Advent Shorts: Day 17 – Winter Sea

Hi all,

When I sat down to write this one I was looking for an outlet for some emotions, so I apologize for that. I didn’t mean for this short to become a cathartic exercise, but well, life right?

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the next in our narrative calendar.

Here’s hoping for brighter days.

Winter Sea

The winter sea had borne him away from her one last time.

Standing at the land’s edge, Catherine held onto the sight of his ship until it faded into the grey mist of the horizon beyond her power of sight. She knew then that she would never see its form again.

She would never see his face: his azure eyes, his crooked twice-broken nose, his jovial grin.

She would never feel his touch: the gentle caress of his lips upon her brow, the urgent desireof his hands upon her body, the soothing embrace of his strong arms in her times of need.

She would never hear his voice: the deep rumble of a waterfall in speech, the lulling power of his resonant singing, the arousing pronunciation of her name so soft, so low, so yearning.

She would never give her love to him, never receive his love. Not in this lifetime.

“This will be the last time,” he had promised her only the night before, his body ensconcing hers beneath the covers of their shared bed. “And then we will have enough money to leave this place, to start our family.”

She rubbed her stomach, her gaze dropping from the foreboding storm clouds gathering above the sea to her flat belly. Her emotions were in conflict; a part of her wished for life to be blossoming within her while another was relieved that she would not bear a child that she would have to rear alone.

The first flakes of snow began their descent from the sky. She wrapped her shawl tighter around her body, but the despair in her heart numbed her to any true awareness of the frigid winds.

“Come back to me.” A whispered want. She commanded the wind to bear it to him, to demand that he return to her, to defy the future she saw laid out before her.

The storm intensified around her. It swallowed her, but she did not move from the spot. If she stayed there, she could will him to turn around before it was too late, she could will him into her arms, into her heart.

She stood as a statue, unmoving, unstirring. Night fell, but she stood. She could not see the darkness through the wall of white that entombed her.

“Come back to me.”

“I am here.”

He appeared before her, radiant.

She collapsed into his arms and clung to his sturdy form. His hands lifted her off the ground, his lips meeting hers with the same passionate desire.

“Stay with me.”

“Forever.”

The snow dissolved around them, the furious flurry fading until all around them was warmth and light.

They would never again be parted.

In the morning, the sun’s rays broke through the storm, bringing with it a clear day. They found Catherine standing still, her body frozen upon the mount overlooking the winter sea, her expression one of peace.

FIN

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

P.S. Thanks to everyone who continues to read, like and comment on these stories. I can’t express just how much your words mean to me. They inspire me to keep telling my stories and help my own confidence to grow. May you always know that you are appreciated. May you always feel loved and cared for. May you always believe in yourself and your talent.

I wish you a beautiful day!

© 2015. Faith Rivens.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Advent Shorts: Day 17 – Winter Sea

  1. Hey, don’t apologize about using writing as an emotional outlet. That’s what it’s for, right? It obviously is working for you because that was amazing.
    This one sucked me in big time! From the very first line, I was hooked. I felt everything Catherine was feeling – yearning, desire, sadness, relief. Your skill in setting the tone of scene and conveying emotions is remarkable. Well done!

    Like

  2. You have such a deep vocabulary that puts me in awe. Your words are mesmerising, making me want to read and read and when the story finishes I want more.
    He emotions in the story were strong and realistic and the ending got me in a big way!
    I can’t wait for the rest of the tales! I will keep reading as long as you keep writing 🙂 Thank you for sharing such brilliant stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have so many questions by the end of this one, so much more I want to know about her, and even him. It’s so heartbreaking, thinking about knowing you won’t see someone you love again. Maybe it’s better to know so little about them, so it’s not even more difficult. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

