NaNoWriMo: Day Seventeen

Hi everyone,

Today is a big milestone in my NaNoWriMo journey: I have passed the 40k mark, which means less than 10k to go. And it’s only November 17th! Wow, does that just make me want to jump up and down and twirl round and round, and leap over buildings in a single bound! πŸ˜‰

Unfortunately, today’s word count isn’t as impressive. It was a tiringΒ day, and I really had to push myself to even get past the 2k mark. It had nothing to do with inspiration, but larger issues of life.

My total word count for the day:Β 2,207!

My first and last sentences:

Terrie came into the room shortly before the first light of dawn broke through the window overlooking Heralding.

He made no attempt to feign cheer or glee.

In terms of the plot, Peggie and Terrie have finally set off from Heralding, but not alone. Someone else is joining them, someone both would rather be without. Also, Peggie got the chance to prove her kindness and strength and she passed with flying colours. I am so very proud of her!

A quiet moment closed off the plot today, but there’s a storm a-brewing, one that might just end with an irrevocable tragedy. But will just see have to see if I’m willing to be cruel this early Β in the story tomorrow.

Until then, Kristi at Keeping Procrastination at BayΒ made an interesting comment on my last post about how I talk about Peggie as if she were my child. I feel as though every story and every character is a baby I bore, one that I have to prepare for the world that she’ll have to one day journey forth into. It explains why I’m so emotionally attached to my creations.

Does anyone else feel that way? Do you see your main character as a child, a sister, a parent?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

 

Faith Β quill-ink

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Seventeen

  1. It’s interesting, really. I do feel that way about my writing, but I’m not sure I ever felt like that about the characters. They’re more like…friends whose lives I’m getting to share and tell about. I may sometimes feel proud of them for something they’ve done, or disappointed in those that aren’t being so nice, but not so much like a parent would, but like a close friend would.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

