Faith’s Friday Fiction | Abominations

Good day one and all,

Today’s short story continues from last week’s which was itself inspired by a Wordly Wise Wednesday. If you haven’t read those yet, you can find them here: Amalgamation & Adaptation.

I’m really getting into this story and I have a feeling that it might continue for a while, so buckle in everyone 😉

This next installment follows the timeline but through the eyes of a different character, Freya’s brother: Oden.


It was a cold day, but Oden felt no chill. Anger burned in his heart and coursed through him like a wildfire.

He crossed the street and a car horn blared at him. He paid the driver no heed. Restless and reckless, he was on the warpath. A great injustice had been done and he would not let it stand.  

“Are you crazy?”

Kerrie’s voice called out to him, but he did not stop. She could pursue him straight to the Council Hall if she wanted to, but he wouldn’t be deterred. His hand felt for the gun in his pocket again, to reassure himself that it was there. Freya had been his world. And they had taken her from him. He would not let it go unpunished.

“You’re going to get yourself killed?”

A hand wrapped around his arm and forced him to a halt.

He turned and wrenched himself free from her grip.

Kerrie’s amber eyes beseeched him to reconsider. He scoffed at her. “I’m already dying.”

“The medicine–“

“It’s just a temporary fix. I’d rather die doing something honourable. Not confined to a bed.”

“But this isn’t noble. It’s stupid. She’s already dead, Oden.”

“Because they killed her.”

“And you’ll be killed too.”

“At least I’ll take a few of them with me.”

“And what will your parents do when you’re gone too?” She was an inch shorter than him, but in that moment she gave the appearance of towering above him, a fierce figure of reason.

There was a bench nearby and he sank into it then, feeling spent. She had found that one niggling doubt in his mind, and it brought all his determination to ruin. His eighteenth birthday had only just passed, but he felt as if he had lived twice that long. His body was crippled by the illness that he had been born with, but his mind had always been strong. Until two years ago, when the Abominations had come.

Kerrie slipped onto the seat next to him and took his hand. Best friends since the age of five, she knew him almost as well as Freya did… Had.

“She sacrificed herself for you.”

“I know.”

“You can’t die pointlessly.”

“I know.” 

But he couldn’t do nothing either. For two years, he had watched as the Abominations had taken over his country, performing heinous experiments, manipulating their lives all for some terrible end that no one fully understood. Cut off from the rest of the world, they had been forced into subservience, following the normal routines of a mundane life, but it was all an Aberration, a façade.

Oden rose up once more and started down the street in the opposite direction of his prior destination.

“Where are you going now?”

“To find a death that will mean something.”

“Oden!” Kerrie leapt up with such vehemence.

He couldn’t help but laugh at the rage in her face. It was humorous to imagine that she could stop him now.

“Not right now, don’t worry,” he reassured her.

Her gaze remained mistrusting. “But you want to die.”

He shook his head. “No. I just don’t want to live like this. You were right, okay. I have to make her sacrifice mean something. So I’m going to stop waiting for the end. I’m going to fight it with everything I’ve got.”

Kerrie’s eyes softened with comprehension, her expression paling.”You’re going to join FOARA, aren’t you?”

Oden narrowed his eyes, taken aback by Kerrie’s wisdom. He had not expected her to know.

She sighed in defeat. “I’ve been waiting for this.”

“For what?” The sense of control he had assumed he had slipped out of his grasp. Her tone was dark, heavy with regret and shame.

“For the moment you would choose to join the resistance. To join us.”

FIN

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

© 2016. Faith Rivens.
10 thoughts on “Faith’s Friday Fiction | Abominations

    1. You always have the kindest words to share with me. Have I told you yet how grateful I am for them? 😉
      I’m really enjoying this one too and I’m extending it as much as I can. I hope it won’t disappoint.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You’re definitely building a world with some depth here, and it’s full of intrigue. I want to know so much more about what’s going on. Hopefully you’ll make it all clear whether in continued short pieces, or a longer piece someday.

    Oddly this post didn’t show up in my reader. I was looking at Thursday’s post and saw the link to the this one as the “next” post. I even rechecked the reader looking for it. It’s just not there. I’m glad I didn’t completely miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m ecstatic that you’re still enjoying it. It’s been a pleasure to write this one, so chances are it’ll keep going for a little. It’s so strange that that happened with the reader. I’m glad you were able to find it! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

