A New Chapter Begins…

… or is written. One of the two.

As promised, I bring you the 1st weekly update of my current WIP: referred to thus far as The Divided Draft.

I’ve spoken about this project before and you can find out more here at The Journey So Far.

My dream of publication with this novel is one that has been a long time in the making and I am determined that this year will see me finally succeed where I have failed so far. My December 5th 2016, I will be a published (in some form or other) author!

My first mini-goal on the road to publication is to finish my current revision by January 31st. The way I’m going so far, I believe that I can get it done. And as long as I believe…well, the chances for success are better than if I allow myself to steep in doubt.

In the past, I’ve been rather vague about what The Divided Draft is all about. Let me amend this a bit by providing the following:

Logline: Keira, a young pirate craving true freedom, becomes embroiled in a propechy that sets her against the greatest evil threatening the ocean she calls home.

I know. I know. It’s still a little vague. That’s kind of the point 😉 This is just a little teaser that will hopefully intrigue!

Here’s another:

Untitled.jpg
A picture my sister drew for my prologue…eight years ago

This past week, I was in the midst of reworking my fourteenth chapter when I realized that my first chapter was all wrong. Why? Because the first scene was coming from the perspective of someone who wasn’t my protagonist. It was a huge oversight, but one that has since been rectified. Here’s a little excerpt from it:

Purple eyes stared out at the ocean and wished for endless horizons.

It was a longing rooted in Keira’s heart, too deep for anyone to ever reach. The seed of it had been planted ten years prior when she had first discovered the joy of living on a ship, and it had only grown stronger since.

In that time too, she had learnt that wishes were not worth depending on. If she wanted something done, she had to be ready to do it herself.

Like I said…just a little teaser 😉

I’ll leave it at that for now and put forth a question to you. With this new series of posts, I’m hoping to issue progress reports every week on how revisions are going, insights I’ve stumbled across, etc., and I was wondering what you would like to gain from these posts?

And don’t forget, tomorrow begins the last of the new series of posts for 2016 (Faith’s Friday Fiction)!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

© 2016. Faith Rivens.
10 thoughts on “A New Chapter Begins…

  1. Your question is a difficult one, at least for me. In the almost 2 years I’ve used my blog to keep myself accountable to my writing work, I’ve tried to make the posts more than, “I worked this long today.” But it’s not always easy to share something more, especially something that will interest anyone. Revision is dry work to anyone but the one doing it (and sometimes to the one doing it too). In fact, writing in general can be hard to share progress on, because unlike visual arts, there’s not always much to share that is spoiler-free, doesn’t require explanation (esp when writing sci-fi or fantasy) or is good/interesting enough to share.

    Sharing things you’ve learned along the way about revision or writing in general can be interesting. Sharing little tidbits about your writing, when possible, is fun. I don’t know how much you want to give away, but character profiles help blog readers gain interest in your story. That’s something I wish I’d already done more of myself, but I’ve never been great at summing up characters, so I put it off.

    These are my thoughts, but again, I’m still working on what kinds of things are best to post about in relation to my writing work too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much Kristi for taking the time to offer your insights. They are highly valued 🙂 I definitely will share more information about the world I created without giving away too much and probably share more of my process. I’ll see what works and what doesn’t as the weeks go on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this and building up the intrigue. You are a true tease 😉
    I enjoyed the information around the novel and from your future posts it would be good to find out trouble you have come across to the easier joys of it. I would love to know more about other characters that play a part…obviously just snippets that doesn’t give anything away.
    You will be an author this year…you can do
    It!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. super excited for this book. I kind of have a thing for pirates as I spent a few years writing one of my own. 🙂 I am thinking of reviving a Christian Fiction Friday meme, a weekly meme where Christian Writers could post WIP snippets. Would you be interested?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I would not mind that. I am trying to decide how to go about this b/c I do not want to ‘steal’ this meme from the original host without asking and I have asked and she is not responding 😦 It’s been 4 months since she’s stopped doing it. I might just develop my own version and rally up the christian bloggers/writers I have found to see if I can get enough people to join in. I’m part of a meme on Wednesdays where people post WIP excerpts. But I am really wanting to do a christian-oriented version primarily because sometimes Christians have a different viewpoint that I think would be beneficial. I’m fine with non-christian genre writing excerpts though.. But for example if someone were to post christian-oriented excerpts, it would be helpful to have other Christians provide feedback. IMO. I do enjoy any feedback of course and this Wednesday group has been great so far 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

