Faith’s Friday Facts | Tagged

Hi everyone,

I know that today was supposed to be the first day of Faith’s Friday Fiction, but I’ve been postponing posting this writer Q & A that Mollie at Mollie’s Musings ( you can check out her post HERE) had tagged me in a while back, so I decided to focus on that today & start the fiction next week.

It took longer to do this questionnaire than I expected, but I loved every moment of it 🙂

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?

I always remember loving books. My parents read to me from a young age and it just snowballed from there. I started writing when I was in elementary school. Grade 2 or 3. The decision to become a writer was something I only really took seriously after reading the 1st Harry Potter and The Westing Game.

 What genre do you write?

Mostly fantasy when it comes to novels, though I do have some historical fictions lined up. When it comes to scripts, I tend towards family dramas, thrillers and fairy tale adaptations.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

My current WIP is something I’ve been calling the Divided Draft. It’s a story I started working on over ten years ago when I was in High School. The prologue was something I wrote for an assignment. I was so invested in it that I continued to write it throughout the year and finished a rough draft in six months. I’ve been editing ever since. It’s a fantasy novel about a pirate named Keira who discovers that she is at the heart of a prophecy foretelling the end of the evil threatening her ocean home.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

The first piece I can remember writing is a short story about an orphan girl wanting to be adopted. I wrote it in Grade 3 and it was published in my school’s anthology. I’m actually hoping to publish it this year too, after the Divided Draft.

What’s the best part about writing?

 

The escape it offers to new lands beyond the pettiness and challenges of real life and the opportunity it presents to meet new characters.

 

What’s the worst part about writing?

I don’t want to believe that there is one. Not even editing or revising. Perhaps the worst thing is the withdrawal symptoms that follow when you’re pulled rudely away from your work.

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?

Like picking a favourite child—or so I imagine. I’m going to have to say Keira, the protagonist of the Divided Draft, if only because I’ve been devoted to telling her story for the past ten years and she’s become like a sister to me and a best friend.

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

Most days, I steal time. I always try to give myself at least a good 2-3 hours a day, but it depends on my work schedule. Weekends, I get in a bit more time. Night tends to be the best time for me, only because I’m out of the house for work at 6:30am 😛

Did you go to college for writing?

I went to University. I graduated with a BA in History and Education.

I guess that’s a no 😉

What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?

For grammar errors say I is most bothersome. Ask you why the question is. Response incomprehensible is mine.

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

I’ve gotten a lot of good advice from people over the years. It’s hard to narrow down to the best. When it comes to my own stories, though, the best advice I got was to divide my book in two. It took me nine years to accept it, but now that’s it done, I know my story will be better for it!

What advice would you give to another writer?

Believe in your writing. Believe in your talent. You’ll meet enough people along the way who will try to break your resolve. Don’t be one of them! If you have a story in your heart, share it with the world.

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

For help and tips: ShesNovel, WriterologyHelpingWritersBecomeAuthors.

For encouragement: I turn to my fellow bloggers!

Twitter is always a great place for both 🙂

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

Reading is at the top of that list. Other hobbies include playing the guitar & singing (I’ve tried my hands a few times at composing music and lyrics for songs),

playing Risk (I tend to mutate into a bloodthirsty conqueror when I do), drinking coffee (that’s a hobby, right? Or is it a lifestyle?), watching movies & tv shows (currently loving Jane Austen adaptations, The Sopranos, The West Wing. Can’t wait for the return of Agent Carter, House of Cards, Game of Thrones, Daredevil and The Americans)

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

I’ll look back to 2015 for this one, I think. I read a lot of great books, but I’ll stick to three favourites:

    1. The Darkest Road by Gavrial Guy Kay. The last in the Fionavar Trilogy, Kay is a Canadian fantasy author whose writing is the most beautiful thing I have ever beheld. Like a dance, flowing and graceful, his words are an art. If you have never read Kay, please, please do!
    2. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. This book stole my heart and broke it a couple of times. Diamant takes a very small Biblical character named Dinah and gives her a voice. Truly mesmerizing.
    3. Discworld by Terry Pratchett. I’m cheating with this one, but this series is unlike anything I have ever read before. Fantasy and oh so funny, yet also thought-provoking. If you haven’t read Pratchett…well, what are you waiting for?

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year? Again, I’ll stick to 2015 for this one. Definitely Citizen Kane (1941). I shudder to think that it took me so long to watch it. What a stunning and gripping film. A definite classic.

Honourable Mentions: Fargo (1996), Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) & Beauty and the Beast (1991…classic ;))

What is your favourite book or series of all time?

I’m sorry. Do you really thing I can pick just one? That’s cute 😉

I’ll narrow top three series: Harry Potter by JK Rowling, Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein, Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Same for books: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Who is your favourite author?

Too many…. JK Rowling, Gavrial Guy Kay, Jane Austen, Jasper Fforde, JRR Tolkein, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Robin Hobb, Stephen King, Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Margaret Atwood, etc, etc, etc…

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

Publishing my debut novel (aka The Divided Draft). Otherwise starting writing/edits of book 2 in the series. Also finishing edits on some scripts and perhaps working on a novella that I started a while back.

Where else can we find you online?

On Twitter, you can find me at: faith_therivens

On Pinterest, you can find me as: Faith Rivens

On Goodreads, you can me find me at: Faith Rivens

If you haven’t been tagged in this yet and would like to try your hand at it, please do and post a link in the comments so I can check it out 🙂

Here are the questions for you to answer:
When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?
What genre do you write?
Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
What’s the best part about writing?
What’s the worst part about writing?
What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
Did you go to college for writing?
What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?
What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
What advice would you give to another writer?
What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?
What is your favourite book or series of all time?
Who is your favourite author?
What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
Where else can we find you online?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith    quill-ink

11 thoughts on “Faith’s Friday Facts | Tagged

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you did this 😀 I loved getting to know more about you. History was my second choice in major in case I ended up hating Comparative Lit. Your WIP sounds remarkable and I can’t wait to hear more about it. If you ever need a beta reader, you know where to find me 🙂 Your writing is amazing and I love reading what you post (even if it’s answering questions on a survey). I look forward to much much more!!! 😀

    Like

  2. We have a lot in common! !!! So much !! I also wrote a pirate story many years back.
    I have no idea what to do with it lol as its YA and not my intent genre wise. I also play guitar. I also plan to publish my first novel though I writing Christian romance. I alsi msjored in education. Thpugh elementary. My husband majored in history. Im very interested in your pirate story! Looking forward to it. Keep in touch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually the pirate one is more historical. It turned into a YA historical fiction though I didn’t intend to write it YA but it’s from the POV of a 15 yr old boy so that’s just how it turned out. I worked on that for many years, submitted it to an action adventure contest, and got it back with only sub par reviews 😦 averages of 7s. Eh. Since then I became quite inspired to write Christian romance. For the life of me I can’t figure out what to do with the other MS lol. I want to try and turn it into an historical romance, but that’s actually harder than I thought it would be. Oh well, someday I’ll figure it out. 🙂 I of course need to go and edit it up and down. I know my writing his improve significantly because after entering my first Christian romance MS into a contest recently, it came back to me with 8s and 9s. So hooray for that 😀

        Like

  3. Wow, what a great read! Really enjoyed finding out more about you. I thought it was all amazing and look forward to the release of your book. If you are ever short for beta readers (I am sure you will not be, keep me in mind) 😉
    Oh and you play Risk! I love that game. There is so much more to cram into this comment box but I will leave it at that…oh and Beauty and the beast is one of my favourites 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

