This Week in Review | The Ninth

Good Day Everyone!

It’s been a rather busy day for me. I only just got a chance to login to WordPress and Twitter and realize that I over twelve notifications on each! I’ll be sure to respond to each after this is posted — which will be now when you’re reading 😉


WHAT I READ:

I finished Voyager by Diana Gabaldon! The third in the Outlander series it took me most of this week to finish. I only get 40afd-voyagera chance to read before bed most days so I’m proud that I got through as quickly as I did. Honestly, by the end I was staying up later than I had to because I simply couldn’t put it down. That should tell you a lot! I’ll be posting a review this week, I’m hoping tomorrow but it will depend. I have six days left to finish this edit of my draft and I’m starting to worry that I won’t. Sorry, that was a bit of a ramble on my part. With regards to Voyager, I think it’s my favourite in the series thus far. The narrative took turns I wasn’t expecting. Just enthralling!

I’ve also started the third in the Mary Russell series by Laurie R. King. I don’t remember if I mentioned it before, but it’s a series set around a young girl in the early twentieth century who becomes the protogée of an elderly Sherlock Holmes. Mary is such a strong female protagonist and one of my favourite heroines of all time for sure! I just started it last night but I’m already more than 50% through which means I’ll be done tonight and starting another book tomorrow 🙂 It’s looking good for hitting that goal of 100 books in 2016!

WHAT I WATCHED:

  1. Brooklyn, dir. by John Crowley. My sister and I finally made our way to the movies for the first time since December 21st. We used to go much more often, but time keeps evading us of late. We were determined to see Brooklyn though. And I am glad that we did. A simple film, it was beautifully shot – Montreal was used for a great number of scenes! – and the acting was phenomenal. Saoirse Ronan portrayed a young Irish immigrant searching for a better life in America. She embraced the role and mesmerized in it. I have always been a big fan of hers since seeing her in Atonement. Emory Cohen and Domnhall Gleeson were excellent as her supporting cast and Julie Walters was just superb as the boarding house matron, witty and charming as always. A truly stunning film that follows and honest narrative and pulls at the heartstrings. If you’re going to watch a film this Oscar season, make it Brooklyn!
  2. Sense & Sensibility, dir. by Ang Lee. The Emma Thompson version (written by and starring) is not only the best adaptation of the novel but one of the best Austen adaptations of all (after the P&P miniseries with Jennifer and Colin). We had been planning to watch it before Alan Rickman’s passing and so it seemed appropriate. Not only is it a well acted and directed film but the score is gorgeous and the landscape inspiring. The screenplay (an Academy award winning one) is a great study for screenwriters. It is definitely one of my favourite  films of all time.
  3. Agent Carter: The second season has premiered and it’s as thrilling as always. It’s nice to see a female lead who is intelligent and empowered at the same time. She’s no damsel in distress. It might not be the most nuanced or unique show on TV, but it’s engaging and diverting and a great show to watch after a writing session.

WHAT I LISTENED TO:

I think this post as gone on long enough, so I’ll just pinpoint 2 songs that I’ve been playing on repeat recently:

      

  1. Only Love Can Hurt Like This by Paloma Faith – I have always been a great admirer of Sia. She has such a unique voice and an amazing range. I was listening to some music on Spotify and this song started playing and I was sure it was Sia at first. When I checked and realized it wasn’t, I was stunned because they sound so very familiar. After getting past my initial shock, I realized how great this song was and now it’s stuck in my head. And I don’t mind one bit!
  2. Thousand Eyes by Of Monsters and Men – I mentioned a while back that I love of Monsters and Men. They have such an amazing and unique sound to them and are my go-to group for inspiration when writing. I’ve recently become obsessed with this song off their second album (Beneath the Skin). It was used in one of the Jessica Jones trailers, and it’s a driving melody that I keep listening to when writing action sequences.

I’ll call it a close on this post for now. Sorry for rambling on longer than I thought I would!

What are you reading, watching, listening to? Let me know 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

 

 

2 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Ninth

  1. Well written reviews! I have to say, Sense and Sensibility is among my favs because it has my two favorite actors: Alan Rickman *sad face* and Kate Winslet! I absolutely adore that one. I finally got to see them together again in the movie “A Little Bit of Chaos” that was an incredible movie and I absolutely loved Rickman in it :)…and Kate. Definitely Kate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

