NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty-Nine

Hi all!

The penultimate day of NaNoWriMo! Can it be true? November just flew by! And it’s been one wild ride thus far! Still one day to go, though, so no goodbyes for the moment.

Today, I only sat down to write after 4:00pm EST partially because of another great #Storycrafter chat with Faye at Writerology! We role played as our antagonists this time which was highly inspirational in setting out in my new scenes today. A few word sprints and I got a little over 2k written today. Not as much as the past few days, but that’s okay because I hit a different goal entirely….

I passed the 75k mark! And I’m pretty sure another 10k will bring me to the end of my novel. At least, that’s what I’m hoping.

Today’s word count: 2,248. 

My first and last sentences of the day:

We were trained from a young age to wield the magic of the orb.

A long climb awaited them, but Peggie was ready to endure it.

Narrative wise, things slowed down just a tad after yesterday’s explosive conflict. Peggie finally learned the whole truth about her grandmother’s past. At this point, I realized that I missed a HUGE potential for plot development and will probably move the reveal much earlier and allow for some other things to happen earlier too just to remove some of the exposition happening in Act 3. I made a note for the 2nd draft and stopped my inner editor from going back and changing it right away.

Unfortunately, Peggie is now realizing how nearly insurmountable the antagonist really is. And is starting to discover that winning might mean never returning to her home village of Caraliel….but I can’t say more, because…well, you know…SPOILERS!

Anyways, tomorrow will see my last NaNoWriMo post…at least until November 2016! I will return, however, with some book reviews and weekly updates of my progress and a few other surprises too…

Until then, how was your penultimate day of NaNoWriMo? Are you almost at 50k? Are you preparing for a fitful day of writing tomorrow? Wherever your at, whatever your goals, I wish you luck.

And remember: Keep writing and keep believing in yourself! You are talented! You are amazing! You can do anything!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith     quill-ink

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty-Nine

  1. Congrats on 75k! And just as much, congrats on stifling your inner editor. It’s definitely not always easy. I’m always so sad for heroes that can’t return after victory. It seems like a hollow win.

    Like

Leave a Reply

