NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty-Eight

Hi all,

Wow! I can hardly believe that there are only two full days left before NaNoWriMo is over. I have to admit that it’s a bittersweet reality. The energy this month has been palpable and inspiring. I’ll definitely miss all the great #NaNoWordSprints and support, but the lessons learnt are universal and I’m excited to apply them in my everyday writing from now on 🙂

Today’s word total is my best yet. I took part in a few sprints and wrote a bit on my own. It helped that one of my scenes today was a great conflict that just caught me up in the swell of its rise and fall and carried me through a good portion of the day’s narrative.

Total word count: 4,569! 🙂

First and last lines of the day:

Peggie waited for him to pull away first

….

I believed it too, for a time.

As I already said, Peggie found herself in the heat of a great battle today, pushed to the limits. She made it through, but not unscathed. She’s lost a lot now, but she keeps striving forward, propelling herself towards the final conflict that’s awaiting her.

Of all my elements, I am most proud of Peggie’s character development. She’s made great progress from the person she started as to the person she is now. It’s been a slow trajectory, but a wide one too. And she’s gone along with most of what I’ve put before her, save for those moments when she’s rebelled and proved to be that she knew what was best! I miss the characters from my Divided Draft and think of them often, but I have grown especially fond of Peggie and I’ll miss her too when the day comes for me to close the page on the first draft of Heritage to go edit my other stories.

With only two full days left, I wish you all luck in getting to your 50k, or whatever goal you’ve set for yourself. Remember to be proud of yourself for whatever you’ve written so far. And keep believing in yourself.

Finally, here’s a question for you: what element of your NaNoWriMo story or current WIP are you most proud of? Character? Plot? Theme? Setting? Why are you proud of them?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

 

Faith quill-ink

Leave a Reply

