WIP Wednesday…err…Thursday…

Hparchment-1148173i everyone!

I didn’t think I’d be posting again until next week, but my ear is feeling better and I felt that this would be a great opportunity to devote today’s Day of the Divided Draft to a tagged post started by the extremely talented Holly Evans. You should, nay must, check her out at her blog!

You can check out the full list of questions as well as Holly’s answers over HERE!

I’ve been tagged in two other posts. Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about them. I’ll get to those ASAP, promise. This tag just suited my usual post for the day 🙂

This might be a bit of a long one.


How many works in progress do you have in Progress?

How many? I have quite a few, but I’ve narrowed my focus this year to six, so that’s what I’m saying. But let’s just say that I have three binders full of ideas that range from a premise lines to full outlines.

Tell Us About Them!

Well, first there’s my to-be-published book of the year: Divided Draft which is a pirate fantasy novel that revolves around the destiny of a young girl Keira. It’s part of a planned quartet.

Then there are my three scripts: one’s a family drama, one’s a drama thriller & one is a dark adaptation of Cinderella. The second one has reached quarterfinals in a few competitions, which is kind of exciting 🙂

Then there’s Heritage, my 2015 NaNoWriMo work which I’m hoping to do a good edit of by the end of the year and have it published in the next. It’s the story of a grandmother and her granddaughter on an adventure of discovery.

Finally, there’s a second fantasy series that I’ve been building. Another planned quartet, it’s set in the same fictional universe as the Divided Draft. The first book is titled The Morning Fog at present. Probably will change. It’s about a woman who endangers the stability of a kingdom for love. It’s more exciting than it sounds. I’m just keeping it under my belt for now 😉

Who’s Your Favourite Character from your Projects?

Definitely Divided Draft‘s Keira.

Don’t Hold Back, Tell Us About Said Character

Okay. I will 😉

Keira’s a fierce and stubborn girl raised by pirates with a vibrant spirit. She strives for independence and to make her mark on the world and doesn’t shy away from challenges. Her greatest love is the ocean and she desires nothing more than to be able to sail free over the seas.

She can also be a bit reckless and as a sharp-tongue that often inflicts more wounds than necessary. She knows how to hold a grudge. But she can also be loyal and true to those who treat her the same.

A remarkable trait of hers are her purple eyes which can see further than any other.

There is a great destiny that hovers over her, one that she must slowly come to terms with, as a growing evil threatens the ocean world she calls home.

How Did This Project Come About?

It started as a school assignment when I was in Secondary Three (Grade 9). I was fifteen at the time and wrote a short story on the prompt ‘water’. What I wrote became the basis of the prologue. I was so inspired by the story and had already tried and failed to write a full novel twice before. By the end of the year I had written a complete first draft. It hardly looks the same as it did back then, but the premise and heart of it are the same.

What’s the best part of  this project for you? Which bit do you most enjoy?

After writing my first draft, I gave the story to my sister to read and she pointed out that two characters have a great relationship that develops so naturally between them – it wasn’t something I had been aiming for and hadn’t brought to completion. She insisted that I make it for pronounced. Discovering that she was right was a rewarding experience. I believe that the best stories have characters who are vivid and flawed, who make mistakes and grow accordingly. I love how through the various drafts, I’ve come to uncover more characters hiding behind the scenes, who needed more of a voice. I loved focusing more on the relationship that my sister had seen and giving my characters more room and opportunity to let it come into the light.

Share something from the project with us! A favourite line, a scene, something you feel comfortable with. 

Here’s a little excerpt from the prologue (yes, prologue!) of The Divided Draft.

A stray cannonball hurtled through the walls of the cabin, narrowly missing the bed where Keira was hidden. Water followed in its wake, flooding the room.

Petrified, Keira threw back the covers. She cried out as she never had before at the sight of water rising rapidly around her. Driven by the need to save herself, Keira disregarded her mother’s words and made a wild dash for the door.

Her fingers barely brushed the frame when the wall of the cabin gave way, and a cascade of water captured Keira in its grasp. She screamed again and her mouth filled with the taste of the sea.

Keira struggled, frantically kicking her legs and flailing her arms in an effort to keep her head above the water. The attempt proved exhausting and altogether too much for her small limbs to endure. Relinquishing, she sank beneath the surface.

At that moment, Keira could only reflect on the profound love she had always bestowed upon the ocean and wonder why it would not return that love, why it would not let her live. It was supposed to be her friend, not her enemy, and yet here she was, drowning in its arms.

As the water enclosed her in its suffocating grip, Keira’s mind slipped in and out of consciousness. The eeriness of the cold, dark depths scared, yet somehow calmed her. She would soon be one with the sea; then her fears would disappear completely.

We’ve done happy positive stuff, so tell us, what’s the most difficult part of this project?

