NaNoWriMo: The Characters – An Interview

Hello all on this very special day, the 23rd of October of the year 2015!

Only a little over a week left before NaNoWriMo begins in earnest. Are you feeling the pressure? Or are you counting the seconds till it begins? I think I fall somewhere in-between. I’m desperately excited for NaNoWriMo to begin, but I would also love to be able to finish a decent outline before, to ease the writing experience. I have a pretty solid idea of my beginning and ending, and a little more mapping of key scenes is all I really need. The rest will come naturally, as it always does when an idea impassions you!

Today’s post is a good chance to introduce you to the two main characters of my story. If you haven’t already, you can check out the premise for my story here! As important as plot and conflict is to a story, my priority in any narrative is my protagonist and the people who surround him/her. Heritage is no different.

At the heart of the action are a grandmother and her granddaughter with a shared tragedy and a bond defined by fear as much as by love.

Peggie, thirteen (13) lost her parents six years earlier to an illness that nearly wiped out her home village of Terrihan. From that moment on, she was taken under the wing of her maternal grandmother Terrie, fifty-eight (58), a storyteller living in the nearby village of Caraliel.

I recently sat down with Peggie and Terrie to interview them about their lives prior to the book’s start. What follows below for those who are interested, is a small excerpt from our conversation:

Faith: Good morning, Peggie. Terrie.

Terrie: Good Morning, Faith.

Peggie: Hello.

F: I am very glad that you both agreed to join me. I have a lot of questions for you.

T: I am sure we have a lot of answers to offer.

F: With that enthusiasm Terrie, let’s start with you. Now, you’re a storyteller by trade.

T: I am. Would you like me to explain?

F: You read my mind.

P: She does that a lot.

T: Well, to put it as simply as I can, a storyteller is someone who records the lives of those who have left this world, to preserve their memories for posterity.

F: A beautiful idea. And how do you record someone’s life?

T: Normally, a person can sense when their end is coming. When they do, I attend to them and listen to their stories. Only after, when I am at home, do I become the scribe and write them down.

F: And you remember them all?

P: She remembers everything.

T: I remember what is important. And I believe that every life is one to be treasured.

F: You must be greatly respected in your community.

T: I have many friends.

P: She’s being modest. She’s beloved.

F: And you, Peggie? Do you have many friends?

P: I know people I go to school with.

F: And do you want to be a storyteller like your grandmother.

P: No.

F: Is there something else you want to be? Some dream you have?

P: shrugs

F: You’re still young. There’s time to decide.

P: Not really. At the end of next season, I have to choose a trade, become an apprentice to someone. I only have another six months to decide what I want to do with my life.

T: It’s difficult to know what you want at any age. I’ve told Peggie that she has to listen to her heart…

P: And I think that it would be grand if my heart would actually speak up and not give me the silent treatment.

Our discussion continued long past this, with many emotions coming out. If there’s enough interest, I’ll post another excerpt from the interview in a few days. Let me know if you’d like to hear more? And how is your NaNoPrep going?

Until next time…

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

Leave a Reply

