NaNoWriMo: Day Eight

Hi everyone,

Thus begins a second week of NaNoWriMo. After a first week, my word count this morning was at 16,238. It was a better week than I had ever imagined possible! It’s a sign of how much I am in love with my story and Peggie. I adore Peggie 🙂

I only got started today after 2:00pm EST, but I still managed to pass my 2k mark. Not as much as yesterday, but I’m more concerned today with quality over quantity, because some really juicy stuff happened in the 2,487 words I got out today!

Here are my first and last lines of the day:

Everun’s curt tone crisply cut through their reunion.

She walked to keep herself awake.

It happened today. Yes it did! Plot Point I tipped the scales for young orphan, Peggie. She’s now set to journey forth from her comfort zone and discover why the moon has disappeared from the night sky. Fortunately, she isn’t going at it alone. Terrie, her grandmother, is all set to join her! But what a rollercoaster it was just getting to it. Out of the blue, something really big went down between Peggie and her grandmother, creating a catalyst that actually does a lot more for my plot than I could have expected. In the heat of writing it, I lost track of my word count and my surroundings and came out of it on the up side of 18k. I love moments like that, when the world of writing consumes you to the point that you’re completely removed from reality. All in all, this was definitely my most exciting moment of writing Heritage thus far. I look forward to many more similar occurences! 🙂

How was your first week of NaNoWriMo? Are you where you hoped you would be? Are you further? Not as far?

How is your plot unfolding? Have your characters embarked into the second act yet? Are they still progressing through the first? Perhaps you’ve even broken into the third?

If you have reached your plot point, how did your character react to having to face a new peril? Were they excited by the challenge? Distressed by the new problems arising?

Let me know how your adventure of NaNoWriMo is going!

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

Leave a Reply

