NaNoWriMo: The Premise

Prepping for a new story is an actual joy!

There’s something exhilarating to be derived from the plotting and outlining of a new narrative with refreshing characters, especially when someone–meaning me–feels terribly rutted in old stories too long consumed by. My issue of late has been edits of novels and screenplays that seem to drag on with no end in sight. NaNoWriMo is my chance to break away from all that, shove out a first draft of a yet untarnished tale and, hopefully, rediscover the passion I need to make it through the rest when November is done.

The working title of my NaNoWriMo novel is Heritage. It’s based on a story idea I actually originally conceived on August 17th 2012 at Virginia Beach. No, I’m not crazy. I just keep crazy records of all ideas and when I get them, and I have a particularly vivid memory of this one because it was an idea that greatly impassioned me. And still does. And I’ve chosen to pursue it now for that reason. It’s the perfect opportunity to write it out and I’m betting on my passion for the story itself to motivate me through it.

So what is the story? Here’s the logline:

When the moon fails to rise, 12-year old Peggie and her grandmother embark on a journey to the western edge of their world to uncover the reason why, all the while braving the dangers bred in the darkness of the night.

It will definitely undergo some tweaking over the next few days as a I solidify conflicts, but that is the essence of it. More about my main characters and the plot itself will soon be coming your way.

In the meantime, what are your thoughts? And, if you are participating in NaNoWriMo, what’s your logline/premise?

May inspiration flow like ink upon your quill,

Faith  quill-ink

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: The Premise

Leave a Reply

