NaNoWriMo: Day Eighteen

Hey all,

And I thought yesterday was a hard day!

I struggled a bit today, partially because I’m putting a lot of pressure on myself to hit my goal each day. I think part of the reason for why I’m trying so hard to keep hitting my 2k mark these days is because I don’t think that I’ll be able to Friday or Saturday — Friday because a friend is coming over for supper and Saturday because I have a meeting  in the afternoon and a birthday supper for my dear sister!

My word count for the day: 2,389.

My first and last sentences:

A stoic man of honour and duty.

“I’ll take more than that.”

Ooh! There was some action going down tonight! I was excited just writing it when I finally got to it — honestly I think that’s what finally helped me get past my 2k goal! Peggie and Terrie and their third companion faced a rather dangerous and real threat. Truthfully, they haven’t quiet finished facing it yet. And I still don’t know if I’m going to go for the cruelest outcome or not. I’m leaning towards the latter, but I’m also tired and don’t have the heart to consider it. With fresh eyes tomorrow, that might all change.

Have any of you had to make any tough decisions yet in your narrative? Killed a character? Broke hearts? Created insurmountable obstacles or depressing failures?

We’re nearly at the last ten days of NaNoWriMo. I hope that you’re adventure is as exciting as mine and that you’re hitting your goals. And even if you’re not, take heart. What matters is the effort made and the lessons learned from each day of trying hard.

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill!

Faith quill-ink

Leave a Reply

