2015 Trials & Triumphs | This Year in Review

Hello everyone,

women-on-top-of-mountain-1407914

Standing on the precipice of a new year, prepared to say farewell to the old, it strikes me that this year has been the most productive one in a long time for myself. It was marked by challenges too, but overall there is a feeling of triumph that I have come to associate with 2015, a sentiment achieved only in the latter four months with my decision to enter the world of social media and present myself to the world as Faith Rivens, impassioned storyteller.

graduation-1426997

One of my greatest triumphs this year is undoubtedly my graduation from university with a B.A. in History and Education. It took longer than it should have, but the victory was greater for it. I persevered against my own issues and doubts and through it, discovered a new confidence in myself. I am highly considering pursuing a Masters now, but that’s a decision to be made in the New Year.

keyboard-2-1195709

My other accomplishment has been in the realm of social media. Prior to September, I had been rather wary of putting myself on a platform where anyone could see me and come to know me and my writing. But I decided early in the summer that if I wanted to succeed as an author, if I wanted to share tales, to tell the story in my heart, then I had to reach out to the global community. It was the best decision I could have made.

Through Twitter and my blog, I have come to meet and be inspired by so many beautiful and talented people. I have shared more stories than I ever have before and I have accumulated more followers than I ever had thought possible (presently I have 245 on twitter & 56 on WordPress). Not only that, but I have been blessed with comments that keep me motivated and validate my writing experience. I hope you know how much I appreciate your generous words, your kind support. I hope you know that I am here to support you too!

I cannot speak about 2015 without speaking about my writing.

Screenshot 2015-11-30 22.06.11

November 2015 was my month of triumph. I finally determined to participate in NaNoWriMo and I succeeded beyond my expectations, concluding the month with 78,291 words written. I didn’t mention it before, so I’ll mention it now. I finished writing a very rough 1st draft of Heritage in December! That marks three fully written first drafts of novels. 🙂

2015 also saw me submit a number of scripts to competitions. In two of these, I made it to the quarter-finals and received lots of praise and constructive comments for it. I was ecstatic with the response and I’m currently editing this one as well as two others with the hopes of submitting them this year and hopefully entering into production with one of them.

mexican-sunset-1359119

I also have to mention, as both a trial and a triumph, my first novel – the here titled Divided Draft. Written over ten years ago, I have been editing it off and on for the longest time, wanting it to be the best it could. Finally, this summer, I was hit by revelation, realized what was bothering me about it: it was too long, too complex, too overstuffed with plot. It was then that I realized the only solution: to divide the book into two. It has proven to be a greater task than I anticipated when I made the choice, but I know it’s the best one and I am in the process of finishing up the first draft of the new first book. With any luck, I’ll have it published in some form by the end of 2016. That is my paramount goal for the New Year and it is the one I will pursue with most ardent fervor!

Finally, this year I have been blessed with the love of a family that has supported me unconditionally through every challenge, has rejoiced with me in every achievement. I have to thank God for all I have been gifted with.

As 2015 draws to a close, I extend to you all the deepest wish for health and happiness, love and prosperity, and that all your dreams and desires be fulfilled. May you have the courage to persevere against the mightiest of foes, may you have the strength to pursue your dreams to the very end, may you never lack in confidence, and may you never be in doubt: you are loved 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

 

Faith   quill-ink

 

4 thoughts on “2015 Trials & Triumphs | This Year in Review

  1. So much exciting stuff going on! Grats on finishing the novel you started in November. The first one’s the most exciting, but every new novel draft completed after that is still amazing. Good luck with all of your plans!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

