling and my life is better for it! It is my happiness.

I hope that you may know your Love, that you know your Happiness. Always embrace that and pursue it with your whole heart. Life will be a more fulfilled experience if you do 🙂


 

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

5 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Eleventh

  1. I really do enjoy reading your updates and a look into your amazing world. Thank you for sharing the reading that you have done. I love the song Fix You but haven’t heard the others songs. I will make sure I will check them out.
    I am not a religious person but I loved the passage that you posted. It’s is a lovely one.
    Thank you for being such an inspiration 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read & comment! You really are too sweet 🙂
      I’m glad that the passage resonated with you! I love how it doesn’t just have to relate to those with a religious leaning. It applies to everyone 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your posts are so much fun to read and bring such joy. I’m always amazing by how you accomplish each week. You must be like the Energizer bunny! 🙂
    I’ve only recently started to read graphic novels and have been looking for recommendations. So needless to say these have now been added to my ever growing TBR list.
    Carpool karaoke is such a fun segment and I really enjoy them as well. Have you seen the one with Elton John? So good.
    I loved the quote you shared and plan to write it down and put it on my wall. Such a great message, we should remind ourselves daily.
    Thank you for sharing a part of you with us. You’re amazing and inspirational! Keep being your awesome self 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mollie, you don’t know how much your comment means to me 🙂 You are such a beautiful person! A true gift. You inspire me.
      I haven’t watched the Elton John one yet, but you can be sure I will 🙂
      I’m glad the quote has affected so many people. It is a truly motivational passage and I love that it is able to resonate with others too 🙂
      Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

