NaNoWriMo: Day Five

Hi everyone.

Guess what… I passed the 10k mark! WOOT! That means I’m a little over 1/5 done. It’s crazy to imagine. I definitely didn’t think I would be here. I’m proud of my small success.

So how is NaNoWriMo going for you? Have you hit 10k words yet? Are you above and beyond? Or are you facing some small struggles?

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I often find that I lose motivation and then find these twenty minute bursts when I’m incredibly productive. How does it work for you?

My word count for today is 2,116. A little better than yesterday, and I still managed to surpass my must hit quota of 2k a day! Actually, it’s the same word count I hit on Day 3.

Just another day. And many, many more words!

Here are my first and last sentences:

The knowledge tempered her fervent determination.

“Not everyone is brave like you.”

Something interesting to note: I had outlined my novel before NaNoWriMo began, but today a plot point came to me that had previously eluded me and added so much more depth to my story. This just reinforces my belief that novel writing requires one to be able to balance plotting and pantsing.

Has anything unexpected happened in your novel yet? Did your characters surprise you?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith quill-ink

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day Five

  1. I found out that my main character’s paternal grandfather (Gramps), though dead, is perhaps the most important secondary character. He’s added a lot more work for me later on, but since I haven’t introduced everyone yet, I may have to adjust the plot and a few scenes as I go. I love him so much that I wish he were MY grandfather! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing! I love when the characters we create reveal layers of emotion and humanity and become so tangible that they sneak into our own lives. Some characters are worth adjusting for 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

