This Week in Review… The Third

Can hardly believe that this is the third time I’m writing this! How fast time just seems to fly by these days. The business of life never stops.

What I Read:

Well, I did finish reading Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon. And it was quite fantastic! The historical setting in Scotland is most appealing and, more than the first novel in the series, I found that this one was far more invested in the atmospheric tension and the ’45 revolution and presented a great deal more plot than the romantic edge of the first. I also found myself far more invested in the relationship between Claire and Jamie.

What really intrigued me about this story was the framing. Without spoiling too much, the heart of the story is bookended by two sequences that build enough suspense and present enough narrative without spoiling or making the middle section feel any less surprising and terse. It is a deftly created novel and never once creates a sense of boredom. Each page compels the reader to turn the next, each chapter ending provokes intrigue that prevents one from putting down the novel even as the darkness deepens outside.

Needless to say, I do recommend this novel and look forward to the next.

If you’ve already read this book, I would recommend the works of Susanna Kearsley, especially Marianna and The Winter Sea also set in Scotland and also taking place between two different timelines.

What I Wrote:

There was less writing this week, but not less productivity. I’ve started the rather enjoyable task of outlining my NaNoWriMo project (more to come on that in a future post). I also managed to do a bit of editing on two separate scripts. One of these editing ventures has led me to reconsider my entire structure and the scene which more genuinely portrays my 1st Plot Point. The Divided Draft remained untouched this week and might for some time still, but I think it’s all for the best.

What I Listened To:

  1. Froot by Marina & the Diamonds: I know this album came out a while back, but I only just purchased it and took a good listen to it and I love it entirely too much. She’s one of my favourite artists at the moment (as a reference point, so is Florence + the Machine). I love unique sounds that defy the repetitious pop music that consumes the radio waves these days — in my humble opinion, anyway 😉
  2. Jackie Wilson: I also love oldies. My grandfather reintroduced me to his music just yesterday, and I am obsessed. I’ve always heard the name and known the songs but I’d never really paid this artist the attention he deserved. Everytime I listen to it, I want to get up and dance!
  3. Like a Rolling Stone – Bob Dylan. Enough said 🙂

What I Watched:

           

I haven’t watched many movies recently, but I have been indulging in some TV, mostly old shows that have long reached their conclusion. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with two in particular:

  1. The West Wing, Season 2: What a brilliant show. The dialogue is extremely well written. The characters are sympathetic and perfectly defined. The story lines are compelling, introducing difficult topics and dealing with them, for the most part, in a very diplomatic manner. As someone who’s dabbled with the notion of episodic writing and serial writing, this show is a tremendous inspiration.
  2. The Sopranos, Season 3: Another extremely well-conceived and brilliantly executed show. Brutally honest in its own way and realistic in its retelling, I find myself most intrigued by the very human core of the show and the attention paid to Tony and his family. If you can stomach the violence, nudity and excessive cussing, this is another fantastic show for TV writers to aspire to recreate in their own way.

What I Ate:

I’m only including this because today is Canadian Thanksgiving and yesterday my family and I dined on turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, rice, stuffing, cranberries…is your mouth watering yet? Of course, there was also an incredible array of desserts: pumpkin pie, pecan pie, pumpkin fudge, pecan fudge. My mother is a brilliant cook and talented baker. Everything she makes is delicious and I indulged without regret in it all 🙂

That’s it for this week everyone! How was your last week? Read any good books? Write any great new scene that your especially proud of? Watch any great movie or show? Listen to any great music? Eat any good food?

Sharing is caring 🙂

May inspiration flow like ink on your quill,

Faith quill-ink

3 thoughts on “This Week in Review… The Third

Leave a Reply