If you’ve been following my journey, you know that I recently made the decision to divide the project in two. While the best choice, it’s also the hardest thing I’ve had to do. I’m still working through the re0rganizing and it’s taking longer than expected. But I’m still staying positive about it. It’s an arduous task, but my story’s better for it. I think. I hope. I know!

What do you feel is the weakest point of this project?

I think there might be too much thinking and not enough action. I tend to like writing in deep POV, getting into Keira’s head, but I’ve found in my edits that I get bogged down in them. I’m learning to be lean, but it’s definitely what drags my story down the most.

Now what’s the strongest point?

I think my characters are. My protagonist and major supporting characters all have well-defined arcs and grow throughout the novel’s progression. I’d like to think that people will love them as much as I do.

Who will this project appeal to?

Hopefully lovers of fantastical works. I’m no Tolkien or Martin, but I hope that people will be intrigued by the world I’ve created. It should also appeal to people who enjoy adventure stories and character pieces. It’s PG rated (maybe PG 13 at times), so audience wise, it isn’t specifically child or adult intended. I like to see the Divided Draft as Harry Potter meets Pirates of the Caribbean, in the humblest sense possible, of course!

What are your plans for this project?

Publication this year. Traditional or self. Whichever is more plausible. *fingers crossed*

Which project/s will you work on next?

Once Divided Draft is ready to be released, I’ll turn my focus on my three scripts. They shouldn’t take me long to do a final edit on. After that, I’ll edit Heritage and start re-working the sequel to Divided Draft. PHEW! I’ll be busy, but I’ll be creating and that’s where my bliss lies!


Most people I know have already been tagged, but if you haven’t and would like to, I’d love to hear about your WIP. If you do decide to answer the questions above, let me know so I can check out your post.

A special call out to:

Kristi

Currer

Claire

Kat

Sarina

Jean

No pressure, of course ladies 😉 Just want to give you the opportunity!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

© 2016. Faith Rivens.

 

11 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday…err…Thursday…

  1. This is so awesome and loved reading all of your answers! Kiera sounds like my kind of character. It’s great hearing more and more about your WIP as it only adds fuel to my heightened anticipation 😀
    Six WIP is a lot but I know what you mean. I, too, have a notebooks filled with story ideas, ranging in levels of completion; all waiting to to be fully realized.
    I’m impressed with your second screenplay and you should be really excited. I have no doubt it will be made one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your kind comment, Mollie! It’s crazy the amount of ideas we have floating around. Where are we supposed to find the time to work on them all?
      I’m really hoping to have the screenplay in producers hands by the end of the year. That would be a real dream come true 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the shout out! 🙂

    6 WIPs is impressive. I have 2 actually in progress and another 2 on the back burner in my head. Short story ideas wander in and out, but not much more will fit in there 🙂

    I like the sound of Keira and liked the extract very much. Now I want to know how she’s going to get out of the jaws of the sea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Claire 🙂 I might post the whole prologue soon, so that will clear of that answer 😉
      If you do get around to doing this tag, just let me know so I can read it!! I’d love to learn more about your story ideas!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved your answers! The excerpt from your prologue was so intriguing! I’m excited to get to read the rest of it someday. 🙂
    I finally get to hear about the six WIPs you have going on and they all sound so great! You have such amazing ideas for stories.
    Thank you for sharing your progress and I can’t wait to read more of Divided Draft!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Cool tag! I love your story already. As I mentioned…I kinda used to be obsessed with pirates for several years…still enjoy pirate/seafaring stories and there aren’t that many out there that aren’t like all space-age stuff. haha. I have…let’s see…7 WIP. Ok I guess WIP is a strong word. 3 full manuscripts though, 2 in need of editing. Another NaNoWriMo rough draft, and 2 other WIP outlined but not completely drafted. And then there’s that Pirate YA adventure I told you about. I have sat down recently and tried to figure out what to do with it. As is, it needs a lot of work… I don’t think it wise to branch out in 2 different genres simultaneously. But trying to turn it into a romance is proving difficult. I like the Adventure aspect of it and I think it should stay that way. I could even turn it into a fantasy pretty easily. So many decisions… Well thanks for sharing your WIP Faith!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing in turn! I love all the ideas that you mentioned above and I really hope to see your pirate YA adventure published one day. I’d always vote for a turn towards fantasy, but I’m sure whatever direction you choose to go with it will be amazing 🙂
      Thanks for taking the time to respond!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I like this list, and your answers. It’s a lot of fun to read about others’ thoughts, ideas, and processes about writing. The excerpt is breathtaking (not in the normally meant way). I know she must survive, because she’s in the rest of the story (unless this takes part later than the main story). But I wonder how she survives, and in the meantime, I’m paying a little more attention to my own breathing for the moment.

    Thanks for tagging me; I’m excited to answer the questions myself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

