This Week in Review | The Sixth

Happy Monday Morning all!

After a long hiatus, I return to you This Week in Review 🙂 Because of the long pause since my last posting of this series, some of the mentions below extend beyond just the past week.

WHAT I READ:

Darkness at Noon – Arthur Koestler: a book I’ve had on my shelf since I was in high school (aka a very long time), I finally decided to pick it up for a read after Christmas, making it my last read book of 2015. Set in 1938 during the Great Purges of Stalin’s regime, it tells the story of Rubashov, a Bolshevik, who is arrested and tried for treason against the party that he helped to create. The clean and quick prose makes it an easy read, while provoking thought on the hypocrisies that exist in political society.

Lilith – George MacDonald: My first read of 2016 (99 to go!), I’ll be posting a review of it tomorrow. For now, I’ll just say that it was an absolutely thrilling fantasy in the same vein as The Chronicles of Narnia.

WHAT I WATCHED:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Like, I said, this extends beyond the past week. I’d already mentioned that I had watched it before Christmas, but I feel the need to say it again. A brilliant addition in the canon of films, analyzing it too much brings too light a lot of flaws that would usually cause me to shame a movie. But there was too much goodness in the movie and such a nostalgic whim invoked that I have to, this once, let my critic slide, and just say that it was a perfect sci-fi adventure film! Definitely a favourite now!

Pride and Prejudice: Not the Joe Wright film with Keira Knightly, but the miniseries with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. I’ve watched it many times before, but it’s been a while since the last viewing and I enjoyed being able to delight in the rewatch over a few nights. If you love Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen, or period pieces in general, I highly recommend that you watch it!

Emma: The BBC miniseries with Romola Garai and Johnny Lee Miller. My family and I were on a Jane Austen rampage this week. Again, this four episode series is something that I have watched before. But it’s been a long time since I did. Miller is such a gem in this film, playing Mr. George Knightly with such charm and wit. And Romola is absolutely perfect as Emma. No one can beat Michael Gambon as the paranoid Mr. Woodhouse, though!

Persuasion (1995): The movie with Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds. Did I mention my family & I were on a Jane Austen rampage. Honestly, we watched all of these films in just the past week. This was the only one that I had never watched before. Previously, I had seen the version with Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penry-Jones. I much preferred this one to the 2007 version, only because it allowed for more character development. If you want to watch Persuasion, I would suggest the 1995 one first.

WHAT I LISTENED TO:

A lot. I won’t bore you out of your minds by lauding over them, only make a brief mention of the new albums I got. I do love Boxing Week on iTunes.

Hello by Hedley: This was a gift from my family for Christmas. Nostalgia dictates our bond 🙂

Blurryface by twenty one pilots: If you haven’t discovered this band, I highly recommend them. They have such a unique sound to them.

Sound & Colour by Alabama Shakes: With the lead vocals of Brittany Howard, this band is one of my new favourites. Her raspy voice and fierce sound meshes well with a more laid back sound of soulful rock.

Oh Wonder by Oh Wonder: A debut album. This duo has a relaxed sound to them that reminds me of Of Monsters and Men. I find them especially enjoyable to listen to while writing 🙂

***

That’s all for this week! And that’s a lot 😉 Let me know what’s holding your attention this week. Have you read, watched, listened to anything mentioned above.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

 

2 thoughts on “This Week in Review | The Sixth

Leave a Reply

