NaNoPrep: The Decision

Today is the 9th of October in the year 2015! Only twenty-three more days until All Hallow’s Eve or as we writers should probably know it: NaNoWriMo Eve. I only made the decision to jump on the NaNoWriMo bandwagon three days ago, but I’ve been contemplating it since October 1st dawned cool and crisp. It’s been a process of (in)deciding and making commitments and summoning the courage to say “To hell with all the other projects I’ve got going, I’m going to write a brand new novel in just 30 days!” YIKES!

And honestly, that’s still the thought running through my head now: YIKES! Though I am sold on it and have finally come to a decision on the story I’ll be writing, I can still feel a tingle of doubt. Even though I am 100% committed to the challenge, there is a whisper in my head that asks: is this the smart decision?

Truth be told: it might not be the smart decision. But right now, it’s the right one. It’s the one that makes me excited, that gives me the sensation of standing upon the highest precipice, ready to free-fall without knowing if there’s something waiting to catch me. All that matters, is that it’s going to be one thrilling ride, one I hope you’ll follow me on, maybe even join me on.

I’ve started prepping, and I’ll say more about that in a later post, which only makes my excitement quadruple. I always love the planning stages. It’s another reason for why I made the decision to do NaNoWriMo this year, because I love writing something new and after years of toiling over the same works, I can’t wait to breathe life into a novel with so much potential laid out before it.

May Inspiration Flow Like Ink Upon your Quill Tip,

Faith quill-ink

2 thoughts on “NaNoPrep: The Decision

  1. Good for you, Faith! (Is this your name? ha ha) Smart decision or not, it’s a decision that perhaps will change your life. It’s a good decision. 🙂 I have the same feeling two weeks ago when I, finally, decided to take the NaNo adventure. I’m a summa procrastinator, so I had some doubts too if I have made a smart decision on entering something that will ultimately time-pressure me. Oh. Have you already made your account in the NaNo site?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For all intent and purposes, Faith is my name 😉 I have already made my account in the NaNo site. I am at times a procrastinator, though I do my best to avoid labels. At the end of the day, we make the right decisions at the moment when they’re called to be made and after the consequences of such decisions we learn from them and grow as people. Best of luck to you in your NaNo adventure. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

