NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty-Four

Hi everyone!

I was dreading coming home today after work to sit down and write. I felt certain that I could never reach my 2k. Then something magical happened…

I tried my first NaNoWriMo Sprint and got outΒ 803 words in 20 minutes. From that minute, I was hooked and inspired. I tried another one for 15 minutes and hit 600 more. After that, I let my creative juices brew on their own and pushed through the 2k barrier and the 3k one before stopping, fully satisfied with my progress. I really do wish I had tried those sprints earlier. They are highly enjoyable πŸ™‚ If you haven’t tried one yet, I do recommend you at least try it for the fun of challenging yourself to put your character in a new situation. What more, it’s a great way to introduceΒ timed writing sessions into your everyday practice πŸ™‚

With all that, my word count today is:Β 3,650!Β 

Here are my first and last sentences of the day:

“The light can warm you too.”

Live for the day and the night.

In terms of narrative, Peggie was lucky enough to experience her first snowfall (just as snow was falling here — coincidence, I think not!). Β She enjoyed it for as long as she could. But danger was lurking through the white mist. Peggie faced it as bravely as she could and came out of it using her most treasured gift, one she has always had: the gift of song! I am very proud of her πŸ™‚

Now, she has a new friend to help her along! And a new perspective on life! Of what I’ve written lately, this has to be one of my favourite days of plot. I feel really happy with the way the story has developed – truth be told, it’s nothing I prepared for. Once again, it proves that my characters have a life of their own πŸ™‚ I love writing!

Have your stories taken on a life of their own yet? Or is everything proceeding as planned?

Share your experiences, your triumphs, your woes.

And remember, no matter how many words you’re at, no matter how your story is going, be proud of what you’ve accomplished so far, believe in yourself and don’t give in!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

 

Faith Β  Β quill-ink

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty-Four

  1. I’m all about word sprints during NaNo! It’s at a point where I’m not sure I CAN write without a timer going anymore. πŸ™‚ Great word count! But even more importantly, congrats on a great day of writing (the narrative, that is)! I’ve noticed that days like that tend to come more toward the end of the story than the beginning. I wonder if it’s because by the end, we know who are characters are more, and we’re more invested in the story and all that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

